Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-25-2013, 22:26 | posts: 17,572 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Civrock View Post
What about support for DirectX 11.2 on 7000 Series cards?
Doesn't look like it

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Espionage724
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-25-2013, 22:27 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtextrem View Post
They improved the BF3 performance... after over 2 years.. right before BF4 is coming? And BF4 got nothing new?
Wait wat?

How does this make sense in any way?
Maybe BF4 was improved already, and then the performance improvements were back-ported to BF3?

(not sure if that's the case, just something to think about)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-25-2013, 22:31 | posts: 17,572 | Location: 127.0.0.1

They always claim huge performance % boosts with certain drivers now and then, but they never show any extra boost than normal driver releases give
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
mtdew332
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390x
Processor: 7700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: 16gb DDR4 3000 / G-Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG / z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:31 | posts: 121 | Location: Pa

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlsHelpMe View Post
And 8000M
8000m is ON the list of supported hardware. (scroll down)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
PlsHelpMe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 8750m 2 GB
Processor: AMD A8 5557m
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Notebook
Default 10-25-2013, 22:33 | posts: 200

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtdew332 View Post
8000m is ON the list of supported hardware. (scroll down)
I mean DX11.2
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Espionage724
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-25-2013, 22:36 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlsHelpMe View Post
I mean DX11.2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Doesn't look like it

I'm almost certain that if it isn't available for 7xxx series, it won't be for the 8xxx either (but of course you could be certain by installing it and checking)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
mtdew332
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390x
Processor: 7700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: 16gb DDR4 3000 / G-Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG / z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:37 | posts: 121 | Location: Pa

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlsHelpMe View Post
I mean DX11.2
Oh, ok.
Im on win 8.1 with 7950's and its exactly as posted above, no DX11.2 support yet.

I'm not gonna get all worked up about it, its not like we have any use for DX11.2 yet anyway.

But yeah, AMD did promise added support for DX11.2 through drivers in OCT, so I can see why some are disappointed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-25-2013, 22:40 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Bf4 is not even out dude. Btw, is mouse smooth with this driver?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Thumbs up 10-25-2013, 22:40 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

Thanx asder!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
mtdew332
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390x
Processor: 7700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: 16gb DDR4 3000 / G-Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG / z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:43 | posts: 121 | Location: Pa

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Bf4 is not even out dude. Btw, is mouse smooth with this driver?
Yes, mouse stutter is gone.

Yeah, you just know they're holding back some so they can release BF4 performance drivers at launch just to make Mantle look even better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
ArgonV
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD XFX R9 295x2
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR, 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake TPG-1200M
Default 10-25-2013, 22:43 | posts: 352 | Location: Texas, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Btw, is mouse smooth with this driver?
+1 this question...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
mtdew332
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390x
Processor: 7700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: 16gb DDR4 3000 / G-Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG / z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:44 | posts: 121 | Location: Pa

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArgonV View Post
+1 this question...
Yes, mouse is smooth now.
Its about time too, I kept instinctively checking my mouse pad to be sure it was clean....LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
ArgonV
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD XFX R9 295x2
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR, 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake TPG-1200M
Default 10-25-2013, 22:51 | posts: 352 | Location: Texas, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtdew332 View Post
Yes, mouse is smooth now.
Its about time too, I kept instinctively checking my mouse pad to be sure it was clean....LOL
Thanks, how about for Eyefinity? Anyone here tested these with an Eyefinity setup?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
freeman94
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE HD7870 OC 2GB
Processor: Core i5 3570
Mainboard: ASUS P8H77-M PRO
Memory: DDR3 (2x8GB) 1600MHz
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V381
PSU: OCZ 600W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:53 | posts: 265 | Location: Poland

I don't know why. But MSI Afterburner 3.0.0(BETA16) doesn't automaticly apply overclocking after driver update. I must apply it by myself.
I reinstall MSI Afterburner, and set things again but it doesn't help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
mtdew332
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 390x
Processor: 7700k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: 16gb DDR4 3000 / G-Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG / z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:58 | posts: 121 | Location: Pa

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeman94 View Post
I don't know why. But MSI Afterburner 3.0.0(BETA16) doesn't automaticly apply overclocking after driver update. I must apply it by myself.
I reinstall MSI Afterburner, and set things again but it doesn't help.
Screw it Edit the bios and ditch the software OC'ing if it wants to be a pain! LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 10-25-2013, 23:04 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

I knew it i should skip B3

Thanks asder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
kakarot
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 980ti sc+
Processor: 4790k@4.8
Mainboard: msi z97 mp
Memory: 16gb@2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga 1kw
Default 10-25-2013, 23:18 | posts: 1,110 | Location: USA

Anyone notice an option to opt out of that Raptr crap? Not sure why it installed itself and on the second reboot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-25-2013, 23:19 | posts: 17,572 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by kakarot View Post
Anyone notice an option to opt out of that Raptr crap? Not sure why it installed itself and on the second reboot
Choose Custom setup during the install and uncheck it

Just uninstall it like a normal program
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 10-25-2013, 23:24 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

It says before you install them that Express will install Raptr, and that if you don't want it, to do a custom install and de-select it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
kakarot
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 980ti sc+
Processor: 4790k@4.8
Mainboard: msi z97 mp
Memory: 16gb@2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga 1kw
Default 10-25-2013, 23:26 | posts: 1,110 | Location: USA

Always do a custom install but i guess i missed it, thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4@2800MHz
Soundcard: Xonar U7 (USB)
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 10-25-2013, 23:30 | posts: 11,489 | Location: UK

I don't know why they didn't call it raptr tbh, i only found out which one it was by those changing game ads, as it came up in there, was the something app (forgot the full name now), and it was the one right at the bottom of the list.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
NiColaoS
Master Guru
 
NiColaoS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 960
Processor: 4690
Mainboard: Z97 G45
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: ALC 1150 & Z5500 & Z533
PSU: CS550M
Default 10-25-2013, 23:35 | posts: 439 | Location: Macedonia, Greece

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/R9_290X/31.html

Why those screenshots report DX 11.2 support on Win7? Mysterious... Does that mean what the card can generally do? I mean, no matter on what OS you are... I thought the readings were current.

Also, are we sure that 11.2 will have a full feature level flag on DxDiag? I thought 11.1 would stay the latest level. I guess I was wrong on this. Anyone with an R card can confirm that he sees 11.2?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 h20
Processor: i7 7700K Delid h20
Mainboard: MSI Z270 Gaming M7
Memory: 16GB Vengence 3600MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 10-25-2013, 23:36 | posts: 7,360 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Easily the best driver I have had in a few months now most added nothing new.

These Batman Arkham Origins my CPU usage has plummeted! Before at least four cores were being loaded by around 50-60% now only one core is being used and the game is even smoother than before.

I ran 8xMSAA and it was pretty smooth, outdoors was locked 60fps but when traversing the buildings at speed it did dip to around 45fps. I am now running the game with 0xAA and to my surprise it does not look bad at all. The only difference I can see is there is a few jaggies on batman's nose when zoomed in using the decryption device other than that its a smooth game.

Using an .ini tweak in GameEngine.ini changing PoolSize from 140 to 512 helped with stutter when going from one area to the next.

fps in game now is always above 60fps no matter what and generally around the 80-90fps mark.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
boombastik
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 970 XLR8 OC
Processor: i7 4790
Mainboard: Assrock z97 Anniversary
Memory: 2x8=16GB 1600MHZ corsair
Soundcard: X-fi Xreme audio-Keposon
PSU: Thermaltake BerlinV3 650w
Default 10-25-2013, 23:42 | posts: 185 | Location: greece

For my 7790 this is the best driver. no problem so far. Tnnks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Pill Monster
Banned
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750 Bronze
Default 10-25-2013, 23:46 | posts: 25,234 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Civrock View Post
What about support for DirectX 11.2 on 7000 Series cards?
Not on Win7.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.