Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Pill Monster
Banned
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750 Bronze
Default 08-13-2012, 21:45 | posts: 25,234 | Location: NZ

^
First stop CCC service, then edit following .xml file.
After editing restart CCC to apply changes, once that is done you may disable CCC completely and voltages will stick.


Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-20-2012 at 21:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 08-13-2012, 22:29 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Can someone with this leaked BIOS post a GPU Caps Viewer screenshot with 7970? GPU Tab, please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
defcoms
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI-7970ghz Bios Trifire
Processor: I7 3960X @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Rampage 4 extreme
Memory: 16 GB ven. @ 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair ax1200
Default 08-13-2012, 23:42 | posts: 100 | Location: Florida

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 08-13-2012, 23:57 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Thanks man!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
defcoms
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI-7970ghz Bios Trifire
Processor: I7 3960X @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Rampage 4 extreme
Memory: 16 GB ven. @ 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair ax1200
Default 08-14-2012, 00:13 | posts: 100 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xzibit View Post
Thanks man!
You got some kind of master plan to make these things work better?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 08-14-2012, 00:21 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcoms View Post
You got some kind of master plan to make these things work better?
Nope. Just want to compare the pic with my settings
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Processor: i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Memory: 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: laptop / Corsair 750tx
Default 08-14-2012, 00:47 | posts: 1,603 | Location: Toronto

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaxMacFL View Post
After reading so many positive posts about this bios I thought I'd give it another go. I'm glad I did. Turns out I can do 1225/1650 without using TRIXX's voltage controller.
what kind of minimum fps do bf3 & cry2 have?

btw your cleartype is backwards, BGR instead of RGB (something like that), does the text in your image look much cleaner if you rotate it by 180 degrees?

had a friend with backwards cleartype once... never found out why it happened, he formatted & it was back to normal
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX480 8GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 16GB G.Skill 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: Asus Strix Soar
PSU: CoolerMaster Vanguard 850
Default 08-14-2012, 01:10 | posts: 1,200 | Location: iTALY

7950 PowerTune Boost BIOS: http://www.mediafire.com/?4e04zn4svvqd2q5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
defcoms
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI-7970ghz Bios Trifire
Processor: I7 3960X @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Rampage 4 extreme
Memory: 16 GB ven. @ 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair ax1200
Default 08-14-2012, 01:49 | posts: 100 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post

You are just full of all kinds of magic!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
jsksjs
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7970 Gigabyte
Processor: Intel I5-2500K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850W
Default 08-14-2012, 02:40 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunn View Post
Theres one over on techpowerup

I tried it on my Gigabyte WindForce, flash went ok, but driver bsod when Windows boots...

I have the same card as you and i have the same problem. The flash goes good but the drivers crap out on the card. The card and the drivers won't match anymore and Windows says the drivers don't work with the card. I went back to my original bios after trying for about 18 hours. Better wait for a workaround.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
JaxMacFL
Maha Guru
 
JaxMacFL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (pascal)
Processor: i9 7900X NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
Memory: 16GB (4x4) GSKILL 3200
Soundcard: SB ZxR with Logi 5.1 Z906
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 08-14-2012, 14:27 | posts: 1,038 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
what kind of minimum fps do bf3 & cry2 have?

btw your cleartype is backwards, BGR instead of RGB (something like that), does the text in your image look much cleaner if you rotate it by 180 degrees?

had a friend with backwards cleartype once... never found out why it happened, he formatted & it was back to normal
what kind of minimum fps do bf3 & cry2 have?.....I don't have either one of those games, but with fonv capped at 60 I would stay in the 50 - 60 fps range with occassional drops to the 40s. Whenever I go into the atomic wrangler or certain places on the strip it would drop to the 30s, but I understand that just the nature of the game and happens to everyone.

btw your cleartype is backwards, BGR instead of RGB (something like that), does the text in your image look much cleaner if you rotate it by 180 degrees?.....Thats weird, it looks fine on my monitor. I use win 7 snipping tool for screen captures. Always thought it work great. Will check into it. Thx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
plywood99
Master Guru
 
plywood99's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980ti Arctic Storm
Processor: AMD 8350 @5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX Rev.2
Memory: 32gigs Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: mobo sound
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 08-14-2012, 22:08 | posts: 196 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
*snip
You are the man!!

Curious does the memory voltage setting work to?

Okies tried it out, and no memory voltage doesn't seem to work...

Oh well...

Last edited by plywood99; 08-15-2012 at 22:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Pill Monster
Banned
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750 Bronze
Default 08-17-2012, 03:08 | posts: 25,234 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by plywood99 View Post
You are the man!!

Curious does the memory voltage setting work to?

Okies tried it out, and no memory voltage doesn't seem to work...

Oh well...
Yeah memory voltage can't be adjusted afaik....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 09-25-2012, 16:10 | posts: 6,355 | Location: Switzerland

So, finally i was bored 2hours ago, so i have decided to flash my cards with 7970 Ghz bios.

Both Cards are bought around Jan 2012:

- Sapphire HD7970 3Gb Reference PCB and design ( H2o cooled )
- HIS HD7970 3Gb Reference PCB and design (h2o cooled )

Just hitted "flash" ( i have disable CFX in CCC first ), reboot > let the drivers update with the new cards. All is working perfectly.

Just done some few tests with 3Dmark11 and 2 games. no problem at all so far.

- Initial VDDC on both card is 1112 and 1117mv ( both cards supporting 1400mv with Trixxx overclocking software, Same now for MSI Afterburner )

- MSI AB show a VDDC between 1093 > 1149mv. ( +33mv )
- GPU-Z show a max VDDC of 1133mv. ( + 16mv )









Last edited by Lane; 09-25-2012 at 16:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 09-27-2012, 17:08 | posts: 6,355 | Location: Switzerland

In addition, it look like MSI Afterburner, completely miss the real VDDC reading with GHZ bios. It allways show only 1149mv, even if i set 1380mv with Trixxx.

so or the volts are not applied, or they are, ( but i doubt i can oc at more of 1200mhz with only 1149mv. )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI @ 2.025Ghz
Processor: i7 5775C @ 4.0ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 SLI
Memory: Trident DDR3 2400 32GB
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 P2
Default 10-01-2012, 06:39 | posts: 5,973 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
In addition, it look like MSI Afterburner, completely miss the real VDDC reading with GHZ bios. It allways show only 1149mv, even if i set 1380mv with Trixxx.

so or the volts are not applied, or they are, ( but i doubt i can oc at more of 1200mhz with only 1149mv. )
Yeah, It's not compatible with Ghz Edition quite yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
xNAPx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R7970 Lightning
Processor: i5 3570k@4,8Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Aerocool Strike-X 1100w
Default 10-11-2012, 23:25 | posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
^
First stop CCC service, then edit following .xml file.
After editing restart CCC to apply changes, once that is done you may disable CCC completely and voltages will stick.

what this modify is needed for?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
The Mac
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 10-18-2012, 22:06 | posts: 4,409 | Location: USA

its to change the max vddc target...like the voltage slider in trixx

BTW: aida 64 properly reads the Vddc target, they call it GPU CORE.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Stu @ MSD
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3x HD7970 @ 1260/1950
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximumus Extreme-Z
Memory: 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz
Soundcard: Onboard 7.1
PSU: Enermax Max Revo 1500w
Default 11-23-2012, 01:12 | posts: 110 | Location: Blackpool. UK

Thanks guys, flashed my 3x Sapphire 7970HD's and had two hours on Black Ops 2 tonight and all is well. Results in screenshots below.









I will do some more serious benching tomorrow night but it has to be said this bios flash was well worthwhile, ULPS working perfectly and no 3rd party software messing about to tweak overclocks.
I am a happy man.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
john7up
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Ati HD 7970 OC
Processor: Intel i7 3770k 4.6ghz 1.2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCG 750W
Default 11-30-2012, 07:32 | posts: 1

Hey mates. It seems I've given a bit of a rush last night when I just received my Gigabyte Ati Radeon HD 7970 OC (1ghz stock) , and tried flashing to make it into GHZ Edition (for boosted memory from 1375 to 1500)

Now, it won't boot or anything, I've tried all possible programs to flash, it also ruined both Windows 7 and Windows 8 for me, I'm trying to reinstall W7 ultimate x64 now, if there's any possibility of flashing a card that isn't recognized thoroughly (not in gpuz) not in the 2 gigabyte software - easy tune something and gigabite bios, and it won't recognize it (the bios tab grays out) , so does on the other program. in W8 ati flash ati winflash and other software apparently aren't compatible, and I don't know exactly how to make dos work on the UEFI bios motherboard Asrock Extreme4 z77. Also running a SSD raid (2x180GB Intel s-ata 3)

Can you guys please advise? I will install W7 now and need a windows or dos solution afterwards, as thorough as possible, I've just spent my 2 salaries on that videocard, so I can't take no, it's broken and also lost its waranty for an answer. I have saved the original bios (stupid me, at least that).

Thing is I've done several bios flashes so far and other 'risky' things, but all turned out just fine, so didn't know that if it wasn't a reference card would turn this way....

Please advise, I'd be a thousand times grateful.

John.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Thumbs up 11-30-2012, 08:28 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

I did it once it was about 8 years ago.. I flashed my Leadtek 6600LE with Inno3d MX4000 PCI card in hand, it worked....


THE GUIDE



0).......be cool and relaxed...and dont panic while performing these steps...

1) You will need to find a PCI graphics card/display adapter from somewhere to act as a temporary video output until you can get your PCI-E card functioning properly again. This might involve going out to buy one or pulling one from an older machine or your stash.
*Feel free to use a PCI-E card instead of a PCI card if your motherboard has two or more PCI-E slots.
*You can also use onboard video if you motherboard has an IGP. The method for switching to it should be similar to the one outlined below.

2) Once you have found a PCI GPU go ahead and open your case. Remove the retention bracket of your PCI-E card and take the card out of your system. Remember to ground yourself first by touching the metal part of your case before handling any components in order to avoid damaging your components.

3) Once you have taken your PCI-E card out, insert your PCI card into a PCI slot, preferably one that is far away from your PCI-E slot so that it doesn't interfere with letting you put your PCI-E card back in.

4) Hook up your monitor's cable to the appropriate output on your PCI card and boot up your computer. Hopefully you should POST. If you don't and are getting a strange number of beeps from your motherboard, you might not have inserted your PCI card correctly into the slot and your motherboard is telling you it doesn't detect a VGA.

5) Right after you post, enter your BIOS by pressing the appropriate key. Find the setting in your BIOS which sets the primary display adapter. On my motherboard, this is found under Advanced -> Chipset Configuration -> North Bridge Settings, although it may be different for your motherboard.



6) Change your primary display adapter from PEG to PCI. This step will let you POST with your bricked graphics card inserted as the Power-on Self-test will not fail due to the incomplete BIOS present on your PCI-E card because you have switched the primary display to the PCI card.

*Disregard this step if you are using a PCI-e backup card instead of a PCI card.

7) After you have changed the primary display adapter setting, shut off your computer and insert your PCI-E card back in. You might want to put the retention bracket back on to make sure the card doesn’t get bent.

8) ....have your motherboard manual in hand....
Boot up your computer again and hopefully it will POST if you have done Step #5 correctly. Continue on into Windows. (Note: If your PCI-E card is ATi card and your PCI card is an nVIDIA card or vice-cersa, I WOULD NOT recommend installing nVIDIA (or ATi) drivers to accommodate your PCI card as the generic Windows display drivers will serve fine for the purpose of this guide).

9) When booted into Windows you will need to first of all make a bootable DOS disk. Creating a bootable USB drive is the easiest way, in my opinion, so follow this guide to make a bootable USB drive.

10) When you have made a bootable USB drive, download your favourite BIOS flashing software. (Eg. ATIFlash for ATI users and NVFlash for nVIDIA users)

11) Copy the folder with the software in into the root of the USB drive. Make sure to rename the folder to a name with a max of eight characters due to the limitation in DOS.

12) Find your backup or download an original BIOS ( TechPowerup Bios) for your graphics card and copy it into the SAME FOLDER as your flashing software and give it a name that is also under eight characters and easy to remember.

13) Restart your computer and boot into the USB drive. On my computer, this is done by pressing F8 and selecting the USB drive when I see the BIOS splash screen but it may be different for your motherboard.

14) Navigate to your folder using “cd [foldername]”.

15) Finally, you can go ahead and flash your old BIOS. (Using ATIFlash, first find the adapter number done by using “atiflash –i”, then you can flash by “atiflash –f –newbios –p [adapter number] [BIOS_filename].ROM”).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here are some descriptions of commands that you will use.

atiflash.exe -i - This will get your device ID(s) for your card(s).

atiflash.exe -s backup.bin - This will make a backup of your OLD BIOS just encase the new BIOS doesn't work correctly. (you will not do this, as u want to get rid of the current BIOS in the PCI-E card)

atiflash.exe -f -p 0 newbios.bin - This command will be flashing your card.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Make sure the BIOS file you are flashing has a *.ROM extension. If it doesn't, ATIFlash will not recognize it.
** NVFlash commands are different from ATIFlash but are well documented in its guide and readme included with it. So please READ the NVFlash guide before using it.
*** If your GPU is not detected by ATIFlash or NVFlash see the further troubleshooting section below.

16) Shut down your computer using your power button.



17) Reboot and then go back into the BIOS. Change the primary display adapter back from PCI to PEG. Save BIOS settings then shut down.

*Disregard this step if you are using a PCI-e backup card instead of a PCI card.

18) Switch your monitor cable from the PCI card back to your PCI-e card and remove the PCI card if you wish.

19) Boot up your computer and you should now be running back on your original GPU again.

20) Should work

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 11-30-2012 at 08:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
JaxMacFL
Maha Guru
 
JaxMacFL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (pascal)
Processor: i9 7900X NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
Memory: 16GB (4x4) GSKILL 3200
Soundcard: SB ZxR with Logi 5.1 Z906
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 11-30-2012, 14:40 | posts: 1,038 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by john7up View Post
Hey mates. It seems I've given a bit of a rush last night when I just received my Gigabyte Ati Radeon HD 7970 OC (1ghz stock) , and tried flashing to make it into GHZ Edition (for boosted memory from 1375 to 1500)

Now, it won't boot or anything, I've tried all possible programs to flash, it also ruined both Windows 7 and Windows 8 for me, I'm trying to reinstall W7 ultimate x64 now, if there's any possibility of flashing a card that isn't recognized thoroughly (not in gpuz) not in the 2 gigabyte software - easy tune something and gigabite bios, and it won't recognize it (the bios tab grays out) , so does on the other program. in W8 ati flash ati winflash and other software apparently aren't compatible, and I don't know exactly how to make dos work on the UEFI bios motherboard Asrock Extreme4 z77. Also running a SSD raid (2x180GB Intel s-ata 3)

Can you guys please advise? I will install W7 now and need a windows or dos solution afterwards, as thorough as possible, I've just spent my 2 salaries on that videocard, so I can't take no, it's broken and also lost its waranty for an answer. I have saved the original bios (stupid me, at least that).

Thing is I've done several bios flashes so far and other 'risky' things, but all turned out just fine, so didn't know that if it wasn't a reference card would turn this way....

Please advise, I'd be a thousand times grateful.

John.
Not familiar with your card but does it have a dual bios switch? If so switch it to the failsafe backup original bios. That would keep you going till you get the borked bios reflashed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Default 11-30-2012, 17:47 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaxMacFL View Post
Not familiar with your card but does it have a dual bios switch? If so switch it to the failsafe backup original bios. That would keep you going till you get the borked bios reflashed.
yes, guru...... i did it surely it worked....
I just wanted to help(not with that guide)... that member, guru..

I 'm really sorry for "john07" work to be annotated with the guide....

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 11-30-2012 at 17:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Default 11-30-2012, 17:49 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

Quote:
Originally Posted by BABA-The Hacker View Post
I did it once it was about 8 years ago.. I flashed my Leadtek 6600LE(nvidia) with Inno3d MX4000 PCI card in hand, it worked....


THE GUIDE



0).......be cool and relaxed...and dont panic while performing these steps...

1) You will need to find a PCI graphics card/display adapter from somewhere to act as a temporary video output until you can get your PCI-E card functioning properly again. This might involve going out to buy one or pulling one from an older machine or your stash.
*Feel free to use a PCI-E card instead of a PCI card if your motherboard has two or more PCI-E slots.
*You can also use onboard video if you motherboard has an IGP. The method for switching to it should be similar to the one outlined below.

2) Once you have found a PCI GPU go ahead and open your case. Remove the retention bracket of your PCI-E card and take the card out of your system. Remember to ground yourself first by touching the metal part of your case before handling any components in order to avoid damaging your components.

3) Once you have taken your PCI-E card out, insert your PCI card into a PCI slot, preferably one that is far away from your PCI-E slot so that it doesn't interfere with letting you put your PCI-E card back in.

4) Hook up your monitor's cable to the appropriate output on your PCI card and boot up your computer. Hopefully you should POST. If you don't and are getting a strange number of beeps from your motherboard, you might not have inserted your PCI card correctly into the slot and your motherboard is telling you it doesn't detect a VGA.

5) Right after you post, enter your BIOS by pressing the appropriate key. Find the setting in your BIOS which sets the primary display adapter. On my motherboard, this is found under Advanced -> Chipset Configuration -> North Bridge Settings, although it may be different for your motherboard.



6) Change your primary display adapter from PEG to PCI. This step will let you POST with your bricked graphics card inserted as the Power-on Self-test will not fail due to the incomplete BIOS present on your PCI-E card because you have switched the primary display to the PCI card.

*Disregard this step if you are using a PCI-e backup card instead of a PCI card.

7) After you have changed the primary display adapter setting, shut off your computer and insert your PCI-E card back in. You might want to put the retention bracket back on to make sure the card doesn’t get bent.

8) ....have your motherboard manual in hand....
Boot up your computer again and hopefully it will POST if you have done Step #5 correctly. Continue on into Windows. (Note: If your PCI-E card is ATi card and your PCI card is an nVIDIA card or vice-cersa, I WOULD NOT recommend installing nVIDIA (or ATi) drivers to accommodate your PCI card as the generic Windows display drivers will serve fine for the purpose of this guide).

9) When booted into Windows you will need to first of all make a bootable DOS disk. Creating a bootable USB drive is the easiest way, in my opinion, so follow this guide to make a bootable USB drive.

10) When you have made a bootable USB drive, download your favourite BIOS flashing software. (Eg. ATIFlash for ATI users and NVFlash for nVIDIA users)

11) Copy the folder with the software in into the root of the USB drive. Make sure to rename the folder to a name with a max of eight characters due to the limitation in DOS.

12) Find your backup or download an original BIOS ( TechPowerup Bios) for your graphics card and copy it into the SAME FOLDER as your flashing software and give it a name that is also under eight characters and easy to remember.

13) Restart your computer and boot into the USB drive. On my computer, this is done by pressing F8 and selecting the USB drive when I see the BIOS splash screen but it may be different for your motherboard.

14) Navigate to your folder using “cd [foldername]”.

15) Finally, you can go ahead and flash your old BIOS. (Using ATIFlash, first find the adapter number done by using “atiflash –i”, then you can flash by “atiflash –f –newbios –p [adapter number] [BIOS_filename].ROM”).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here are some descriptions of commands that you will use.

atiflash.exe -i - This will get your device ID(s) for your card(s).

atiflash.exe -s backup.bin - This will make a backup of your OLD BIOS just encase the new BIOS doesn't work correctly. (you will not do this, as u want to get rid of the current BIOS in the PCI-E card)

atiflash.exe -f -p 0 newbios.bin - This command will be flashing your card.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Make sure the BIOS file you are flashing has a *.ROM extension. If it doesn't, ATIFlash will not recognize it.
** NVFlash commands are different from ATIFlash but are well documented in its guide and readme included with it. So please READ the NVFlash guide before using it.
*** If your GPU is not detected by ATIFlash or NVFlash see the further troubleshooting section below.

16) Shut down your computer using your power button.



17) Reboot and then go back into the BIOS. Change the primary display adapter back from PCI to PEG. Save BIOS settings then shut down.

*Disregard this step if you are using a PCI-e backup card instead of a PCI card.

18) Switch your monitor cable from the PCI card back to your PCI-e card and remove the PCI card if you wish.

19) Boot up your computer and you should now be running back on your original GPU again.

20) Should work
21) All works goes to (john07)

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 11-30-2012 at 17:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Default 11-30-2012, 17:55 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

wow.... at least his 2X salary dnt go to bin..... (sorry again)

..........guru3d.com: meant to solve.....not to probs... (kidding)........
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.