Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum
Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum This forum is intended for generic questions and discussion of the RivaTuner Utility. In this section the users help each other out with answers.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-29-2009, 07:37 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Man all I can say is
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-29-2009, 10:34 | posts: 12,857 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Well done, Nick!


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 12:14 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Here is an updated build of NVPerfCountCLI (v0.9.1). It includes both a 32 and 64 bit version. It still requires the VC++ 2008 redistribuatable.

Running the program with no arguments now properly displays the counter description, and now includes the expected counter type (raw or percentage).

Code:
c:\Users\Nick\Desktop>NVPerfCountCLI64.exe
NVPerfAPI initialization successful
Number of available counters: 90
No argument provided - querying all available counters

Counter 0: OGL frame time
Description: OGL time from Swap to Swap, all inclusive
Type: Raw

Counter 1: OGL driver time waiting
Description: OGL time spent in driver code, waiting on anything
Type: Raw

.....

Counter 89: GPU Bottleneck
Description: Index for GPU bottleneck
Type: Raw
The program no longer takes the counter name as a parameter. It now uses the counter number.

Code:
c:\Users\Nick\Desktop>NVPerfCountCLI64.exe 58
NVPerfAPI initialization successful
Number of available counters: 90
Counter provided via argument: 58
Successfully added counter: 58

Counter 58: gpu_idle
Description: Time the graphics portion of the chip is idle.
Type: Percent

Press any key to stop collection

Percent: 2.730707
Percent: 85.056114
Percent: 87.572052
Percent: 86.352325
There is a new argument "sample". This will cycle through all available counters and query each one 5 times.

Code:
c:\Users\Nick\Desktop>NVPerfCountCLI64.exe sample
size 46
NVPerfAPI initialization successful
Number of available counters: 90
Counter provided via argument: sample

Sampling all available counters
Press Ctrl+C to cancel

Counter 0: OGL frame time
Description: OGL time from Swap to Swap, all inclusive
Type: Raw
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100

Counter 1: OGL driver time waiting
Description: OGL time spent in driver code, waiting on anything
Type: Raw
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100
Value: 0  Cycle: 100

.....

Counter 89: GPU Bottleneck
Description: Index for GPU bottleneck
Type: Raw
Value: 0  Cycle: 0
Value: 0  Cycle: 0
Value: 0  Cycle: 0
Value: 0  Cycle: 0
Value: 0  Cycle: 0
Please try it and let me know your results.

- Nick
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 13:29 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Seven x64 RTM reinstalled two days ago.
NVPerfCountCLI without parameters works.
NVPerfCountCLI with sample as parameter works. LE: Nope, spoke too soon, same error.



NVPerfCountCLI with counter number as parameter sometimes works sometimes not.



P.S. I've renamed it to nv64.exe for easy launch from cmd window.

Last edited by burebista; 10-30-2009 at 13:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 13:54 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Wow. One step backwards I guess.

I had to change the selector from the counter name to the counter ID so I can query some counters that would not work before (vidmem usage, etc - these work on my GTX280 now BTW). I tested it on both Win7 32 and Win7 64 before posting.

Do you notice any type of pattern? You show counters 31 and 61 as failing. Is it just those so far and is it repeatable? Or do those occasionaly work fine as well? Also, is anything in the Windows Event Log?

I'm at work now and don't have the source here. But I'll take a closer look tonight.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 14:04 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Man, I'll try a reboot. I just installed Visual C++ redistributable and nvidia PerfKit 6.5 without reboot.
In Event log I have this



I'm not sure if it's your fault, maybe is something with my rig. To be honest it looks stable but who knows?

Quote:
Do you notice any type of pattern? You show counters 31 and 61 as failing. Is it just those so far and is it repeatable? Or do those occasionaly work fine as well?
No pattern, sometimes works for a counter sometime not. And for 61 for example it never works. For 59 just once.

Last edited by burebista; 10-30-2009 at 14:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 14:09 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Yes, that event would indicate it is the Nvidia API.....or me not calling it properly.

Did you install the Vista 64 SDK? Or the 32 bit apps on Vista 64 SDK?

Last edited by stangowner; 10-30-2009 at 14:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 14:30 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

I've installed this and this (x64 version).
I've rebooted and I can query 59 and 61 without problems (at least for 5 minutes) but with "sample" argument stops at the same 31 counter.
Running with 31 as parameter looks fine until now.

Last edited by burebista; 10-30-2009 at 14:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 14:36 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
Running with 31 as parameter looks fine until now.
What do you mean by that? #31 worked and now doesn't?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 14:39 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

I mean if I launch NVPerfCountCLI with "sample" as parameter works OK until 31 parameter like in screenshot above.
If i launch NVPerfCountCLI with 31 parameter works fine. Now it works with 59 and 61 too. Those give me that error before rebooting.

LE: Damn, nothing works now. Nor 59/61/31. They just works a couple of minutes ago and now if I launch them they give that error.
I guess is something from my rig.

LE2: Sorry, I give up. Now 59/61/31 works again. I'm stumped.

Last edited by burebista; 10-30-2009 at 14:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 14:42 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Thanks for clarification. Give me a bit to look into it.

In the meantime, do you want to test a few individually while running something to verify the values look reasonable?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 14:51 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

OK, don't waste anymore time on it for now. Thanks for testing it with me though

Let me revisit it tonight and see if I can reproduce the issue on my machine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 14:54 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Gpu_busy looks OK.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 15:18 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

I just ran a sample on my work PC (Vista 32 bit / Quadro FX 3450/4000 / 190.38) and it made it through all 211 counters. I'll try a few more times throughout the day.

EDIT: Burebista - would you mind doing one more thing? Can you download the first one (v0.9) and see if that crashes too?

Last edited by stangowner; 10-30-2009 at 15:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 16:02 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Update. Yesterday I've installed 195.39 and suddenly RivaTuner doesn't start so I've rolled back to 191.07. Maybe some leftovers remains on my PC so now I decided to go on the old fashioned way, uninstall from CP-safe mode-Driver Sweeper-reboot-install 191.07 from scratch-reboot.
Now I have a nvlddmkm error, 3d frequencies are not going to 2D when I'm in desktop but the good news is that I can run a full 90 counters query with "sample" as parameter. No more hiccups on 31.

I guess you're fine now I have to deal with my mess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 10-30-2009, 16:29 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
Update. Yesterday I've installed 195.39 and suddenly RivaTuner doesn't start so I've rolled back to 191.07. Maybe some leftovers remains on my PC so now I decided to go on the old fashioned way, uninstall from CP-safe mode-Driver Sweeper-reboot-install 191.07 from scratch-reboot.
Now I have a nvlddmkm error, 3d frequencies are not going to 2D when I'm in desktop but the good news is that I can run a full 90 counters query with "sample" as parameter. No more hiccups on 31.

I guess you're fine now I have to deal with my mess.
OMG - that is a mess.

If my arms were longer, I'd help you out . But if your PC is only 2 days old.....then maybe it should be reborn again?

Thanks for the update....and let me know if you have any more issues after you sort out your issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 10-30-2009, 19:54 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by stangowner View Post
But if your PC is only 2 days old.....then maybe it should be reborn again?
Yeah, it's a 15 minutes matter to install it on SSD but after that I have to spend at least an hour to install and set up all my programs and I don't want to do that again after only 2 days.
Anyway now everything looks OK, your program works with any counter or all of them so I'm ready for next step.
Thanks for your concern.

Last edited by burebista; 10-30-2009 at 19:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 11-02-2009, 04:47 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
Anyway now everything looks OK, your program works with any counter or all of them so I'm ready for next step.
Unfortunately, there is not much left for you to do at this point. I don't have a 64 bit plugin ready. So for now, maybe just use the CLI to test which counters you may like to use once you have a plugin. If you have access to a 32 bit system and want to test this plugin soon, let me know.

I have run some additional tests on 32 bit Win7 & WinXP. Here's some shots (click to enlarge).

Same 3DMark vantage test as before.....just showing more counters. Its interesting to see that the shader is reporting that it has to wait for textures quite a bit.....and most of the work is the pixel shader. The GPU test also only used about 292MB of video memory.



In this test, I disabled all post processing. You can see the framerate doubled, the CPU worked harder, the shader was still bound but textures did not work as hard, the shader was not waiting for the textures and it used a little less memory. However.....watching the screen was almost painful. For instance, in the Jane Nash test when the jetskis jump down and chase her in the boat.....there was no splashing and no waves. The water was just absolutely idle. You could still play the game....but it looses sooooo much.




In this test, I turned some settings up. The framerate was the same, cpu load was the same, in fact almost everything is the same....with the exception it took about 100 more MB of memory???




In all 3 passes, it seems the 6 feature tests all had about the same results. I think these tests target their respective areas and are not affected by the quality settings. The first CPU test also looks the same, but the second one hit the CPU harder with the GPU post processing features disabled.

Anyways.....the 32 bit version still needs a little more. 2 or 3 of the counters I tried to add would not work, although they work in the CLI app. So once I iron that out I'll start to work on the 64 bit IPC wrapper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 11-02-2009, 06:00 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Nick I don't have anything to say, I'm just
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
terrablader
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
Processor: 2600KSandyBridgeI7,4.5ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE UD3
Memory: 1600 16GIG
Soundcard: built in
PSU: mod->@V8700,@V8650,@V3600
Default 11-11-2009, 17:25 | posts: 224 | Location: ca

Has anyone had any luck with adding ATI performance counters in XP64? using the AMD developer toolkit? Does not seem like it comes with very much of anything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 11-11-2009, 21:19 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Hi terrablader,

I think I may have been premature stating the ATI PerfStudio would contribute to the Windows performance counters. I had read something about the .bat file to enable the DX10 performance counters. I assumed they were referring to the standard counters available in Windows, but I am now thinking is just in the server/client app for the toolkit.

I'll try to take a closer look into this soon and see if there is anything that can be done.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 11-12-2009, 04:50 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by stangowner View Post
Anyways.....the 32 bit version still needs a little more. 2 or 3 of the counters I tried to add would not work, although they work in the CLI app. So once I iron that out I'll start to work on the 64 bit IPC wrapper.
I found and corrected the problem with the other counters. I can now add all 76 counters on a XPx86/8800GTS/181.20 machine and all 73 counters on a 7x86/GTX280/191.07 machine.

I have edited the first post to make it a little more clear and easier to find the latest downloads moving forward. The 32 bit NVPerfCount plugin is now available there.

Concerning the 64 bit plugin - NVIDIA said they may have something shortly that would allow 32 bit apps to access these APIs on a 64 bit system. So I'm going to hold off developing an IPC pending that answer. I'll keep you updated.

- Nick
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Fyew-jit-tiv
Maha Guru
 
Fyew-jit-tiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 580 Hydro 3GB x2
Processor: i7-990x on liquid
Mainboard: Rampage 3 Black Edition
Memory: Corsair Vengence (24gb)
Soundcard: XFI Pro
PSU: Corsiar HX1000
Default 01-03-2010, 20:01 | posts: 828 | Location: Memories 4 Life

Can someone please tell me what program i use to edit the perfcount.cfg file?
Im wanting to add more harddrives (D.E.F) to rivatuner but this plugin is only configured to give stats on the c: drive. Thanks for help..

P.S Loving this plugin..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 01-03-2010, 21:06 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Any text editor will do. I use Notepad++, but Notepad and Wordpad do the trick.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Fyew-jit-tiv
Maha Guru
 
Fyew-jit-tiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 580 Hydro 3GB x2
Processor: i7-990x on liquid
Mainboard: Rampage 3 Black Edition
Memory: Corsair Vengence (24gb)
Soundcard: XFI Pro
PSU: Corsiar HX1000
Default 01-03-2010, 22:51 | posts: 828 | Location: Memories 4 Life

Quote:
Originally Posted by stangowner View Post
Any text editor will do. I use Notepad++, but Notepad and Wordpad do the trick.
Thanks for responce.

I want to setup a gadget which monitors packets (kb's) going over my network. Which counter should i use for identifying my Ext ip address and local ip address.? and for monitoring data being sent over the network.?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.