Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-05-2009, 00:09 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flakk View Post
Are these good psu's ? or should we avoid them too?
-Raptoxx http://www.raptoxx.com/
-Enlight http://www.enlightcorp.com/
-Point of View http://www.pointofview-online.com/ (these guys make good videocards but what about theyr psu's?)

well none of them actually make PSU's and they use a variety of OEM's for different models but none of them are so bad as to make the crap list no. You can see a few of the OEMs for some of those brands models in the list here:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=205763

I have some work to catch up with the changes at Raptoxx but they are hmm well nothing special but again nothing craptacular last time I looked. Enlight has been around for a long time and used many OEMs over the years...generally decent budget models...the Enlight Sniper 650 and 750 are an enthusiast grade model the same as the Antec EA650 but better trimmed out. POV's line up erm well the Black Diamond 500 is pretty crap yeah lol and the Topower ones are relabeled Tagan units with ok quality and POV slightly over rates the total watts by 50W IIRC.

Last edited by Makalu; 03-05-2009 at 00:14.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Hi
Old
  (#27)
crabman
Master Guru
 
crabman's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 250
Processor: I7 920@ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EX58 UD5 F10
Memory: OCZ GOLD 3X2GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: ESSENCE STX/RAZER MAKO
PSU: ANTEC CP 850W
Smile Hi - 03-26-2009, 21:16 | posts: 285 | Location: ENGLAND

Hi Makalu
I was told you was the person to ask if it was a power supply question.hope you can help.
I want to build a computer for my brother in law in the ukraine, i believe all the harware components are universal,no different to what is used in the uk & usa - my only concern is the power supply as they use 220volts in the ukraine.
i am hoping that they would use exactly the same psu as us, so the only difference i hope is the power lead,would you be be able to confirm what the actual setup is,want to be prepared, i plan to build it here,make sure it all works,dismantle it and then build it in the ukraine,
any help around the psu issue would be be greatly appreciated,would really hurt it i overlooked something really silly.
take care makalu.
kind regards
paul
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-26-2009, 23:17 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah the only difference is the type of wall socket plug...a decent PSU will have active PSU and will automatically work with 110 or 220 volt mains and the cheaper PSU's will have a little red switch on the back that needs to be set first.
   
Reply With Quote
thankyou
Old
  (#29)
crabman
Master Guru
 
crabman's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 250
Processor: I7 920@ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EX58 UD5 F10
Memory: OCZ GOLD 3X2GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: ESSENCE STX/RAZER MAKO
PSU: ANTEC CP 850W
Default thankyou - 03-26-2009, 23:41 | posts: 285 | Location: ENGLAND

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makalu View Post
yeah the only difference is the type of wall socket plug...a decent PSU will have active PSU and will automatically work with 110 or 220 volt mains and the cheaper PSU's will have a little red switch on the back that needs to be set first.

thats great news,many thanks for the info makalu.
regs
paul
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-26-2009, 23:47 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

your welcome...btw I meant to say active PFC will auto switch...not active PSU
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
dirtman
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: I7 920 clocked.
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI
Memory: 6 GB Gskill 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 03-29-2009, 05:31 | posts: 348 | Location: In a box room with a computer

Makalu

Heres a question that could help some but maybe not.

Is it true that going way over what you need to run your system bad? Ex: If your only need like 550 Watts PSU and you get a 850Watts or even 1000Watts is that bad?

I do not think it is but i have a co worker that says its bad and not needed,I told him that its always better to go higher then what is needed just to be on the safe side and he claims its not needed and just get around the amount of power you will need.

Hope you understand what im asking, Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 03-29-2009, 09:26 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

It's not bad at all. Your PSU gives what your computer needs. Nothing more, nothing less.
So, if your computer needs 300W a 550W PSU will deliver 300W same as a 1kW PSU.
The only difference is efficiency. A 550W PSU could be more efficient at 300W load than a 1kW PSU at 300W load.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-29-2009, 15:33 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah some PSU's have very poor efficiency below 10-20% load levels and most single GPU systems only use around 150W if they aren't running a program that loads the GPU or CPU so 1kw+ units aren't a good match for that but otherwise it's not bad...just pointless.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 05-01-2009, 02:15 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

What would you recommend for a HD4890 with my specs?

I'v got about 75/$110 to spend.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-01-2009, 13:12 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

oh boy...well after running crappy PSU's I think you should make up for it and get one of the best there is:

http://www.awd-it.com/scripts/prodVi...y+PSU+SG%2D650

or pick one of the usual suspects from the enthusiast class listed in the FAQ...a 550W will be fine for the system...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 05-02-2009, 01:37 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Thanks i decided to go for the Corsair HX620 which i will pick up next week.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-02-2009, 05:02 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

good choice...you'll be very happy with that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Flopster
Banned
 
Videocard: Club3D 8600GTS 256MB
Processor: Sempron 64 3000+
Mainboard: ECS= Electric Crap Swine
Memory: 2.5GB @533mhz
Soundcard: 2 cheap ass speakers
PSU: Chieftec 450W
Default 05-06-2009, 14:48 | posts: 3,027 | Location: Estonia

Hey!

I'll ask also then

I was thinking of putting together a new system for myself and I wanted a modular PSU.

At first I thought of taking Corsair TX750w psu, but then I decided that I want a modular, since you can do better cable management with it and here are my options...

FSP Everest 800w or Tagan Piperock 800w? Tagan is a bit more expensive, so I presume it is better

Or would the Corsair HX620 do for me?

The specs would be:
PhenomII X4 810(possibly OC)
2 sticks of Kingston HyperX 1066mhz @2.3volts(i think) 4gb altogether
Gigabyte 790GX chipset mobo
1 WD 640GB hard drive
1 dvd drive
and possibly HD4870X2
Cooler Master 690 case

Here's the link for the full story...
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=294718
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-06-2009, 23:35 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah the Tagan is a good unit...the FSP design flakes out when it tries to do 800W...the Corsair 620 would be fine yes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Flopster
Banned
 
Videocard: Club3D 8600GTS 256MB
Processor: Sempron 64 3000+
Mainboard: ECS= Electric Crap Swine
Memory: 2.5GB @533mhz
Soundcard: 2 cheap ass speakers
PSU: Chieftec 450W
Default 05-07-2009, 11:11 | posts: 3,027 | Location: Estonia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makalu View Post
yeah the Tagan is a good unit...the FSP design flakes out when it tries to do 800W...the Corsair 620 would be fine yes
Ok man, thanks for the reply!


I did hear about FSP's being crapper when they go over 800w range, just needed a conformation

Right now I think I'm gonna go for Corsair 620 and I got one more question though.

I would like to mess around with the nVidia's PhysX thingy, so I could add my 8600GTS and use it as a PhysX card... I'm not sure how exactly that standalone physx card thingy works

The mobo which I'm planning to get has 2 pcie slots, so if I'd insert 8600GTS in the second slot would it work and would the Corsair 620w PSU be enough to feed the pc? I'm not planning to put in the 8600GTS and use it 24/7, but only when I'd like to play a game with PhysX support

The specs would be:

PhenomII 720
Gigabyte MA790GP-UD4H mobo
4gb 1066mhz ram
1 HDD
1dvd drive
HD 4870X2 with 8600GTS as physx card

So would the psu be enough and is that physx even that necessary?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 05-07-2009, 11:19 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Yeh it seems that the corsair is well underratted in how much wattage it can pushout.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Flopster
Banned
 
Videocard: Club3D 8600GTS 256MB
Processor: Sempron 64 3000+
Mainboard: ECS= Electric Crap Swine
Memory: 2.5GB @533mhz
Soundcard: 2 cheap ass speakers
PSU: Chieftec 450W
Default 05-07-2009, 11:23 | posts: 3,027 | Location: Estonia

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylzer View Post
Yeh it seems that the corsair is well underratted in how much wattage it can pushout.
So, it would be enough? I mean as I said I'm not planning on using 8600GTS all the time only when I wanna play some game with PhysX, also is 8600GTS enough for PhysX?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 05-07-2009, 11:40 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by !!MAJOR FLOP!! View Post
So, it would be enough? I mean as I said I'm not planning on using 8600GTS all the time only when I wanna play some game with PhysX, also is 8600GTS enough for PhysX?
Yeh and Yes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Crow
Newbie
 
Crow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD 4850
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E7400
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L
Memory: OCZ HPC Reaper @DDR2 1200
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmax 500W Modular PSU
Default 05-29-2009, 03:35 | posts: 33 | Location: Jamaica

I like this thread. Explains EVERYTHING about PSUs pretty well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-29-2009, 04:13 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

it started out ok but modern GPU's don't draw near as much amps as he thinks (8800GTX draws ~11A) and they don't get all of their power from one rail in a multirail PSU either ...these should be listed as two of the myths since it's a common misinterpretation of the GPU retailer PSU recommendations
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Crow
Newbie
 
Crow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD 4850
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E7400
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L
Memory: OCZ HPC Reaper @DDR2 1200
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmax 500W Modular PSU
Default 05-29-2009, 04:24 | posts: 33 | Location: Jamaica

Well yeah, in regards to the 8800GTX think he was referring to Nvidia's listed requirements.
And, yeah that is a myth, since there really isn't any such thing as a true retail multi-rail PSU, just 1 rail split up into multiple circuits, but for everything else, it's pretty comprehensive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-29-2009, 04:40 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

erm well look at what he's saying

Quote:
A high end GPU is absolutely OUT of the question for this power supply, as those often need 30 amps to themselves to run any respectable game.
if I OC my 8800 Ultra it draws ~17A max gaming or graphics benchmarking...my entire system will just barely top 30A if I OC the CPU and GPU, run Orthos and Furmark and burn CD's and access hard drives all at once. My PSU measures amperage btw and I've verified it's relative accuracy with a clamp meter.

The thing about multirail that he has wrong isn't the fact that most PSU's have one 12V source...it's where he says look on your GPU box and see how many amps it needs and if that number is greater than any of the individual 12V rail OCP ratings then the PSU will fail.

That's just not true...the amperage number posted on the GPU boxes isn't how many amps the GPU draws...it's a recommended PSU 12V combined rating and for powering the complete system and includes a good deal of overhead. And also as I said even if you did need that many amps just to power the GPU it's not all coming off of one rail in a multi-rail PSU. It depends on how the individual PSU model is wired...how the motherboard is wired...and also possibly just which connectors the owner decides to use. GPU's get power through the slot and that could be coming from the 24-pin, the CPU connector and/or an additional molex power connector...could be three different rails right there. Then the external PCIe connectors aren't necessarily all on the same rail as any of the other connectors above nor are multiple PCIe connectors always on the same rail...it just varies alot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1070 AMP!
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 16gb HyperX 1866
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 05-29-2009, 05:16 | posts: 6,960

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow View Post
I like this thread. Explains EVERYTHING about PSUs pretty well.
I dont think the guy knows what he's talking about. He seems to have just read up on basic PSU info and derived his own conclusions without much experience:

Quote:
35 amps on the 12 volt rail. - That means this power supply can only support a baseline configuration. If it uses a Core 2 Duo processor, I doubt that the motherboard will be able to support more than two or three IDE/SATA drives at most. A high end GPU is absolutely OUT of the question for this power supply, as those often need 30 amps to themselves to run any respectable game. So if you put in any GPU more powerful an a ATI 1300 class, it would leave only 5 amps to be split up among the processor, your hard drives and other peripheral devices.
Bollocks. I've used a PSU with 33amp 12v rail with a C2D, 8800gts, 3 drives, several fans and no problem whatsoever.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-11-2009, 14:52 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

If that's supposed to be a vague attempt at making a point then about all I can say is none of them will work well with your laptop.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 06-11-2009, 14:55 | posts: 1,691 | Location: Romania

Makalu this is spam, just spam.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.