Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark scores with your brand new GTX 980 SLI or Radeon R9 290X Crossfire in that Intel Core i7 rig? Then this is your section!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 12-20-2012, 08:11 | posts: 2,143 | Location: Babylon 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Dolan View Post
Nvidia cards score higher than AMD cards I wonder if this benchmark uses PhysX.
Nah, don't think so, look at my FX8120 @3.7ghz + 2x GTX670 Physics score and compare it to my X3960 @4.25ghz + 3x HD7970 score. The FX CPU Physics score is abyssmal to say the least...

I do agree, something isn't quite right with the scores we have been getting, especially those of us with dual or more GPU's.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-20-2012, 08:20 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Can someone please tell me how someone can run a 680 @ 1.34Ghz through this benchmark on air and not top 61C.
I'm looking at you Mike.
What's the secret? LOL
I know that the lightning bios is very unique but what the hell? constant 1.34ghz through this benchy and only tops 61C?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Mike V
Master Guru
 
Mike V's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Gaming
Processor: i5 2500K@4.6 H100i
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Memory: 8GB Vengeance LP 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-20-2012, 10:01 | posts: 279 | Location: Belgium

The cooler on the lightning is simply that good :p

Look at the review here at Guru3D: 1.4V 55% fan speed max temp 71C.

It really is a great cooler. With no extra voltage it never goes above 60c in any game i have played with the fan on auto.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-20-2012, 10:45 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V View Post
The cooler on the lightning is simply that good :p

Look at the review here at Guru3D: 1.4V 55% fan speed max temp 71C.

It really is a great cooler. With no extra voltage it never goes above 60c in any game i have played with the fan on auto.
Cheers for clarification, Mike.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Locoyote
Member Guru
 
Locoyote's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1060 Windforce OC
Processor: i7 3770K 4.3GHz AC-FP
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H
Memory: Kingston 16GB 2.4Ghz
Soundcard: VT2021 HD
PSU: 750W TT Toughpower
Default 12-20-2012, 11:56 | posts: 127 | Location: UK

7685 -Tiger
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
boxleitnerb
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB SLI
Processor: 3930K@4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 12-20-2012, 12:01 | posts: 14

Anyone got SLI working?
Also Rivatuner OSD doesn't work here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Locoyote
Member Guru
 
Locoyote's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1060 Windforce OC
Processor: i7 3770K 4.3GHz AC-FP
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H
Memory: Kingston 16GB 2.4Ghz
Soundcard: VT2021 HD
PSU: 750W TT Toughpower
Default 12-20-2012, 12:07 | posts: 127 | Location: UK

Yeah I tried that, no luck

On the plus side, it's not a bad score for 1 card.

Last edited by Locoyote; 12-20-2012 at 12:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 12-20-2012, 12:30 | posts: 10,079 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
If it was trying to do anything suspicious it would have been picked up by avast on my system. There are also possibly hundreds of websites hosting this, if there was anything out of the ordinary happening it would have been common knowledge by now. Not to mention the software has been in closed beta testing for who knows how long.

But, who knows. Maybe avoid installing it for a while if concerned and wait and see if anything is discovered.
I'm also running Avast set to high security and it didnt spot anything.
You need a good HIPS (Host Intrusion Protection System) to catch behavior like this, Comodo has a very good one.
Turn learn mode off (set to clean), otherwise it will assume what you install is ok.
You will have to disable all trusted installers now as well though (untick create rules for safe applications), or try it on a fresh system, to see what it tries to do.

Last edited by Mufflore; 12-20-2012 at 12:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
boxleitnerb
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB SLI
Processor: 3930K@4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 12-20-2012, 12:43 | posts: 14

The CPU-Test is completely borked:

i5-3570K@4.4 GHz = 634 (with HD7950@1100/1575)
i5-3570K@4.7 Ghz = 1062 (with GTX680@OC)

How does that even remotely make sense???
And it is resolution/graphics dependent, too. Just look at the varying scores between Tiger and Catzilla on the same system.

Last edited by boxleitnerb; 12-20-2012 at 13:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-20-2012, 12:49 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

The 'loading time' would seem to be a cpu test also. I've not tried the tests seperate yet, i prefer 3dmark11 this catzilla has some nasty gpu thrashing towards end of full benchy. (perhaps the mathematics test i'm not sure)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Sinean
Member Guru
 
Sinean's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd hd7950 , S27A950D Mon
Processor: i5 @ 4.5ghz @1.32v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth p67
Memory: 16gb 1600 @ 1866 @1.5v
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 750watt pc&c
Default 12-20-2012, 13:56 | posts: 45

Score: 8816-Tiger
My 6950 xfire setup stock

cpu oc @ 4.2ghz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Scerate
Maha Guru
 
Scerate's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980Ti@1.5/1070N@1.65
Processor: 3770k@4.8/6700k@4.5
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77/P775DM3-G
Memory: 16GB 1866C8/16GB 3000C16
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Corsair AX760i/330W PSU
Default 12-20-2012, 13:58 | posts: 1,037 | Location: Austria



my Notebook P150HM
i7 2760QM
8GB 1600 9-9-9-24
7970M @ 1045/1485

actually not bad could scratch 5800 easily and tried catzilla which worked and got around 3100 points but didn't made any screenies
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
boxleitnerb
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB SLI
Processor: 3930K@4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 12-20-2012, 13:58 | posts: 14

Does Crossfire work? With the 7970 3-way CF it obviously doesn't, but your score is higher than expected for a single 6950.
What do you get with CF disabled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 1080Ti Strix@2050Mhz
Processor: i7-6700K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: GSkill 32GB DDR4-3200 C14
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 12-20-2012, 14:20 | posts: 1,258 | Location: Virginia

Got SLI working, used AFR render and seems to scale fine.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Sinean
Member Guru
 
Sinean's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd hd7950 , S27A950D Mon
Processor: i5 @ 4.5ghz @1.32v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth p67
Memory: 16gb 1600 @ 1866 @1.5v
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 750watt pc&c
Default 12-20-2012, 14:23 | posts: 45

Installed the 12.11 beta 11 cats
Crossfire does not work with catzilla on win8

Crossfire only works with 12.10 whql

Last edited by Sinean; 12-20-2012 at 14:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
MfA
Maha Guru
 
MfA's Avatar
 
Videocard: GBT GTX4601GB@950/4600MHz
Processor: Q9650 @4.25GHz (8.5*500)
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3P
Memory: 4GB DDR2 1000MHz 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Logitech X-530 & ALC889A
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1kW
Default 12-20-2012, 14:27 | posts: 972 | Location: Istanbul

Q9650@3.00GHz(9x333), ForceWare 310.64, Win 7 x64
GTX4601GB@675/3600MHz
T3031


GTX4601GB@975/4400MHz
T3948

Last edited by MfA; 12-20-2012 at 14:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
MfA
Maha Guru
 
MfA's Avatar
 
Videocard: GBT GTX4601GB@950/4600MHz
Processor: Q9650 @4.25GHz (8.5*500)
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3P
Memory: 4GB DDR2 1000MHz 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Logitech X-530 & ALC889A
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1kW
Default 12-20-2012, 14:29 | posts: 972 | Location: Istanbul

Q9650@4.36GHz(8,5x513), ForceWare 310.64, Win 7 x64
GTX4601GB@675/3600MHz
T3259


GTX4601GB@960/4600MHz
T4352

Last edited by MfA; 12-20-2012 at 14:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Seth-01
Member Guru
 
Videocard: VTX3D R9 290 947/1250
Processor: Intel i7 3930K 4.7 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage Formula IV
Memory: 4x4 Gskill Ares PC17000
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 12-20-2012, 14:44 | posts: 59

Phenom2 X6 @ 4.2 Ghz
Catalyst 12.11 beta11 + CAP2
HD7950 "OEM" 810-1250 GPU/MEM

Benchmark don't work : loose Aero, flicker screen to black for 1 second and go back to windows. Tried reinstallation for the same result !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
boxleitnerb
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB SLI
Processor: 3930K@4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 12-20-2012, 14:45 | posts: 14

[QUOTE=Shadowdane;4483571]Got SLI working, used AFR render and seems to scale fine.

0x00000005 bits work fine, thanks!

GTX580 SLI, FW310.64@default, 3930K@stock but HTT off:



Fluid doesn't scale well with AFR.

Last edited by boxleitnerb; 12-20-2012 at 15:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-20-2012, 15:17 | posts: 8,162 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeysg View Post
Perhaps CF isn't working or optimized, this is a Beta after all. Now that you've mentioned it, seems a tad low for triFire setup....

Edit - Took a look at the main site, the Hardware info isn't detailed enough, it does not indicate whether GPU used is single/dual/triple/quad....
When I checked last night it was possible to separate results based on GPU count.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
boxleitnerb
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB SLI
Processor: 3930K@4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 12-20-2012, 15:31 | posts: 14

10,000 is way too low for 3x7970. If CF were working, one would expect 25k-30k instead of 10k.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 12-20-2012, 16:01 | posts: 6,322 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
10,000 is way too low for 3x7970. If CF were working, one would expect 25k-30k instead of 10k.
scaling is really bad and inconsistent over the run... 1000-2000 pnts difference max with cfx enabled ... CFX scale well on the first part of the scene benchmark ( +40-50fps tested at 1200mhz single and cfx) but drop completely then. Also cpu overclock do an high difference in term of score, but not so much in term of fps ( the bench have the same problem of 3Dmark06, cpu parts are taking too much way ) count easely a difference 1000 pnts between 4.5 and 5ghz on a 2600K .

On the actual state, i dont think i can shoot over 12000 pnts

I have try different profile of crossfire ( AFR optimised or any other profile ), the result is lower of the defaut profile.

If the benchmark use PhysX, i will need do an analyze of it this could explain the lower score in some parts of the bench and some inconsistent drop of fps ( 140 to 50 fps by add a ray of light ) ( some parts are using Physx by the cpu, some by the gpu and could well been some threads are deported in a case or the other ( this explain the the cpu scaling )

Last edited by Lane; 12-20-2012 at 16:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
AvengerUK
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
Processor: 7700K @ 5.0 - Predator
Mainboard: Asus Strix Gaming
Memory: 16GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: CM 1200W
Default 12-20-2012, 17:45 | posts: 687

Doesn't have SLi support

EDIT: Grrrr FF hadn't updated the page with the extra 2 pages of replies...so ignore this...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 1080Ti Strix@2050Mhz
Processor: i7-6700K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: GSkill 32GB DDR4-3200 C14
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 12-20-2012, 17:46 | posts: 1,258 | Location: Virginia

Quote:
Originally Posted by AvengerUK View Post
Doesn't have SLi support
It does you need to create a profile manually for it in Nvidia Inspector, look a few posts up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Ashtyr
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS DCIITOP GTX670/2GB
Processor: Phenom II x6 1055T@4,2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTHOOT 990FX
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Default 12-20-2012, 18:02 | posts: 10



Phenom x6 1055t@4.16Ghz
Asus gtx 670 direct CU II top
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.