Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
neoblasted
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG Nvidia 8800GTS 640m
Processor: PENTIUM D 945i 3.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS P5LD2
Memory: DDR2/SDRAM 2 x 1gb
Soundcard: REALTEK HIGH DEF 7.1
PSU: OCZ Game xstream 600w
Default 05-31-2007, 06:51 | posts: 12 | Location: CANADA

nice! thanks DUDE!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
joe_star
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVga 8800GTS 320MB Superclock
Processor: Athlon 64 X2 3600+ @2.8Ghz
Mainboard: Biostar T560 A2+
Memory: DDR2 2x1GB Team
Soundcard: Onboard realtek ALC888 audio
PSU: Silverstone Strider ST56F 560W
Default 05-31-2007, 15:46 | posts: 32

Just thought I'd mention that the silverstone strider st56f version 3 that I got claims to have a maximum 40Amps on the 12v rails. Anyone can verify this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 05-31-2007, 15:57 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

do you have a pic of the label on the psu? im pretty shure that you can trust silverstone to put the right amperages on their labels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-01-2007, 01:56 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah that's right...new version of the ST56F has 40A combined...thanks for the heads-up on that...I'll check the other Striders for version changes and update the list to reflect that,
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
SniperDaws
Banned
 
Videocard: XFX7600GTXXX Zalman Vf900
Processor: Opteron 146 @ 2.61 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Dual SATA2
Memory: 2gig Geil Value @ 223Mhz 2.60v
Soundcard: Audigy 2 + Altec Lansing MX-5021 2.
PSU: Hiper Type M 730w
Default 06-01-2007, 20:57 | posts: 2,565 | Location: UK

The 3.3/5v rail is responsible for the motherboard, memory, PCI cards, AGP card and so on. The 12v rail is responsible for the HDDs, DVD, CD-ROM, fans, etc.

is the above info correct? if so why is everyone hungry for more power on the 12volt rail?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-02-2007, 00:21 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah that's basically correct...except the motherboard and the AGP slot use some 12v and the drives use a bit of 5v too (drive motors use 12v and the rest of the circuits use 5v). It's the increase in CPU and GPU power consumption in recent years that required an increase in 12v capability...and also the transition away from using the 3.3v and 5v rails to help supply power to the CPU and GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
SniperDaws
Banned
 
Videocard: XFX7600GTXXX Zalman Vf900
Processor: Opteron 146 @ 2.61 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Dual SATA2
Memory: 2gig Geil Value @ 223Mhz 2.60v
Soundcard: Audigy 2 + Altec Lansing MX-5021 2.
PSU: Hiper Type M 730w
Default 06-05-2007, 20:49 | posts: 2,565 | Location: UK

so am i right in thinking that graphics cards that use extra power like a molex or 6pin are using power from the 12volt rail?


Oh and thanks for the reply
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 06-05-2007, 22:26 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

yes, the external power connectors on a graphics card only use +12v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-06-2007, 02:02 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

The 6800 Ultra AGP card uses about 4 amps of 5 volt current delivered thru the external molex connector but I'm not aware of any other cards that use anything except the 12 volt source. Most AGP cards with an external connector get all their power thru the slot in 2D mode and the extra 3D consumption is provided by the molex 12v. PCI-E connectors of course only supply 12 volt power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Bushi123
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-11-2007, 23:31 | posts: 3

I'm buying a new PC and need some help with the PSU.
I'll planning to get E6420, 2GB, BFG 8800GTS OC 320MB.
How about the Zalman ZM500-HP?
Will it be enough?
Anyone knows it's pros and cons? (I can get it cheap)
Found this spec pic here which might help:
http://www.xsreviews.co.uk/modules/F...arge/rails.jpg

Thanks all, btw - great thread!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-12-2007, 00:33 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah it'll be more than enough for the system...and thanks for the spec info on that one I'll add it now

It's the ZM600-HP's little brother so I would expect it to be a stable, quiet and cool PSU...not aware of any cons. I like the heatpipe assisted cooling.

Last edited by Makalu; 06-12-2007 at 00:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Bushi123
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-12-2007, 10:13 | posts: 3

Thanks, but unfortunatly I won't be able to get it cheap.
Can you tell me if the Enermax Noisetaker EG425P-VE will be enough for the system in my previous post?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Mulsiphix
Maha Guru
 
Mulsiphix's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeFrc 260 /Samsung 226BW
Processor: Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3.15GH
Mainboard: XFX nForce 750i
Memory: 3GB GeIL DDR2-800Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer / Logite
PSU: Thermaltak Toughpower 750
Default 06-12-2007, 10:20 | posts: 1,205 | Location: USA

I don't think that will be enough because of the GTS alone. That fact your OC the GTS I really doubt it will be powerful enough. I recommend a 500W to 550W for that setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Bushi123
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-12-2007, 13:11 | posts: 3

But the EG425P-VE has a 29A on the +12V.
Nvidia recommands a min 26A PSU, and on the BFG's box it says:
"A 425W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with
a combined 12V current rating of 28A or more*
* Minimum system power requirement based on a typical PC configured
with an Intel® Core™2 Extreme X6800 processor"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-12-2007, 13:16 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well the Noisetaker is a step (or two) down in quality from the Zalman but it has plenty of juice for your system. The E6420 isn't going to draw more than about 6 amps (@12v) and the OCed 8800GTS 320mb will peak at about 9A@12v. So that's only 15 amps and the unit is rated at 29 amps combined which leaves plenty of room for the other 12v consumers (drives and fans...figure roughly 2A for each drive and .25-.33A for each fan) and still some overhead for efficiency and longevity.

The Enermax Liberty 400's are usually priced about the same as the Noisetaker 420 and is a better and newer design with stabler voltages and a flatter efficiency curve than the Noisetaker series though. And a slightly stronger 12v output.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Mulsiphix
Maha Guru
 
Mulsiphix's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeFrc 260 /Samsung 226BW
Processor: Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3.15GH
Mainboard: XFX nForce 750i
Memory: 3GB GeIL DDR2-800Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer / Logite
PSU: Thermaltak Toughpower 750
Default 06-12-2007, 15:25 | posts: 1,205 | Location: USA

My apologies. I thought the GTS required at least 425W to power up. With everything else that needs power I figured a 500W would be about right. I need to remember its more about the amps than anything else when considering a PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
Atrokkus
Newbie
 
Videocard: HIS ATI Radeon x1950 Pro 512MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Thoroughbred
Mainboard: Asus A7V8X-X
Memory: DDR1 512 MB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: HuntKey LW-6400H 400W
Default 06-29-2007, 11:03 | posts: 19 | Location: Pavlodar, Kazakhstan

Please add this one to the rating: Huntkey LW-6400H
Can't figure out how to calculate the 12v amperage on this one...

I guess it should be about 30A, no?

And this one as well

Last edited by Atrokkus; 06-29-2007 at 11:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-29-2007, 13:56 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well I could add the model names but the combined 12v rating would just be NG for Not Given like most of the other Coba/Huntkey units since I can't find the info either. Look on the label and see if it at least gives a combined 3.3v+5v rating and then we can make some assumptions about the lowest amount that the 12v rails must be capable of. Honestly, I would guess that the max combined is somewhere in the neighborhood of 18-20 amps for both of those units.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Atrokkus
Newbie
 
Videocard: HIS ATI Radeon x1950 Pro 512MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Thoroughbred
Mainboard: Asus A7V8X-X
Memory: DDR1 512 MB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: HuntKey LW-6400H 400W
Default 06-29-2007, 14:46 | posts: 19 | Location: Pavlodar, Kazakhstan

Ok, here's the exact copy of what is provided on the label (of the 400W one):

DC Output: +5V=35A (RED), +12V=15A (YELLOW), +3.3V=26A (ORANGE), PG (GRAY)
-5V=0.5A (WHITE), -12V=0.8A (BLUE), +5Vsb=2.0A (PURPLE)
RATING OUTPUT WATTS 400W, +5V, +3.3V:240W,+5V +3.3V&+12V:380W

Isn't the total output 380W then? which makes it a 31A PSU, right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-29-2007, 15:02 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

well the 400W LW-6400 on their website is a dual rail version 2.0 unit and even though your unit might have the same model number it's an older version like 1.1 or so. Yours is single 12v rail and has the old -5v rail which was phased out some years ago. The maximum 12v rating of your unit is just as it says there...15 amps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Atrokkus
Newbie
 
Videocard: HIS ATI Radeon x1950 Pro 512MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Thoroughbred
Mainboard: Asus A7V8X-X
Memory: DDR1 512 MB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: HuntKey LW-6400H 400W
Default 06-29-2007, 15:06 | posts: 19 | Location: Pavlodar, Kazakhstan

Could you explain please, how did you come to that conclusion? So you mean it has only one 12v Amperage value?.. Weird.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 06-29-2007, 15:20 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

That's right...it has only one 12V rail and the label says it will do 15A. See the reason that this thread exists is because of the confusion that came about when they started making power supplies with multiple 12V rails and most of the labels only gave the amperage at which the unit would shut down if it was exceeded on any individual rail (such as the 14A and 15A listed for the dual rail version of your unit). The problem is that the power supply can't do 14A and 15A on both rails at the same time...it can only do one or the other and the actual combined output capability is less then the value you get by adding 14 and 15 together (29A).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 1080ti h20 w/XOC Bios
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Dual Psu-1200W/760W Srail
Default 07-04-2007, 17:36 | posts: 2,483

Ok I am looking at the Athenatech XF Xtreme Force PS on new egg. On the back there is 3 selections: split, +12v rail,and combined. If I am going to use the hd2900xt 1gb, set to combined right? I never saw this on a psu before. I know on my ocz psu 600w you can fine tune the +12v. but this one is quite different. is this something new for psu's?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 07-04-2007, 18:53 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Topower/ePower came out with that quite awhile ago and other Topower made units like Tagan or Mushkin have that. The switch doesn't appear to really do much because if it works in split-rail mode the over current protection level on the individual rails is very high according to load tests...much higher than the 18-20A "norm". So it's not succeptable to overloading a rail in either mode. Your 2900XT consumes about 160 watts. And it probably gets around 70-75 of those watts thru the slot and the rest is divided between two external PCI connectors drawing 7-8 amps between the two of them...which is still less than half of the 18-20 amp current limit "standard" in multi-rail units. So even if both of the connectors are on one rail it'll be fine and if they are on different rails there's ample room for hard drives or whatever else is connected to that rail in a typical system configuration. So I'd think it doesn't matter where the switch is really. Which model of Athena Power are you interested in getting?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 1080ti h20 w/XOC Bios
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2678 V3@2.9+
Mainboard: Asus d10pe-d8 ws
Memory: 64GB Samsung 2133mhz ecc
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Dual Psu-1200W/760W Srail
Default 07-04-2007, 19:02 | posts: 2,483

I just want a good suggestion on which psu I should be using on a single hd2900xt? Something that I can easily overclock with and rest of my sytem with 0 problems. I was looking at the 1000w Enermax galaxy psu but that could be overkill for my system as I am only going for 1 card not crossfire. Any suggestions on which psu I should be using with the hd2900xt 1gb would be great.

Update: I am still looking at this enermax 1000w galaxy. as I dont want to upgrade my psu when the new g92 nvidia supposedly comes out before christmas. I just dont want to upgrade my psu for quite some time. You think this powersupply will do me good for 1 card solution for now?

This one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194019

UPDATE: I just ordered the psu from the above link. I should be getting it this friday along with the hd2900xt 1gb. Hope everything works well this time.

Last edited by A M D BugBear; 07-04-2007 at 20:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.