Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark scores with your brand new GTX 980 SLI or Radeon R9 290X Crossfire in that Intel Core i7 rig? Then this is your section!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 12-21-2012, 01:23 | posts: 13,827 | Location: Proxima \/82

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
Good to hear from one of the devs and i'm sure there will be alot of questions

On a modern vga and os now First try on my 680/2600k rig

I still find that cpu score very suspicious, why would 8800gts hider cpu score that much, doesnt make any sense at all..

With IvyBirdge & 8800gts you had 50 points but now with SandyBridge & 680gtx a whopping 1100+ points? heh xD


Do you have a 500 series gpu too? If yes could you please test it with your SandyBridge cpu?


Edit: And could you test 310.70 driver with current SandyBridge + 680gtx to see if it makes any difference by each test? I see you used 306.97, thanks

Last edited by -Tj-; 12-21-2012 at 01:28.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GA-980TIXE/
Processor: 5930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: ASROCK X11/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 32GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 1600 G2/ 1x AX1200i
Default 12-21-2012, 01:29 | posts: 1,293 | Location: Nebulas

I'm getting closer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Cool 12-21-2012, 01:34 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzaj View Post
Hello Everyone!

You need to take my word. I'm from the dev team that made catzilla. If you have some questions about it's internals then go ahead and ask. We are currently doing some heavy testing and we are still fixing a lot of bugs that started to pop.

First of all. In a couple of hours you won't be able to submit scores on that version of BETA hosted here. Everyone who registered on our site will be informed about new download link for new BETA.

Second, we are sorry, that someone from ORB team has opened the payments tab for a moment, there were 10 people that bought catzilla already . Sorry for that inconveniance - you probably already got informed via email, that we will be sending your money back.

I would like to encourage you boys & girls for submitting the results to our page. Because of that we can see what reading are incorrect and we will fix them. Currently the CPU clocks are just HFM, but from new version we will take measurements during heavy loads, so this should result in proper overclocked values.

Also we store info about SLI & crossfire on the server already but we don't display them on he results page. You can view them by checking system configuration in each users tab.

We are not quite sure about NVIDIA clocks thou. AMD GPUs should have correct clocks. If you could please send resulltts especially for low end systems like old XP machines, Vista netbooks and especially 32 bit systems then it would really help us.

Don't worry we just send HW info to server and results. We install a kernel driver during installation process to have proper HW info. it's just done once and requires admin rights. 3d mark does similar thing.

As for common questions regarding PhysX. We just use CPU version. Spending GPU time on physX is a waste when you have fast CPUs.

Thanks a lot for your tests!

Michal 'bonzaj^plastic' Staniszewski

Hey there, welcome to Guru3D

First of all, i love the work you guys are doing..
Im a huge Fan of the Demo Scene since i had my c64, hrhr..

I was allways impressed with the demos you guys did, Copy Paste from 2002 or Lady of Dark Autumn just to name some of my favs..
Well, i loved 195/95 and into the Pink..I really hope we see more from you guys in the Future

anyway, enough dreaming of the good old days..

The Benchmark indeed is inspired by the Demo Scene, im very shure and is something refreshing different. Love the Music also..

I do have to admit, that theres something off with the CPU - Physics score..

The homepage is great, i think much nicer then the one frm futuremark, aldo its hard to compare and navigate trough the pages. That could be better..
I do love the Group thing..i would love to see that the best bench runs would display in teh group news automaticly, if a member submitts a new run, etc.. but i guess its enough time left..

Keep it up and good to hear ur on a new Beta version..Capturing CPU speed under load was the first thing i though off, and look at here, you guys are allready on it..Its also good to see you guys care about feedback, since u regged here

Greetz

-BetA-

Last edited by BetA; 12-21-2012 at 02:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Gener_AL
Newbie
 
Videocard: Galaxy GF6800
Processor: AMD A64 3200+
Mainboard: Abit KV8-MAX3
Memory: Cosair 3200PROXL 1024MB
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: All wrapped up in a Custom Modded Server Tower
Thumbs up 12-21-2012, 04:29 | posts: 16 | Location: Cyberspace

Great Post BetA, I miss the Amiga demo days so much ;

(btw first post in 7 years, sorry guys I've been reading)

Also the other reason I post here again is regarding the benchmark, I think I have discovered a small exploit.
I have submitted a report, if you did not receive it please let me know and I will resubmit.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
NiColaoS
Master Guru
 
NiColaoS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 960
Processor: 4690
Mainboard: Z97 G45
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: ALC 1150 & Z5500 & Z533
PSU: CS550M
Default 12-21-2012, 06:46 | posts: 439 | Location: Macedonia, Greece

All I'd like to know is, does this provide specific/nice indications of an unstable overclock? Like, counting errors or something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 12-21-2012, 06:57 | posts: 2,146 | Location: Babylon 5

Something wierd is goin' on here, I just disabled SLi and CF for both my rigs, here's the score for my HD7970 @1100/1450, 3960X @4.25ghz:


And here's the MSI GTX670 OC Ed + FX8120 @3.7ghz:


What I find to be weird is, look at the CPU + GPU score, the FX8120 + GTX670 did better in the first test (GPU + CPU), while the GTX670 + FX8120 combo is beaten in the 1x CPU + 3x GPU tests. I really don't know what to make of it. I ran them at the same default Tiger setting, only diff was the HD7970 run was done offline.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-21-2012, 07:08 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

The loading time and cpu score on your FX cpu is horrendous.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 12-21-2012, 07:34 | posts: 2,146 | Location: Babylon 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
The loading time and cpu score on your FX cpu is horrendous.
It's a BD, so I had more or less expected bad score, but my gripe is, despite the horrendous cpu score, it still comes within ~300 points of my HD7970 + 3960X score.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
Knox
Maha Guru
 
Knox's Avatar
 
Videocard: Red Devil RX580 8GB
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty AB350
Memory: Ballistix Elite 16GB
Soundcard: FX Audio DAC-X6/ATH-M40x
PSU: Thermaltake SMART 700w
Default 12-21-2012, 07:37 | posts: 1,570 | Location: Oz, across from the Wizard



Phenom II X4 stock 3.4GHz
Sapphire Reference HD6870 stock
8GB (2x4GB) 1333 DDR3
Vertex 4 (slow for an SSD)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-21-2012, 07:55 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeysg View Post
It's a BD, so I had more or less expected bad score, but my gripe is, despite the horrendous cpu score, it still comes within ~300 points of my HD7970 + 3960X score.
i see, so not only does it dislike AMD cards it also gives you a bad cpu score if you have one too, just for good measure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 12-21-2012, 08:17 | posts: 2,146 | Location: Babylon 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
i see, so not only does it dislike AMD cards it also gives you a bad cpu score if you have one too, just for good measure.
Yeah, bubba, that's about the size of it....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
pcgamers
Master Guru
 
pcgamers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz
Soundcard: Supreme FX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-21-2012, 08:31 | posts: 307 | Location: MYS

My system as on the left, 2xHD7970 @ 1200/1600




Extreme (catzilla) 7970s @ 1230/1650


Last edited by pcgamers; 12-21-2012 at 08:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
MfA
Maha Guru
 
MfA's Avatar
 
Videocard: GBT GTX4601GB@950/4600MHz
Processor: Q9650 @4.25GHz (8.5*500)
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3P
Memory: 4GB DDR2 1000MHz 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Logitech X-530 & ALC889A
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1kW
Default 12-21-2012, 11:36 | posts: 972 | Location: Istanbul

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knox View Post

Phenom II X4 stock 3.4GHz
Sapphire Reference HD6870 stock
8GB (2x4GB) 1333 DDR3
Vertex 4 (slow for an SSD)
loading times are highly affected by ssd/hdd and cpu ipc, latter is underestimated by many.. your system is bottleneck'd by your cpu just like mine in this particular test..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
bonzaj
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 12-21-2012, 12:09 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
Thanks for posting, bonzaj.

I have a question. In this current version it seems Nvidia graphics card based systems are scoring much higher than AMD counterparts, where as in other benchmarks like 3dmark 11 the same is not true. Is this going to be fixed and will the benchmark properly balanced in the next version?

Also, thank you for clarifying that GPU Physx is not in use.
Hi,

What we know for sure is that Crossfire has some problems in scalling and SLI does not. The problem is that our 4 cards rig has stuck at the border because of Christmas, and we can't make any tests . Currently when we unlock the full scaling speed at ATI - we got visual corruption. But it's a matter of getting the hardware. On the other hand on single card configuration AMD GPU's are performing quite good and I don't worry about that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
bonzaj
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 12-21-2012, 12:20 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
I still find that cpu score very suspicious, why would 8800gts hider cpu score that much, doesnt make any sense at all..

With IvyBirdge & 8800gts you had 50 points but now with SandyBridge & 680gtx a whopping 1100+ points? heh xD
To explain CPU test. CPU test is not artificial. We could just calculate PI on all cores/threads. And that would be perfect. Our CPU test is combined with GPU, because of rendering. In order to compare different CPUs, you need to stay on the same GPU. Notice that on high end cards there's not too much difference in CPU test in different profiles. This scene is highly CPU bound. CPU is used to handle a lot of rendering batches, which is heavily dependent of drivers and also does physics on all cores. This test should resemble the style of programming that is used on current consoles. You use maximum CPU to save time of GPU. That's why we call it a CPU test.

The best GPU test is raymarch test. It tests GPUs ALU power. The fluid test is depends on GPU memory speed. The fur tests geometry shader performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
bonzaj
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 12-21-2012, 12:24 | posts: 13

BetA: Thanks man!

As for features. We don't want to release it and forget about it. We started the beta like google did with gmail and minecraft did for a longer period. We want to keep it that way as long as we will be polishing it. This is our first benchmark experience and we lear each day new things. The hardest thing is retrieving system info, since every component for each vendor needs to be handled separately. That's why there are still incorrect infos about clocks SLI etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
bonzaj
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 12-21-2012, 12:27 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiColaoS View Post
All I'd like to know is, does this provide specific/nice indications of an unstable overclock? Like, counting errors or something?
Hello Nicolas. We don't do it since we would need a reference to compare. ANd since it's a visual benchmark then it's really hard. For example when you calculate PI, you can store the actual PI value on a disk and make a check with computed one. Then you can see if there's a computational error or not. In our case we would need to compare frame by frame with reference frames. I's quite hard to do .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-21-2012, 12:34 | posts: 12,815 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
I still find that cpu score very suspicious, why would 8800gts hider cpu score that much, doesnt make any sense at all..

With IvyBirdge & 8800gts you had 50 points but now with SandyBridge & 680gtx a whopping 1100+ points? heh xD


Do you have a 500 series gpu too? If yes could you please test it with your SandyBridge cpu?


Edit: And could you test 310.70 driver with current SandyBridge + 680gtx to see if it makes any difference by each test? I see you used 306.97, thanks
Will do...Update the driver and i can test with a 448 ti later also.
*
updated drivers...same about





So did anyone try to run in 32bit? or it cant be done?
I think its the only way to have msi osd.

Last edited by cowie; 12-22-2012 at 01:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: UMC-1, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 12-21-2012, 13:07 | posts: 10,244 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA View Post
sorry to say that, but theres no such thing here.
I even uninstalled it and let it install via the Comodo sandbox..nothing bad happened, no extra reg keys, no bad commands or access..And no IRC request..

using comodo since it came out here..after using sygate.
Comodo is setup here as bad as it can get..i get every thing what happens here in an pop up, etc..defense is paranoid mode,, ONLY my LIST is ALLOWED..Firewall is at "own Rules" since i have made my own rule table..took me days to set it all up, but its a freaking big ass Wall now..

so i know what u are talking about, but i can ashure u theres nothing wrong..maybe u have a diff installer from catzilla? or did get it somewhere else?

not shure, just saying what i found out..And i did really check..i took my time, 1 hour or so, to check all that..

_BetA_
Try again on a fresh install of windows on spare drive, I'm not making it up.
I have turned up my security on Comodo, that may be part of why I caught them??
I doubt once installed that it will remove itself from the trusted installers when you uninstall, so it may not try and make those entries again when you install again.

I will post screenshots of what happens but I'm away for for about a week and dont have time to get the proof until after.
I didnt let it make any of those entries in my registry so it should be virgin for those entries.
If not, I'll restore a backup to another drive and get the screenshots from that when installing.


Please do give me a nudge after next Thursday if I havent reported back, I dont take it lightly what they are doing.

Right now I'm packing my car, then I'm off, Merry Christmas everyone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GA-980TIXE/
Processor: 5930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: ASROCK X11/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 32GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 1600 G2/ 1x AX1200i
Default 12-21-2012, 13:31 | posts: 1,293 | Location: Nebulas

Explaine what you think THEY are doing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
bonzaj
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W
Default 12-21-2012, 15:01 | posts: 13

he he, I also would like to know what I'm going . During installation we just install the kernel driver that help us in scanning your system configuration. No network activity is used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GA-980TIXE/
Processor: 5930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: ASROCK X11/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 32GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 1600 G2/ 1x AX1200i
Default 12-21-2012, 15:12 | posts: 1,293 | Location: Nebulas

The only thing I encountered is windows 8 was scared to install the file and asked if I wanted to install even though this file could harm the computer, lol!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-21-2012, 15:24 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzaj View Post
Hi,

What we know for sure is that Crossfire has some problems in scalling and SLI does not. The problem is that our 4 cards rig has stuck at the border because of Christmas, and we can't make any tests . Currently when we unlock the full scaling speed at ATI - we got visual corruption. But it's a matter of getting the hardware. On the other hand on single card configuration AMD GPU's are performing quite good and I don't worry about that.
Thanks for the reply.

Regarding single card performance. if you were to compare some scores posted for similar systems but with the difference being that one uses a GTX 680 and the other a HD 7970 you will notice that the system using the GTX 680 is scoring significantly more, on average between 25% and 30% higher. I believe that to be a large difference and not in line with other 3D based performance measurement applications or gaming in general.

I do however appreciate that the software is still in beta testing but felt that this should be further emphasised and brought to your attention.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
inh1bitor
Newbie
 
inh1bitor's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI MSI GTX680 Lightning
Processor: i7 3960X
Mainboard: Asus RIVE
Memory: G.Skill Ares 16GB
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair -1200W
Default 12-21-2012, 18:21 | posts: 11

3960X@5000
SLI MSi GTX680 Lightning @~1280
1080p tiger 19201
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-21-2012, 19:11 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

Scratch that.


HDD


Last edited by BlackZero; 12-21-2012 at 19:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.