Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 10-01-2013, 15:57 | posts: 1,532

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcuestag View Post
I can't play more than 10-15 seconds on the Battlefield 4 BETA, I get this error:

IMG

I tried disabling CrossfireX and run just one 7970 and I had no issues.

Anyone else experiencing this?
It look like you don't has enough Graphic memory?
As you are using CF, this might happen.

Try lowing down the setting first?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
pato
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX-970
Processor: Intel Core i5
Mainboard: Gigabyte z87x-d3h
Memory: Corsair 2x 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard -> Onkyo TX-SR608
PSU: BeQuiet 850W
Default 10-01-2013, 16:09 | posts: 132 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggu1989 View Post
Thanks mate for reply ... Does we can fix ? any solution ?
For me it works if I put the brightness on full and then reboot. That way I have full brightness. But my laptop is also a desktop replacement which I never unplug.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: ZXR + Astro A50s + Sen650
PSU: 8Pack SuperFlower 2000w
Default 10-01-2013, 16:36 | posts: 1,454 | Location: Uk

Faulting application name: bf4.exe, version: 1.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5242fdca
Faulting module name: aticfx64.dll, version: 8.17.10.1242, time stamp: 0x523d4e90
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000004b1e6
Faulting process id: 0x1df4
Faulting application start time: 0x01cebebad21b4cd6
Faulting application path: G:\ORIGIN\Battlefield 4 Beta\bf4.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\aticfx64.dll
Report Id: bce92247-2aae-11e3-b9fc-94de806e97f6


Im getting this problem with BF4 beta with the latest * above Drivers * anyone else getting this issue, have not tried previous drivers though im just wondering if anyone else has had this issue ? defo a graphics driver .dll crash....

basicly the game will freeze if i press ctrl+alt+del i can get back to desktop via taskmanager and i it says the game exe crashed no idea whats going on..... seems to be a crossfire dll issue ????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
peitro
Member Guru
 
peitro's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 5870 m
Processor: CORE I7 MOBILE
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 gb
Soundcard: onbord
PSU: 150 W.
Default 10-01-2013, 16:37 | posts: 138 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggu1989 View Post
Thanks mate for reply ... Does we can fix ? any solution ?
I put the brightness on full and then umplug and plug alimentation of u lap
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Fox2232
Ancient Guru
 
Fox2232's Avatar
 
Videocard: Fury X - XL2420T(Z)@144Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,8,20 1T
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 10-01-2013, 18:06 | posts: 5,239 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

I installed this driver at morning. And I have to say:
It runs BF4 on Single HD7970 at ultra settings + 2xMSAA on 55~75fps on large city map.
GPU utilization is between 90~99%. CPU i5 4.5GHz all cores utilized at 85~95%.

Game looks better than BF3. Annoying Sun effect is now much closer to reality and acceptable.
Destruction effects looks much closer to real destruction too (more dense smoke falling down).
If there are those action small TDM maps from start, CoD gets last nail into coffin.

Have not tested yet what I'll have to sacrifice to get 120+ fps or if it will be CPU bottlenecked like BF3 till Mantle update arrives.

And I love 120 FOV... ready for Rift VR.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Seth-01
Member Guru
 
Videocard: VTX3D R9 290 947/1250
Processor: Intel i7 3930K 4.7 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage Formula IV
Memory: 4x4 Gskill Ares PC17000
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-01-2013, 19:20 | posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcuestag View Post
I can't play more than 10-15 seconds on the Battlefield 4 BETA, I get this error:



I tried disabling CrossfireX and run just one 7970 and I had no issues.

Anyone else experiencing this?
work fine here with CF HD7970
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
kcuestag
Maha Guru
 
kcuestag's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 8GB G-Skill Ripjaws X CL7
Soundcard: FiiO E7 + E9 + DT-770 PRO
PSU: Silverstone ST Plus 1000W
Default 10-01-2013, 19:22 | posts: 904 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth-01 View Post
work fine here with CF HD7970
Fixed, I just got a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB and I used Samsung Magician to "optimize" it and set it to "Max Reliability" and it dropped the virtual memory from default (Which up to like 4.5GB) to 1GB...

No more crashes now, game is smooth as butter, +60fps at all times at 2560x1440 on Ultra, I only dropped below 60 few times in HUGE explosions where someone planted C4 on my tank lol, other than that easy +60.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury
Soundcard: Onboard & M-Audio AV40
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 10-01-2013, 19:26 | posts: 2,072 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

Going from 13.9 to 13.10 Beta 2 for BF4 makes a big difference, much smoother performance now. Recommended for AMD users.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
bboy-mass
Master Guru
 
bboy-mass's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 ti
Processor: Intel i7 7700K Kaby Lake
Mainboard: P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: 8G G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: X-FI
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 10-01-2013, 20:47 | posts: 352 | Location: Birmingham

Quote:
Originally Posted by onthemour View Post
crossfire eyefinity smooth as hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Are you saying these drivers support frame pacing at crossfire eyefinity resolutions?

Ta
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 10-01-2013, 21:11 | posts: 1,532

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcuestag View Post
Fixed, I just got a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB and I used Samsung Magician to "optimize" it and set it to "Max Reliability" and it dropped the virtual memory from default (Which up to like 4.5GB) to 1GB...

No more crashes now, game is smooth as butter, +60fps at all times at 2560x1440 on Ultra, I only dropped below 60 few times in HUGE explosions where someone planted C4 on my tank lol, other than that easy +60.
Thank for the information, so BF4 64-bit is also like a lot of memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
mason911
Newbie
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 670 4GB SC+
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz @ 1.27v
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster gold 800W
Default 10-01-2013, 21:35 | posts: 2

Ah ben colice!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
caleb59
Member Guru
 
caleb59's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 970 Strix OC 4GB
Processor: Core i7-2600K 3.40GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G43 rev. 1.1
Memory: Crucial 16GB XMP CL8
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ Silencer 750W EPS12V
Default 10-01-2013, 21:46 | posts: 112

Battlefield 4 beta? Crappy performance on Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD 7850 2GB OC: 20-30fps on LOW details in 1680x1050 - shame...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
The Mac
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 10-01-2013, 21:47 | posts: 4,406 | Location: USA

Yikes thats an old proc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI @ 2.025Ghz
Processor: i7 5775C @ 4.2ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: Trident DDR3 2400 32GB
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 10-01-2013, 22:03 | posts: 5,921 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb59 View Post
Battlefield 4 beta? Crappy performance on Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD 7850 2GB OC: 20-30fps on LOW details in 1680x1050 - shame...
Yeah honestly the Q6600 is the culprit here. It's a big bottleneck for your system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 10-01-2013, 22:04 | posts: 1,019

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
Yikes thats an old proc.
I'm very excited in seeing how much old/slow CPUs will benefit from the lower CPU overhead in Mantle. Lots of devs have complained about the performance hit DX11 has on the CPU.

Dice has also said that DX11.1 is improving the CPU performance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
PieEyedPiper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
Processor: Xeon X5460 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR2 G.Skill @1105MHz
Soundcard: SB Z / Logitech 5.1 550w
PSU: Kingwin LazerP 550w
Default 10-01-2013, 22:18 | posts: 599

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb59 View Post
Battlefield 4 beta? Crappy performance on Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD 7850 2GB OC: 20-30fps on LOW details in 1680x1050 - shame...
Old Socket 775 or not (check my rig ), I'm somewhat surprised. What is your BF3 experience like? What are your 3dmark11/13 scores?

I'm fully expecting playable framerates when I fire up BF4 for the first time. I may be delusional, but I don't believe so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
COOPOD
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS HD7970 IceQ X 3GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0
Memory: Transcend JM1333KLU-2G8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DS
PSU: SeaSonic X-850
Default 10-01-2013, 22:30 | posts: 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcuestag View Post
I can't play more than 10-15 seconds on the Battlefield 4 BETA, I get this error:



I tried disabling CrossfireX and run just one 7970 and I had no issues.

Anyone else experiencing this?
Set settings medium, and have fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Alph4Dawg
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X Vapor OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX V2 850w
Default 10-01-2013, 22:35 | posts: 109 | Location: Croatia

This is performance I have with both these and 13.9 WHQL drivers on my setup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSb22wz5dSM

| CPU : AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE
| MBO : Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
| RAM : Kingmax 12 GB (3x4) DDR3 1333MHz
| HDD : Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB
| SSD : ADATA S510 120GB
| GPU : XFX R7870 Core Edition 2GB
| PSU : Corsair TX V2 850w
| Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster S22B300HS
| Soundcard : Asus Xonar DG
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64
| Fractal Design Core 3000
| TtEsports Shock
| Roccat Kone [+]
| Razer Lycosa
| Razer Goliathus

No matter what I do, change resolution/video settings it's always the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
caleb59
Member Guru
 
caleb59's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 970 Strix OC 4GB
Processor: Core i7-2600K 3.40GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G43 rev. 1.1
Memory: Crucial 16GB XMP CL8
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ Silencer 750W EPS12V
Default 10-01-2013, 22:44 | posts: 112

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
Yeah honestly the Q6600 is the culprit here. It's a big bottleneck for your system.
Are you kidding me? Battlefield 3 in 1680x1050, ultra details, both AA's are off and it's very playable and smooth like butter!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-01-2013, 22:52 | posts: 17,415 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alph4Dawg View Post
This is performance I have with both these and 13.9 WHQL drivers on my setup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSb22wz5dSM

| CPU : AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE
| MBO : Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
| RAM : Kingmax 12 GB (3x4) DDR3 1333MHz
| HDD : Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB
| SSD : ADATA S510 120GB
| GPU : XFX R7870 Core Edition 2GB
| PSU : Corsair TX V2 850w
| Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster S22B300HS
| Soundcard : Asus Xonar DG
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64
| Fractal Design Core 3000
| TtEsports Shock
| Roccat Kone [+]
| Razer Lycosa
| Razer Goliathus

No matter what I do, change resolution/video settings it's always the same.
It is a beta driver with a beta game, but the stuttering kinda reminds me of RAGE when my old Phenom II couldn't keep up with s.treaming textures

Do you have your CPU OCd ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
onthemour
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 780 acx
Processor: i7 2600k 4.5
Mainboard: p67 sabertooth
Memory: G Skill Trident 2400mhz
Soundcard: Megalodon
PSU: Silverstone 750W Strider
Default 10-01-2013, 22:53 | posts: 84 | Location: Uranus

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboy-mass View Post
Are you saying these drivers support frame pacing at crossfire eyefinity resolutions?

Ta
It has to! 7970x2 all games smooth eyefinity! It is truly amazing

BF4 on high 60fps butter smooth

oced of course
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Alph4Dawg
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X Vapor OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX V2 850w
Default 10-01-2013, 23:05 | posts: 109 | Location: Croatia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
It is a beta driver with a beta game, but the stuttering kinda reminds me of RAGE when my old Phenom II couldn't keep up with s.treaming textures

Do you have your CPU OCd ?
Negative.
Never OC'd it...
DICE responded with this:

"(PC) We received report of unusually low performances, and are currently looking into that as well. "
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
flow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 1120/1600
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V gen3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB C9 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster xfi
PSU: Coolermaster M700 Silent
Default 10-01-2013, 23:24 | posts: 946 | Location: Holland

Setting the resolution scaling at 100% or lower in bf4 improved fps on my system.

Installed the 13.10B2 drivers and didn't see any improvement over the 13.10B.
In fact, I believe I experienced some short mouse stuttering in desktop when launching an app or game.
Anyway, uninstalled and reinstalled the previous 13.10B, fps is the same in bf4, 3dmark scores are slightly higher, or better.
Which seems strange since it's the 13.10B drivers with some added fixes which scores lower on all 3dmark tests.

Anyway, no difference in bf4 between these 2 drivers.

Last edited by flow; 10-01-2013 at 23:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 10-01-2013, 23:32 | posts: 17,415 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alph4Dawg View Post
Negative.
Never OC'd it...
DICE responded with this:

"(PC) We received report of unusually low performances, and are currently looking into that as well. "
OC it then, those chips OC pretty well
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
The Mac
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 10-02-2013, 00:37 | posts: 4,406 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
OC it then, those chips OC pretty well
They get super hot through, Hell need to have sufficient cooling capacity.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.