Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-29-2015, 18:18 | posts: 6,194

Quote:
Originally Posted by netkas View Post
It's strange nobody talked about it yet.

Fury X video rom is missing UEFI support (not talking about gpu-z, it's garbage way to check for uefi)

I've looked at dump of fury x rom that was posted on these forums (or on oc.co.uk) and there is only pc bios part, UEFI part is missing.

Could AMDMatt please comment if we will see some update for fury x rom with UEFI support ?
If that's true, its very funny and sad at the same time.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
leszy
Master Guru
 
leszy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 290OC
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 G K7
Memory: 16GB Corsair LPX 3200
Soundcard: Xonar U7
PSU: Corsair 620HX
Default 06-29-2015, 19:20 | posts: 269 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
If that's true, its very funny and sad at the same time.
Sapphire Radeon R9 Fury X 4G HBM (UEFI)
http://www.ldlc.com/fiche/PB00190195.html
It is rather GPU-Z problem.
ed:
BIOS was taken with GPU-Z
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Joschi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury X
Processor: Core i5- 4670k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 06-29-2015, 19:34 | posts: 16 | Location: Munich, Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
That's not true at all. I don't have a card and MSI didn't even sent it yet. So it will take a few weeks just until it arrives here. Then (if voltage regultor is software controllable) it will take some time to implement support for it.
I cannot promise that voltage control will be available as I've not seen the card yet.
my bad, must have read wrong, also couldn't remember your post, sorry, hopefully u will be succesful
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
netkas
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Intel Ceon E5462
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 06-29-2015, 20:21 | posts: 55

Quote:
Originally Posted by leszy View Post
Sapphire Radeon R9 Fury X 4G HBM (UEFI)
http://www.ldlc.com/fiche/PB00190195.html
It is rather GPU-Z problem.
ed:
BIOS was taken with GPU-Z
That's why I specifically mentioned I wasn't using gpu-z to check for uefi rom.

pc bios part of FuryX rom has last_rom indicator set, which means there is no more rom, GPU-z wouldn't modify that flag when dumped. The dump is 128kb, but after 60928 bytes there are only zeroes.

TL;DR not an GPU-z issue.

And your link has no rom.

Last edited by netkas; 06-29-2015 at 20:27.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
tarot
Newbie
 
Videocard: xfx r9 fury x 1100
Processor: fx 8350 4.4
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair rm 1000
Default 06-29-2015, 22:19 | posts: 40

no idea on uefi I haven't flipped the bios switch yet
mine is a XFX r9 fury x and running full tilt furmark even the fan never really goes past 1000 and seriously quiet.
http://xfxforce.com/en-us/products/a...d-r9-fury-4qfa

also happens to be the cheapest here (got mine for $999 aus) some places are trying for $1199...I mean ...seriously..

http://search.ncix.com/search/?qcatid=0&q=radeon+fury+x

ncix has some but the xfx is dearer...maybe its a Canadian thing

Last edited by tarot; 06-29-2015 at 22:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 06-29-2015, 22:23 | posts: 11,414 | Location: UK

One of my locals dropped their price already, had em for 599 other day, only 549 today

Got one pre-ordered for 509
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 06-30-2015, 05:33 | posts: 3,942

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
One of my locals dropped their price already, had em for 599 other day, only 549 today

Got one pre-ordered for 509
Some have been 509 from release at OCUK.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 06-30-2015, 13:23 | posts: 11,414 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post
Some have been 509 from release at OCUK.
Yeah but i don't use those, i'll just keep my pre-order @ ebuyer, instead of stumping up the extra 40 at my local, need to get the Benq Freesync monitor sorted first anyhow, so i can wait.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 06-30-2015, 13:43 | posts: 12,778 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Bonus from work came...

So I ordered one!

Now to decide if I get too impatient and slap it in my Mac now(And find room for the cooler!), only have Windows support, or wait until I order the rest of my new rig....

Unless Netkas has some input on Fury X support in OS X.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-30-2015, 14:56 | posts: 6,194

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
Bonus from work came...

So I ordered one!

Now to decide if I get too impatient and slap it in my Mac now(And find room for the cooler!), only have Windows support, or wait until I order the rest of my new rig....

Unless Netkas has some input on Fury X support in OS X.
You still have a Mac tower? What motherboard? Is it Hackintosh?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 06-30-2015, 14:58 | posts: 12,778 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
You still have a Mac tower? What motherboard? Is it Hackintosh?
Mac Pro 5.1.

The actual card will fit, but there's nowhere to put the rad in!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Deathchild
Ancient Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 06-30-2015, 15:05 | posts: 3,968 | Location: Estonia

Rofl hackintosh... wtf..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-30-2015, 15:15 | posts: 6,194

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
Mac Pro 5.1.

The actual card will fit, but there's nowhere to put the rad in!
What about here:

 Click to show spoiler



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Rofl hackintosh... wtf..
Don't laugh, it is a very real thing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 06-30-2015, 15:22 | posts: 12,778 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Problem is I have to modify it, which I didn't want to do to this tower at all. I might order my new rig soon anyway, so won't have to worry about it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 06-30-2015, 15:42 | posts: 6,194

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
Problem is I have to modify it, which I didn't want to do to this tower at all. I might order my new rig soon anyway, so won't have to worry about it.
Zipties through the mesh and the radiator mounting holes? It's a bit ghetto, but if the ties are black it shouldn't look that bad and they can be as safe (or safer) than screws.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 06-30-2015, 16:39 | posts: 11,414 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
Bonus from work came...

So I ordered one!

Now to decide if I get too impatient and slap it in my Mac now(And find room for the cooler!), only have Windows support, or wait until I order the rest of my new rig....

Unless Netkas has some input on Fury X support in OS X.
Nice one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
netkas
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Intel Ceon E5462
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 06-30-2015, 16:43 | posts: 55

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
Bonus from work came...

So I ordered one!

Now to decide if I get too impatient and slap it in my Mac now(And find room for the cooler!), only have Windows support, or wait until I order the rest of my new rig....

Unless Netkas has some input on Fury X support in OS X.

You can try El capitan, I saw device-id of FuryX in AMD9000Controller.kext, which means you might get at least framebuffer support (res change).

But for that better go to forum.netkas.org
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury
Processor: Intel i7 5820K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 06-30-2015, 18:43 | posts: 1,933 | Location: South Africa

Some interesting news about OC'ing HBM shows nice boost.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/th...s-fast.213875/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 06-30-2015, 19:05 | posts: 435 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Im going "furious" (60% fury 40% 980ti atm) with my next rig (August), need to see how fury works in win10 with new drivers...

@Rich_Guy, which benq are you looking at? atm im trying to choose one of this two: Benq XL2730Z or Asus MG279Q.

PS: One last thing off topic... sorry. Any new info about Skylake? Exists Skylake-E? im doubtful about CPU... 2011-3 Haswell-E hexacore, Skylake i7, Skylake-E ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
oGow89
Maha Guru
 
oGow89's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
Processor: i5 4690k@4.4GHz/1.2V
Mainboard: Asrock Z87 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3@2133MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RMX750 80+ Gold
Default 06-30-2015, 19:16 | posts: 1,214

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goiur View Post
Im going "furious" (60% fury 40% 980ti atm) with my next rig (August), need to see how fury works in win10 with new drivers...

@Rich_Guy, which benq are you looking at? atm im trying to choose one of this two: Benq XL2730Z or Asus MG279Q.

PS: One last thing off topic... sorry. Any new info about Skylake? Exists Skylake-E? im doubtful about CPU... 2011-3 Haswell-E hexacore, Skylake i7, Skylake-E ?
CPU wise, you have a z97 motherboard, get an i7 4790k. It is by far the best cpu performance wise. Those 6 cores cpus don't offer any performance boost over it. If you are building a new pc and have the budget for it, wait for the skylake and see how they perform.

GPU wise, either gpus will deliver you a performance boost up to 4x of what your gpu is offering you depending on the game and the resolution/settings. So go with which ever is cheaper where you live.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 06-30-2015, 19:24 | posts: 435 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Quote:
Originally Posted by oGow89 View Post
CPU wise, you have a z97 motherboard, get an i7 4790k. It is by far the best cpu performance wise. Those 6 cores cpus don't offer any performance boost over it. If you are building a new pc and have the budget for it, wait for the skylake and see how they perform.

GPU wise, either gpus will deliver you a performance boost up to 4x of what your gpu is offering you depending on the game and the resolution/settings. So go with which ever is cheaper where you live.

Im "giving" my current rig to my wife so she can keep playing/working. Im going for a 100% new build with skylake. Budget around 2000-2500 (monitor included).

Last edited by Goiur; 06-30-2015 at 19:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
waltc3
Master Guru
 
waltc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1.305GHz Asus RX-480 8GB
Processor: FX-8320E
Mainboard: MSI 970 Gaming
Memory: 16 GB (4x4) 2133 HyperX
Soundcard: RealTek 1150
PSU: Corsair 750W CXM
Default 06-30-2015, 19:31 | posts: 364 | Location: Mars

Quote:
Originally Posted by netkas View Post
That's why I specifically mentioned I wasn't using gpu-z to check for uefi rom.

pc bios part of FuryX rom has last_rom indicator set, which means there is no more rom, GPU-z wouldn't modify that flag when dumped. The dump is 128kb, but after 60928 bytes there are only zeroes.

TL;DR not an GPU-z issue.

And your link has no rom.
Are you running in UEFI mode, secure boot=on? If so, then the card supports the UEFI GOP function--at least on my motherboard, I cannot enable secure boot unless the gpu supports UEFI GOP...

From the link...

Quote:
GOP driver image will need to be signed and authenticated in
order to support secure boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
waltc3
Master Guru
 
waltc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1.305GHz Asus RX-480 8GB
Processor: FX-8320E
Mainboard: MSI 970 Gaming
Memory: 16 GB (4x4) 2133 HyperX
Soundcard: RealTek 1150
PSU: Corsair 750W CXM
Default 06-30-2015, 19:43 | posts: 364 | Location: Mars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Guys, here we come. This is place for sharing experiences, not insults.
I thought long and hard about an insult that I could share, an insult that we'd all enjoy...but darned if could think of one...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 06-30-2015, 20:39 | posts: 11,414 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goiur View Post
Im going "furious" (60% fury 40% 980ti atm) with my next rig (August), need to see how fury works in win10 with new drivers...

@Rich_Guy, which benq are you looking at? atm im trying to choose one of this two: Benq XL2730Z or Asus MG279Q.

PS: One last thing off topic... sorry. Any new info about Skylake? Exists Skylake-E? im doubtful about CPU... 2011-3 Haswell-E hexacore, Skylake i7, Skylake-E ?
Im getting the Benq XL2730Z, v2 firmware supposed to make a helluva diff, cracking screen by all accounts

Has a better freesync range than the Asus, which has only got 35 - 90Hz, and the Asus is getting bad bleeding reports, Benqs a much better screen from reports.

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 06-30-2015 at 20:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Goiur
Master Guru
 
Goiur's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 Fury X 1105/550
Processor: i7-5820K @ 4,5GHz 1,26V
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A USB 3.1
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB @2666 1,3V
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 06-30-2015, 20:52 | posts: 435 | Location: Bilbo, Basque Country

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Im getting the Benq XL2730Z, v2 firmware supposed to make a helluva diff, cracking screen by all accounts

Has a better freesync range than the Asus, which has only got 35 - 90Hz, and the Asus is getting bad bleeding reports, Benqs a much better screen.
Good to know, ty!

Mayb an stupid question... but... How can i know firm version? Serial num.? All are updated already? Possible to upgrade from v1 to v2?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, benchmarking, fury x, owners club

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.