Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Berilas
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus ENGTX275/HTDI/896MD3
Processor: Intel E6600 2.4Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5LD2 SE
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Coolergiant EG485
Default 11-05-2009, 10:31 | posts: 10 | Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Hi Makalau,

First, excellent Post, very helpful
Second, can you please have a look on my PSU? In my opinion is a very good one, no problems so far in fluctuations or heat/noise. However, after installing my new video card 275GTX Iím looking for something new and more powerful.

So far, used it for 2 days, no sign of fatigue, no noise/heat increase, also I have unplugged any unnecessary consumer, so currently Iím running on open case, no fans, 2SATA HDDs, CPU, MB and DVD-RW, NIC+Sound removed as Iím using onboard ones. No overclock on CPU/RAM.
So far the video card is stable, no issues at all, and except World of Warcraft (which takes 5-10% more load then idle) Iím afraid to try something else due to my low PSU.

My question is: will I be able to use this PSU, as above, safely 1 more month until I will upgrade it on my current system?

Your advice would be much appreciated, thank you !

link to an old review on my old PSU, with proper pictures, as well for further info
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...t,1073-14.html

Last edited by Berilas; 11-05-2009 at 10:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 11-05-2009, 14:11 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well your loads when running games will be in the 300-350W range...heavy for the PSU but not extreme...should be just fine for as long as you wish
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Berilas
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus ENGTX275/HTDI/896MD3
Processor: Intel E6600 2.4Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5LD2 SE
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Coolergiant EG485
Default 11-05-2009, 14:27 | posts: 10 | Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Many thanks Makalu,

I was looking forward for your reply,

Cheers !


Update:

So far everything worked well with my old PSU but I was also careful about my consumption.

But time has come to upgrade as I mentioned before.
As a result, I now hold in my hands a brand new Thermaltake Thoughpower XT 750W 80 Plus Bronze, modular PSU for which I paid 176euros.
I consider this to be the best PSU I can buy at this moment taking into consideration my usual needs, and will be also more than enough for any future system upgrade as well.

It has a total of 720W maximum load on the 12v rail which means 60A, strong quality build, full package with cables, adapters and everything you can need, and above all comes with a 5y warranty which I hope I will never use

If anyone needs more info/details about this specific model I will be more than happy to provide.

Thanks again Makalu for the tips


Ciao!

Last edited by Berilas; 12-09-2009 at 14:33. Reason: Update
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
viren
Maha Guru
 
viren's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960
Processor: I5 4690K
Mainboard: Z87
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: 7.1 PCI-E
PSU: 800W
Default 01-06-2010, 17:13 | posts: 2,435 | Location: PUNE

Makalu, first off, thanks for your support. I am using Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 for about a month now and i have noticed a 5-8 deg cel drop in temp particularly for the gpu and the cpu as opposed to my prior Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850W Psu.

Though its a good news that the temps have dropped after switching to the new psu, why would my old psu give me higher temps?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 01-06-2010, 17:25 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Quote:
Originally Posted by virendra View Post
Makalu, first off, thanks for your support. I am using Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 for about a month now and i have noticed a 5-8 deg cel drop in temp particularly for the gpu and the cpu as opposed to my prior Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850W Psu.

Though its a good news that the temps have dropped after switching to the new psu, why would my old psu give me higher temps?
well the tolerance range for the 12V is plus or minus 5% which means two different PSU's could vary by 1.2V and still be within the guidelines...certainly that's the extreme but even say half a volt higher with the new PSU would make all of the fans spin several hundred rpm's faster depending on the fans so that's probably the main reason...I dunno...hard to say unless they were both measured with a multimeter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 01-11-2010, 13:30 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

just a bump since I finally got around to adding some more FAQ's...feel free to critique and suggest more FAQ's since I'm starting to run low on ideas...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
41LY45
Member Guru
 
41LY45's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 5770 Vapor-X
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE
Mainboard: MSI 790GX-G65
Memory: 4GB DDR3 OCZ Platinum
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy Value
PSU: Corsair TX 650W
Default 04-20-2010, 05:34 | posts: 96 | Location: Selangor, Malaysia

Hey Makalu, just a link i want to share:
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/410/1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 04-20-2010, 13:07 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah thanks...the number of sites doing quality reviews is slowly increasing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
Liranan
Maha Guru
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6870 1000/1200
Processor: 955BE @ 3.5 H70
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: Kingston 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: On-Board Real****
PSU: Antec 650W
Default 06-03-2010, 08:28 | posts: 2,466 | Location: Soviet China. Oh wait...

Lately my PSU's started ticking or making the sound of a spinning HD. It's a very odd sound and when it stops my PC BSOD's. I have had this Toughpower 700W for nearly four years now and it's served me well, so, I'm not surprised it's on its way out.

To replace this thing I've been looking around and the two easiest available brands are Antec and TT. The PSU's I've been looking at are the True Power series and the Touphpower series. I have the 105 version of the TP 700 and wouldn't mind getting another, but it's not cheap and the Antec 700 is quite a bit cheaper than the TT.

My problem is that I don't really know how many Watts I really need to get. According to the Extreme PSU calculater I only need a 436W one, but I intend to keep it for several years, like I have this one. What would be good for me to get, keeping in mind I might upgrade my video card when AMD release their 6000 series?

Edit: seems I can also get Coolermaster PSU's, but they're really expensive and beyond my price limit.

Last edited by Liranan; 06-03-2010 at 10:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-03-2010, 13:21 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well it's impossible to know how much power the HD6000's will draw thru the various connectors until they actually come out and can be tested. Obviously a faster chip will draw more but they'll also negate some or all of that with the new 28nm die process too.

Anyway, it's safe to assume that there won't be a gigantic jump from one generation to the next so I think 700 total watts will still do the trick for a single card setup. 12V wattage and connector distribution still a mystery but the Antec TP New is going to be a better choice then getting another Toughpower 105. Besides just the newer more efficient DC-DC design the Toughpower CWT-PSH design is getting a little outdated and the 105 in particular didn't have a very good rail distribution to accommodate future cards with two of the three PCIe connectors plus half of the 8-pin CPU connector all on one rail. Sees some problems with those (albeit it was all dual card systems) where people had to go to PCIe-molex adapters to get power off the underutilized drive rail.

The TP New has a better layout there with the PCIe connectors on rails by themselves. The new Toughpowers with single-rail design would be fine but as you've noticed the price on the whole Toughpower line hasn't dropped down to really compete with the competition.

Just a FYI I have a 700W Toughpower 106 (modular version) that's just a little over 4 years old now and running a system here and think it's nearing the end of it's life too. It also did some "hard time" on my full load tester/hotbox setup though too. But a week or so ago it shut off during a thunderstorm when strangely enough nothing else in the house shut off or even lights blinked. Then it would shut down about once a day every day. The outlet it was on at the time had a lot of other stuff on it and the voltages from it were a little low for my house so I moved it to just another outlet on the same circuit and it's working for now with no shut downs but then I notice it makes some weird little kinda squeaky noise that's hard to describe intermittently.

Anyway yeah go for the Antec between those...it's been out long enough to know that the new design doesn't have issues...the FAQ is getting a bit outdated too but damn I have too many pans in the fire as it is.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Liranan
Maha Guru
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6870 1000/1200
Processor: 955BE @ 3.5 H70
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: Kingston 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: On-Board Real****
PSU: Antec 650W
Default 06-03-2010, 14:52 | posts: 2,466 | Location: Soviet China. Oh wait...

At the time the TP's were excellent quality and highly advised but that was pre-8xxxx's and the 7900's/X1800's were king, so that's a very long time ago. I don't know much about PSU's but won't get another TT, as I said, they're pretty expensive for the performance they offer.

The two Antec ones I have in mind are the following:
TP-650
TP-750

My last question is, would the 750 be overkill? If not I'll get that, as I need to order the PSY tomorrow, my PC crashed and BSOD'd with the PC stressed earlier. I like to run my CPU and video card at 100% when I'm not gaming, as I donate my spare time to science through BOINC.

Last edited by Liranan; 06-03-2010 at 15:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-03-2010, 15:08 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

ah well four years ago it would have been the TruePower Trio that was popular...the ones you're looking at is a newer and completely different design dubbed TruePower New (yeah very catchy name they came up with) that has been out just slightly over one year now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Matt26LFC
Ancient Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 EKWB
Processor: Golden 4770K 4.7GHz 1.19v
Mainboard: Z97X SOC Force
Memory: TridentX 2400MHz C9
Soundcard: ALC1150 / HD449s
PSU: 850W V Series
Default 07-06-2010, 17:29 | posts: 2,992 | Location: UK

Hey all, im currently modding my Antec CP850, now the SATA power cable is much longer than i need, im thinking aboutshortening the length be cutting a piece out and then soldering the ends lenghts back on. Can anyone recommened a soldering Iron to use? Or if i need a certain type of solder for this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 07-06-2010, 18:10 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

anything in the 20-40W range will work fine...and no you don't need a special solder
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Matt26LFC
Ancient Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 EKWB
Processor: Golden 4770K 4.7GHz 1.19v
Mainboard: Z97X SOC Force
Memory: TridentX 2400MHz C9
Soundcard: ALC1150 / HD449s
PSU: 850W V Series
Default 07-06-2010, 18:16 | posts: 2,992 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makalu View Post
anything in the 20-40W range will work fine...and no you don't need a special solder
Cheers Makalu, so would something like this be ideal?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 07-06-2010, 19:55 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yep that'd be fine and a good price too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
Matt26LFC
Ancient Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 EKWB
Processor: Golden 4770K 4.7GHz 1.19v
Mainboard: Z97X SOC Force
Memory: TridentX 2400MHz C9
Soundcard: ALC1150 / HD449s
PSU: 850W V Series
Default 07-06-2010, 20:12 | posts: 2,992 | Location: UK

Great, just put the order in with Amazon.

Cheers for the help matey

Matt
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
Jetsam
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 480
Processor: QX9650 Yorkfield
Mainboard: ABIT IP35 Pro
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Rosewill RX950-D-B 950W
Default 07-12-2010, 22:24 | posts: 2 | Location: Washington, DC

Firstly, thanks Makalu for all this information. I didn't know much in this area other than the basics and this really helped me understand a bit more about it. I'm still a little lost on multi-rail 12V but after reading your information I have a much better picture of what is going on.

Secondly, I'm about to go through a system upgrade. Some of the components in my box are pretty behind compared to others (ahem, I'm talking to you RAM) and I'm curious about your thoughts on my current PSU. I got it a few years back (2008) I believe and had plans to keep it as long as possible but I notice no one is mentioning them, for better or for worse.

I was aiming for a higher end i7 proc, some triple channel ram, and the GTX 480. No aims to overclock now, but I wouldn't rule it completely out. What are your thoughts on my existing PSU (specs can be found here) in conjunction with my new system expectations?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 07-12-2010, 23:50 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well it's only about another 50-75W and still not coming anywhere close to overloading your PSU...should be fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel Core i5 4460
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7
Memory: DDR3 4 x 4gigs
Soundcard: Onboard sound blaster
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-21-2010, 01:17 | posts: 3,680 | Location: nystate

Makalu i have a very important question for you. What is a good psu (modular) for around $100. I have seen the hec brand which i have one now and it works ok just not up to snuff especially when i get my second 5850 next year. So what would you req'd for me? Thanks dudecat.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 07-21-2010, 04:22 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

oh maybe this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371021

except the 750W version is only $10 more:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371025

or cheaper if you do the blue fan and the rebate:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371022

pretty good buy here if you don't mind the design:

http://www.provantage.com/xfx-p1650xcah9~7PINE0KE.htm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel Core i5 4460
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7
Memory: DDR3 4 x 4gigs
Soundcard: Onboard sound blaster
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-21-2010, 11:42 | posts: 3,680 | Location: nystate

Thanks makalu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel Core i5 4460
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7
Memory: DDR3 4 x 4gigs
Soundcard: Onboard sound blaster
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 08-02-2010, 23:40 | posts: 3,680 | Location: nystate

Just wanted to let everyone know the 750w psu i have is a good psu. Nothing great but for the price it is nice psu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
skk233
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX geforce GTS 250
Processor: intel i5 760
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550 w
Default 09-14-2010, 13:17 | posts: 8

is zebtronics 500w platinum a good PSU ?? my dealer insisted me in buying it..
http://www.zebronics.net/m500w_plati...wersupply1.asp

my specs :

core i5 760
asus p7p55d
geforce gts 250
optical drives - 2
hard drives sata 7200 rpm - 2
ddr3 - 1333

may do overclocking of GTS250 ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 09-14-2010, 15:20 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well the only Zeebronics I've seen were Deer/L&C made which is one of the worst makers. They may have upgraded to another OEM or Solytech but I have no idea...would probably need to see inside one. The 12V/22A rating indicates that it's not really a 500W unit and probably only 300W judging from the claims and ratings on their other models.

Are you in India? This place has the FSP Saga II 500 priced just 60 rupees above the Zeebronics 500:

http://www.lynx-india.com/index.php?productID=9189

That's a decent build with 80+ efficiency, two PCIe connectors and the 12V combined rating I have not found but sure to be at least 30A judging from the previous model Saga 500's.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.