Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
suzukhawaii
Master Guru
 
suzukhawaii's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX570
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K (H20)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: DDR3 1600/8GB (2 x 4GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: SILVERSTONE ST75F-P 750W
Default 03-07-2007, 22:30 | posts: 264 | Location: Hawaii

Hi everyone I am very new to water cooling and really appreciate this write up. My problem is that I have an Intel E6300 1.8GHz overclocked to 3.4GHz and is very stable except on hot days here in Hawaii and I don't have the AC on I tend to over heat. I was wondering will one of these cooling kits:
http://www.petrastechshop.com/pecogpuba.html
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swh2edukit.html
cool better than the Zalman 9700 that I have know?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-07-2007, 22:35 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Oh yeah, they're both excellent kits and will be greatly superior to the 9700 if set up correctly (which wouldn't be hard). It's worth mentioning though that water is still limited by the ambient temperature so in extremely hot temperatures you'll still be getting hot temps (although still lower than the 9700)

btw do you want to watercool your cpu and gpu, or just cpu? Cos the petra kit has a danger den gpu block included, whilst the other doesn't. Other than that they are very similiar kits.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
suzukhawaii
Master Guru
 
suzukhawaii's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX570
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K (H20)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: DDR3 1600/8GB (2 x 4GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: SILVERSTONE ST75F-P 750W
Default 03-07-2007, 23:17 | posts: 264 | Location: Hawaii

I was leaning more toward the Petra for that very reason but I was nut sure if it came with a reservoir or all the hardware like I knew the Swiftech one did
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Patriote
Maha Guru
 
Patriote's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 580GTX DirectCUII
Processor: Intel 2500K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: Corsair Veangeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Ultra X3 1000W
Default 03-08-2007, 03:18 | posts: 952 | Location: New-Brunswick

Quote:
Originally Posted by suzukhawaii View Post
I was leaning more toward the Petra for that very reason but I was nut sure if it came with a reservoir or all the hardware like I knew the Swiftech one did
Yeah the petra's kit one comes with a T-line and a Filport. Which will require you to drill out a 1" hole on the top of your case. Personally i'd go with the Swiftech one. Thats what i got back a year or so when it was my first time trying watercooling.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
suzukhawaii
Master Guru
 
suzukhawaii's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX570
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K (H20)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: DDR3 1600/8GB (2 x 4GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: SILVERSTONE ST75F-P 750W
Default 03-08-2007, 22:48 | posts: 264 | Location: Hawaii

How upgradeable is the Swiftech kit? If I wanted to add a VGA cooler in the future would that be possible?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-08-2007, 22:57 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

absolutely.you can upgrade any of their components tbh.<---thats one of the reasons their kits are so highly recommended.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
G L
Don Juan
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
Processor: Core 2 E6600 @ 3.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5B-E
Memory: 2x 1 GB OCZ PC8500 @ 355 3-3-3-8
Soundcard: SB Live
PSU: Seasonic M12 700 watt
Default 03-09-2007, 16:06 | posts: 10,261 | Location: San Ramon, California

The only situations where a kit would truly not be upgrabable at all is if the tubing were not meant to be removable from the fittings as in the case of your basic all-in-one kits like the Coolermaster aquagate. There are other cases where you could but it probably wouldn't be a good idea, like if tubing/fittings are not the usual 3/8" or 1/2" ID, or if the system had a weak pump which wouldn't well handle the added resistance of extra blocks. But all swiftech kits should be fine on all three counts.

Though just keep in mind swapping parts with a watercooling loop can be close to an all-day affair. You must drain the loop, recut tubing, fill it up and get the air out, and then leak-test for a reasonable length of time before you'll be up and running again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-11-2007, 22:21 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Anyone else noticed some info going round about the Apogee gtx? Apparently it's similiar to the apogee gt, but with a wider gap between the barbs, and a kind of passive aluminium top to it. Here's a link anyways...

http://swiftech.com/products/ApogeeGTX.asp

It's said to offer 1C better cooling than the gt and is lining up as a direct competitor against the Fuzion.

lol, i also read a rumour of a thermochill pa120.4 and a pa140 series here here.

Seems that if the demand is there they will make them.

Last edited by Preachergeek; 03-11-2007 at 22:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-11-2007, 22:59 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Whilst i'm on the subject of posting h20 stuff i may up my levels of h20 in the coming weeks/months by adding another loop to cool my gpu and chipset. It would conscist of...

Pump - Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01 Top Combo

Radiator - Thermochill PA120.2 with 4xLate Yoon 120mm

GPU block - EK-FC8800 8800 GTX - Acetal / mcw60 with heatsinks

Northbridge block - Swiftech MCW30 Chipset cooler

Reservoir - Swiftech Micro Res

Whilst I'm at it i'd also upgrade my currant loop with a better, dual slot reservoir, and swap my apogee with a Dtek Fuzion or Apogee gtx depending on how that performs when it comes out.

Altogether this would cost me about 300, which is about 300 more than i have atm, so this would take place at the earliest in about 2months.

The main thing i'm worried about is that if i do this, i'm gonna have to vmod my 8800gtx which i don't really want to do, but would end up doing anyways. But anyways what do you guys think of this as a potential upgrade?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Patriote
Maha Guru
 
Patriote's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 580GTX DirectCUII
Processor: Intel 2500K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: Corsair Veangeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Ultra X3 1000W
Default 03-12-2007, 05:57 | posts: 952 | Location: New-Brunswick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preachergeek View Post
Anyone else noticed some info going round about the Apogee gtx? Apparently it's similiar to the apogee gt, but with a wider gap between the barbs, and a kind of passive aluminium top to it. Here's a link anyways...

http://swiftech.com/products/ApogeeGTX.asp

It's said to offer 1C better cooling than the gt and is lining up as a direct competitor against the Fuzion.

lol, i also read a rumour of a thermochill pa120.4 and a pa140 series here here.

Seems that if the demand is there they will make them.
Yeah thats what i also heard about the Apogee GTX. I like the fact that it comes with Metal barbs! lol Swiftech and Metal barbs ? First time i see this! Personally i'd go with an Apogee GTX instead of a Fuzion. But thats just me

As for the Rumors about the PA120.4 ... You know that Marci over at XS Forum is the guy behind the Thermochill ? I don't know exactly what his job consist of but... I know that he's behind them. Anyway, Pete included the answer to the e-mail he sent to Marci a week ago (about a PA120.4) in his post... But Marci asked him to edit\remove this part from his post... But i had time to read what it was about and Marci was saying that it wouldn't be a good idea and that no plans would be taking of. Something like that Normally i just pass by posts and don't take time to read them all...lol...I much more to do than read forums even i like to...lol

As for your next Project (second loop) I think it would be a good idea! And for sure that would be a killer loop. Only excellent parts! And i'd wait a little to see some reviews of the Apogee GTX to see if it's worth the exchange and if it's actually better than the Fuzion...

What loop are you currently using now ? What are your parts ? Pics!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-12-2007, 17:02 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Yeah thats what i also heard about the Apogee GTX. I like the fact that it comes with Metal barbs! lol Swiftech and Metal barbs ? First time i see this! Personally i'd go with an Apogee GTX instead of a Fuzion. But thats just me

As for the Rumors about the PA120.4 ... You know that Marci over at XS Forum is the guy behind the Thermochill ? I don't know exactly what his job consist of but... I know that he's behind them. Anyway, Pete included the answer to the e-mail he sent to Marci a week ago (about a PA120.4) in his post... But Marci asked him to edit\remove this part from his post... But i had time to read what it was about and Marci was saying that it wouldn't be a good idea and that no plans would be taking of. Something like that Normally i just pass by posts and don't take time to read them all...lol...I much more to do than read forums even i like to...lol

As for your next Project (second loop) I think it would be a good idea! And for sure that would be a killer loop. Only excellent parts! And i'd wait a little to see some reviews of the Apogee GTX to see if it's worth the exchange and if it's actually better than the Fuzion...

What loop are you currently using now ? What are your parts ? Pics!
At the moment i'm using a Laing D5, thermochill pa120.2 with 4x 120mm fan push/pull, Apogee block and an XPSC clear bay reservoir (POS literally). It's performing nicely (40C full load both cores at 3.7ghz) but i think the apogee block, as nice as it is, is the weak point of the loop (apart from the reservoir which doesnt really count), thus the reason i want to replace it with the fuzion/apogee gtx, which both also cool quad cores fantastically.

I would have wanted to get the ddc 18W with modded top and fuzion when i first bought my loop but couldn't find anywhere that had them so i went ahead with the d5 and apogee. The d5 is a great pump though, i mean it's silent at full power, and is easily strong enough to handle my currant loop at about 1/2 power. I wasn't actually gonna post pics yet, but since you asked for them i might as well put it on my little guru3d to do list.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Patriote
Maha Guru
 
Patriote's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 580GTX DirectCUII
Processor: Intel 2500K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: Corsair Veangeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Ultra X3 1000W
Default 03-12-2007, 18:40 | posts: 952 | Location: New-Brunswick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preachergeek View Post
At the moment i'm using a Laing D5, thermochill pa120.2 with 4x 120mm fan push/pull, Apogee block and an XPSC clear bay reservoir (POS literally). It's performing nicely (40C full load both cores at 3.7ghz) but i think the apogee block, as nice as it is, is the weak point of the loop (apart from the reservoir which doesnt really count), thus the reason i want to replace it with the fuzion/apogee gtx, which both also cool quad cores fantastically.

I would have wanted to get the ddc 18W with modded top and fuzion when i first bought my loop but couldn't find anywhere that had them so i went ahead with the d5 and apogee. The d5 is a great pump though, i mean it's silent at full power, and is easily strong enough to handle my currant loop at about 1/2 power. I wasn't actually gonna post pics yet, but since you asked for them i might as well put it on my little guru3d to do list.
Nice little set-up! 40C Full load ? Heck thats good! Im at something like 42 - 44C @ 3.6Ghz and 1.4750v ... I guess my room is a bit hotter lol

I was thinking of the same... The Apogee, as nice as it is, might also be the weak point of my loop... And Yes, the D5 is an awesome pump. Used one for a few months before switching to a lovely DDC-2 with Petra's top. (I killed the first one...Don't ask how... Stupid O-ring ...lol) Yeah! Pics!

Just wondering... But we basically have the same set-up ... Micron D9s and Core 2 Duo at 3.7Ghz. You have a 8800GTX and i Have a Crossfire Set-up. What 3Dmark score you get ?

Heres what i get with stock cards clock:

3DMark06 = 11310
3DMark05 = 20397

NOTE: Thats what i got with my CPU @ 3.6Ghz and RAM @ 900Mhz which is for my daily use.

Last edited by Patriote; 03-12-2007 at 18:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-12-2007, 20:18 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

I haven't attempted 3dmark05 yet but ive got 12440 in 3dmark06 with my cpu at 3.77ghz and ram at 1118mhz 4-4-4-5 timings. I might as well find the orb for you...

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=1336552

The gpu clocks are reported in that are wrong on that btw, they were running at around 655/950 if i remember correctly.

The differences in our cpu temperatures probably are as a result of ambients, i mean as when i test in hot temperatures like today (central heating in my house is crazy) i'm getting similiar temps.

edit: Oh and in answer to your question on a different thread yes my e6600 is a B stepping, and it reaches 3.6-3.7ghz no sweat at all but from upwards of 3.7ghz it needs very large voltage increases, needing 1.47V+ to be stable at 3.8ghz. I'd test higher but my board is failing at fsb 420-430mhz or higher.

Last edited by Preachergeek; 03-12-2007 at 21:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-19-2007, 06:37 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=21389
the gtx is now available.i may grab one for the hell of it.im getting sick of trying to get the air out of my storm lol.
edit:i gave in to my unhealthy addiction and ordered.

Last edited by maxfly; 03-19-2007 at 07:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Patriote
Maha Guru
 
Patriote's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 580GTX DirectCUII
Processor: Intel 2500K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: Corsair Veangeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Ultra X3 1000W
Default 03-19-2007, 10:25 | posts: 952 | Location: New-Brunswick

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfly View Post
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=21389
the gtx is now available.i may grab one for the hell of it.im getting sick of trying to get the air out of my storm lol.
edit:i gave in to my unhealthy addiction and ordered.
ROFL! And i ordered a FuZion!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-19-2007, 12:39 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

its funny that you mention that Patriote.that was my original plan until i saw the gtx in the wcing cpu section at ppc lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-19-2007, 17:13 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Cool, i look forward to seeing your results with the gtx Maxfly, it looks like one hell of good block. Having said that, and please correct me if i'm wrong on this, but i was under the impression it's not significantly better than the Fuzion and infact the performance between the two is almost identical?

I certainly wouldn't be disappointed about buying a fuzion, it's an amazing and beautiful block.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
N00bst3r
Master Guru
 
N00bst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX570 OC
Processor: i7 950 3.07GHZ
Mainboard: X58 Asus Sabertooth
Memory: 24GB Geil DDR3 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Xonar D2X Microlab SOLO7C
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-20-2007, 16:42 | posts: 791 | Location: Worcester UK

Hey all, ive been seriously thinking of upgrading my H20 setup as to be honest its performance isn't the best. Now before people ask its a Thermal take kit and yes i know performance is better with decent kits (danger den/swiftech/alphacool etc.) but at the time it looked nice, easy and most of all cheap. It can handle my cpu at OC'd speeds of about 2.5ghz before the temps start getting high at load (i reached 70 doing orthos at 2.9Ghz). So what i am asking from you is that you could use all of your collective H20 experience in pointing me in the right direction. Id say i have up to 200 at a pinch mabey +20 in required and mostly id want to cool the CPU as im not spening 130 on a waterblock for my GX2 but id like the power and cooling ability to cool an 8800GTx/Ultra in the future. Please try to remember that im in the UK so newegg is of no use. Thanks in advance!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
MikeMK
Ancient Guru
 
MikeMK's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX980 Ti SLI
Processor: Core i7 5960x
Mainboard: MSI X99S X-Power ac
Memory: 16gb Corsair Plat DDR4
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Enermax Revolution+ 1200w
Default 03-20-2007, 16:55 | posts: 11,045 | Location: Woking

Well, you should get something pretty decent for that money... just for cooling the CPU.

Rad - Depends how 'Futureproof' you want the loop to be. For CPU only, all you need is a Thermochill 120.2, however, as u mention you want the ability to cool an 8800 later, then it might be worth getting a 120.3 if you can fit it in your case. Its only about 5 more. Can get it from here:

http://store.over-clock.com/ThermoChill.html

CPU block - I would go for either the swiftech storm or the new apogee. I dont have links to an Apogee in the UK but the storm can be got from here:

http://store.over-clock.com/Swiftech_Blocks.html

The storm is more restrictive though, so would benifit from a more powerful pump. Also, cost probably comes into it too... the Storm is quite expensive. Im using it and im pretty happy with the results mind you. The Fusion is also a block worth considering

Pump - best pump you can get is probably the DDC Ultra with Petra top. Its expensive though, 75 in the UK. You could always get a normal DDC with petra top which knocks a tenner off the price, or a D5 is another alternative. You can get all of those here:

http://www.coolercases.co.uk/acatalog/Pump.html

In terms of res vs. T-line, thats really down to your preference so I wont put any suggestions other than the EK multi-res looks pretty nice imo if thats the way you decide.

So for the above:

57 for PA120.3 rad
55 for a storm CPU block
75 for DDC Ultra with Petra Top
Total: 187 leaving you a bit for tubing/hose clamps.

Also thats on the most expensive parts. you can save cash by grabing an alternative pump/120.2 rad/different CPU block as suggested above.

Hope that helps!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
N00bst3r
Master Guru
 
N00bst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX570 OC
Processor: i7 950 3.07GHZ
Mainboard: X58 Asus Sabertooth
Memory: 24GB Geil DDR3 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Xonar D2X Microlab SOLO7C
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-20-2007, 17:20 | posts: 791 | Location: Worcester UK

Thansk for the suggestions above. I think i have found the kit im after though:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=57&subcat=193

Its the Swiftech H20-220 Apex Ultra+ and includes the MCW60 VGA block a chipset block and the Apogee CPU block.

Its at the price range im after too.

Last edited by N00bst3r; 03-21-2007 at 10:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-23-2007, 15:36 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

little update on my 8800 and the ek block.on air and fan at 100% idles at 56-58c!with the ek block idles at 37-39c im likin the 20c drop in temps!on air the back of the card got really really hot even with a 120mm fan blowing across it.now its hardly warm to the touch.drawback is now my cpu idles roughly 4c higher
havent had time to get the apogee gtx in the loop yet but im hoping to this weekend.ive got a new proc on the way so i may wait until that gets here to do some comparison testing between the storm and the gtx.
another update.i redid my loop and decided to try out a dual pump configuration.got a sweet deal on a pair of ddc-2s(thought they were ddc-1s when i bought em,bonus!)
anyhow with both pumps running my temps didnt change a bit my theory was that with the added restriction of the ek block,the dual pumps would help my temps a little(was shooting for redundancy at first,being that my ddc-1 died on me).unfortunately thats not the case at all.basically ive found the only difference to be noise lol.with both pumps running my system is really loud.the water crashing thru the res is unbearably loud.not to mention its well nigh impossible to bleed the system with both pumps running.
anyhow thats my latest adventure.ill keep you guys updated with the gtx when i get it hooked up.
edit:proc showed up early!
still wont be able to do anything until tomorrow tho

Last edited by maxfly; 03-23-2007 at 19:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
G L
Don Juan
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
Processor: Core 2 E6600 @ 3.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5B-E
Memory: 2x 1 GB OCZ PC8500 @ 355 3-3-3-8
Soundcard: SB Live
PSU: Seasonic M12 700 watt
Default 03-24-2007, 19:38 | posts: 10,261 | Location: San Ramon, California

Yeah, unfortunately not a lot of good comprehensive reviews on the net so all you can do is try it out and see what happens. Though if your system is pretty high-end to begin with I'd say its probably best not to expect more than a degree or two from changing any one component. I'd imagine adding a second radiator might make it a better candidate for dual pumps, as I'd guess a radiator is at least as restrictive as any block, and presumbably would help deal with the GPU heat.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-26-2007, 04:11 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

so far so good.the gtx is definately outperforming the storm r2.not by alot but its more than i anticipated.heres what ive got so far with orthos small ffts.
xeon 3070 at 3.5 vcore 1.35 8hrs orthos.
storm idle 31c load 50c
apogee gtx idle 28c load 47c 8hrs orthos.havent had time to let the ceramique burn in yet.so i may get slightly better temps further on.
not too shabby.havent had time for much more than this but ill be pushing the 3070 hard tonight.havent found the max stable yet.might see what running both pumps does as well.
edit:ive found that running both pumps is a really bad idea.my temps are alot higher with the two running at the same time.im talking like 4c!the problem is that i cant completely rid the reservoir of air(cap is hollow so it inevitably traps air)and because of this the air gets pushed thru the system rather than staying in the res.if i run with one pump the air stays in the res and temps are normal.
also ive bumped the vcore up to 1.4275 to run stable at 3.6 and temps have risen quite dramatically with the vcore and frequency increase to 34c idle.load temps have strangely stayed about the same at 50-51c.im finding that c2ds are voltage hungry after 3.2-3.4.only needed 1.35 for 3.5 but need alot more for 8hrs orthos stable at 3.6.
the gtx is a very solid block so far and much easier to bleed than the storm was.

Last edited by maxfly; 03-27-2007 at 15:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
maxfly
Ancient Guru
 
maxfly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 TI
Processor: I7 6850K
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 2x16GB Ripjaws 3200 C14
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: EVGA 1300G2
Default 03-29-2007, 11:11 | posts: 6,346 | Location: Glass City

hit 4 gigs!!!!!yesssss finally!this cpu is a monster!i love it!idles at 36c at 4.04 woot!im a sissy tho i only ran superpi,i was too scared to run orthos lol.

hey Preacher is your ocz memcooler rattling?mine is making me crazy.i have to thump it like every 30-40 mins to make it stop grrrr.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Preachergeek
Maha Guru
 
Preachergeek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 8800gtx @ 655/950
Processor: e6600 @3.7ghz H20
Mainboard: Evga 680i
Memory: 2x1gb Crucial handpicked d9gmh
Soundcard: Xtreme gamer
PSU: 700W Seasonic m12-700
Default 03-29-2007, 19:33 | posts: 1,648 | Location: London, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfly View Post
hit 4 gigs!!!!!yesssss finally!this cpu is a monster!i love it!idles at 36c at 4.04 woot!im a sissy tho i only ran superpi,i was too scared to run orthos lol.

hey Preacher is your ocz memcooler rattling?mine is making me crazy.i have to thump it like every 30-40 mins to make it stop grrrr.
Not that i've noticed. I only run it at 80% fan speed though, maybe that's the reason? Do you have the thumbsrews tightened hard enough?

Btw i'm loving the loop and overclocks you're getting, maybe we'll see some 3dmark benches later?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.