Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-12-2007, 13:17 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

My PSU only has 2xPCIe Connectors. But there's molex to PCIe adaptors too. I don't really bother about SLI, as long as my PSU is capable of running 1 high end card, I'm happy. I know it can run 8800gtx and it will run the new R600 cards too, but I might skip those for now. Or maybe just get a cheap 8800gtx in the summer. Hope my PSU will be good enough for the generation after this, since I love it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 02-12-2007, 13:31 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copey View Post
the 730w Type R's have 4 6 pin connecotrs do they not ??

6 x 4pin Molex
1 x 4pin Motherboard
4 x 6pin PCI-E Power
1 x 8pin CPU
2 x FDD Power
4 x SATA Power

this is what they supposedly have
Ah well they probably do now then. The specs I checked were probably either outdated or for one of the older 2-connector ones still in stock. I think Hiper will still need to send one of the new 4-connector to Nvidia and maybe have to pay again for the certification but I'm not sure how that works. A lot of units that used to have just 2 connectors came out with four shortly after the release of the 8800GTX.

Looking at the power ratings for that unit I would say it might pass Nvidias pretty grueling tests or it might not...kinda borderline I think.

Also, I just heard back from the BeQuiet rep and I've changed the rating.

Quote:
The responsible pm for power supplies just answered your question about the confusion caused by the label of the Dark-Power Pro BQT P6Pro-850W.

Indeed there is a mistake on this label. It should say 58 amps on the 12 volt rail and a combined power of 696 watt.

Thank you for the information.

We will immediately correct the fault.

Please feel free to contact me for further information.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-12-2007, 13:40 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

So the DarkPower 850w is only slightly more powerful than the 700w StraightPower.

58A 696w --> 850w DarkPower
54A 672w --> 700w StraightPower

Still, nice to hear that be quiet! actually cares about their customers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 02-12-2007, 13:45 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah Eclap, that's right. Generally speaking the Straightpowers all have more 12v amperage then a comparable total wattage Darkpower. And sales reps that actually respond is a major plus in my book too...otherwise I'd be forced to consider the unit an over-rated 800ish watt unit and that's a demerit.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
W@w@Y
Ancient Guru
 
W@w@Y's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 Advanced
Processor: 5820k@stock
Mainboard: Asus X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: 16Gb Gskill DDR4 2400
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Seasonic X Series 750W
Default 02-21-2007, 14:21 | posts: 8,016 | Location: Singapore

which of the ff in the HEC list is mine?

Quote:
HEC/Compucase HEC-480TD-PTX 32amps
HEC/Compucase HEC-480TW-ATX 3amps
HEC/Compucase WIN 480UB NG
the specs on the box say 17a and 15a though

and on a sidenote, will this PSU be okay if i upgraded to a C2D e6300 Oced to around 2.5Ghz?

edit, i found a link/review of my PSU (except mine is a PB and the only diff i know of is the blue LED that the UB have)

heres the review:

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/412/4

and the stats:



so whats the "real" 12v amperage for this one? and yeah that C2D question i asked earlier too

Last edited by W@w@Y; 02-21-2007 at 14:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 02-21-2007, 15:17 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

oh man I had to be completely asleep at the wheel when I did that one there...there isn't even a 480TW-ATX unit and it's certainly not only 3 amps...oh wait Bigfoot did that! honest (naw I'm kidding that was all me). It should read 460TW-ATX and 31amps and I'll fix it in a bit.

Anyway, yeah I think the Acepower you have is the same as the 480UB and the combined 12v amperage isn't given by the maker. However, here's a good review of the unit using a load tester and he managed to get about 35amps off the 12v combined. Obviously the engineers have left themselves some room in the individual current protection cut-off as they usually do due to individual variances between the otherwise identical components used. I wouldn't hesitate to consider it 32a (17+15) and I may consider going out on a bit of a limb and edit that into the sticky too. Anyway, load regulation of the unit is excellent and the C2D, despite being faster, actually requires less power than your current AMD due to the design improvements so I'd say if you're good now then you'll be good later.

review link: http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/r...r_480UB_7.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
bigpipe
Watson Guru
 
bigpipe's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970 GTX
Processor: Intel 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ
Mainboard: ASROCK P67 Pro 3
Memory: 16 GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: HD Audio
PSU: Antec 750 modular
Default 02-21-2007, 15:29 | posts: 3,688 | Location: Atlanta

Hey here are the HEC I did

HEC/COMPUCASE

HEC-350AR-PTF 18amp
HEC-400AR-PTF 18amp
HEC-350TD-PTX 25amp
HEC-385WA-PTS 18amp
HEC-400WA-PTZ 29amp
HEC-420TW-ATX 31amp
HEC-420TD-PTX 31amp
HEC-450LR-AT 17amp
HEC-460DRAX 29.5amp HA .5!
HEC-480TD-PTX 32amp
HEC-480TW-ATX 33amp
HEC-550AB-ATF 35amp
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
W@w@Y
Ancient Guru
 
W@w@Y's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 Advanced
Processor: 5820k@stock
Mainboard: Asus X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: 16Gb Gskill DDR4 2400
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Seasonic X Series 750W
Default 02-21-2007, 16:10 | posts: 8,016 | Location: Singapore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makalu View Post
oh man I had to be completely asleep at the wheel when I did that one there...there isn't even a 480TW-ATX unit and it's certainly not only 3 amps...oh wait Bigfoot did that! honest (naw I'm kidding that was all me). It should read 460TW-ATX and 31amps and I'll fix it in a bit.

Anyway, yeah I think the Acepower you have is the same as the 480UB and the combined 12v amperage isn't given by the maker. However, here's a good review of the unit using a load tester and he managed to get about 35amps off the 12v combined. Obviously the engineers have left themselves some room in the individual current protection cut-off as they usually do due to individual variances between the otherwise identical components used. I wouldn't hesitate to consider it 32a (17+15) and I may consider going out on a bit of a limb and edit that into the sticky too. Anyway, load regulation of the unit is excellent and the C2D, despite being faster, actually requires less power than your current AMD due to the design improvements so I'd say if you're good now then you'll be good later.

review link: http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/r...r_480UB_7.html
so my current setup consumes more power than my planned upgrade huh? WOW! thats it, im going to sell my CPU/Mobo/RAM on the local online buy&sell now.. thanks

edit,

wish me luck on being able to sell this thing at a good price..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 02-22-2007, 01:55 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah Waway...a little less to power the e6300 than the 3000+ Venice...and good luck with your trading

Bigpipe (hey I at least got your name right so far so maybe we can get the rest of this right eventually too). I do have records here of who submitted what but didn't bother to check it since I went to the HEC site first and remembered spending a fair amount of time there so I just figured it was all me. Anyway, I obviously didn't get it right when I did my double checking and editing for the list...and I didn't notice a 480TW-ATX model there at all this morning but I didn't really spend much time looking it over...just saw the 460TW-ATX and assumed that was what it was supposed to be. Anyway, the 460 at 31a and 480 at 33a makes sense so I'll stick that back on the list now...and hopefully everything is in order now...thanks again for everything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
darrenj
Maha Guru
 
darrenj's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX1080 JS
Processor: i7 6700k@4.3 load
Mainboard: MSI Mortar Z170M
Memory: Corsair LPX DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Realtek?
PSU: CM V850 W
Default 03-01-2007, 07:50 | posts: 1,545 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

I am wondering of my old Levicom can hold mustard and power a 8800gts 640mb
plus an overclocked E6400 (3.2ghz) ?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 03-01-2007, 08:21 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

i wouldnt try it, as that psu only has 20A total on +12v. also, im not so sure about levicom psu's since i noticed that my old levicom was a crap youngyear, still based on an old AT design.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-01-2007, 13:30 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Naw I wouldn't try it either...I'd shoot for the Nvidia 8800GTS single card recommendations of a minimum 400w unit with 28 amps of 12v current.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
darrenj
Maha Guru
 
darrenj's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX1080 JS
Processor: i7 6700k@4.3 load
Mainboard: MSI Mortar Z170M
Memory: Corsair LPX DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Realtek?
PSU: CM V850 W
Default 03-01-2007, 21:40 | posts: 1,545 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Ok can someone point int he right direction of a good quality PSU with atleast one 12v rail capable of 28+amps is that possible?

Is it possible to get a list.
I will not be running SLI 8800 for a long time to come!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
darrenj
Maha Guru
 
darrenj's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX1080 JS
Processor: i7 6700k@4.3 load
Mainboard: MSI Mortar Z170M
Memory: Corsair LPX DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Realtek?
PSU: CM V850 W
Default 03-01-2007, 21:41 | posts: 1,545 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Ok can someone point me in the direction of a good quality PSU with at least one 12v rail capable of 28+amps. Is that possible?

Is it possible to get a list.
I will not be running SLI 8800 for a long time to come! That I know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-01-2007, 23:54 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Well the 28 amp recommendation is for the combined rating for all of the 12v rails, not for a single rail. What's your budget range and where are you located?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
RavenY2K3
Member Guru
 
RavenY2K3's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1060
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: P8Z77-V LX
Memory: 8GB 1600 Corsair Vengance
Soundcard: Creative X-FI | Creative
PSU: 600w
Default 03-10-2007, 23:37 | posts: 62 | Location: UK.

Hi, ive got a PSU with the following specs

570 Watt power supply unit
12V1 = 16a
12V2 = 16a

4-pin 12V connector
6x peripheral, 2x floppy drive, 2x S-ATA connectors
ATX12V 2.0
Including PCI Express 6-pin VGA connector for powering your power consuming PCI card(s) (meets high-end PCI exp.150W req.)
Passive Power Factor Correction (PFC)

Following the theory of 570W divided by 12 it should be a total of 47A being kicked out by this PSU. Would it be better for me to use the dedicated PCI-e power cable for my 8800 GTS or will it be better using the PCI-e power splitter, connecting a molex connection from both rails to the GTS?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-11-2007, 01:47 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

It will be best to just use the dedicated PCI-E connector.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 03-11-2007, 09:07 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenY2K3 View Post
Hi, ive got a PSU with the following specs

570 Watt power supply unit
12V1 = 16a
12V2 = 16a

4-pin 12V connector
6x peripheral, 2x floppy drive, 2x S-ATA connectors
ATX12V 2.0
Including PCI Express 6-pin VGA connector for powering your power consuming PCI card(s) (meets high-end PCI exp.150W req.)
Passive Power Factor Correction (PFC)

Following the theory of 570W divided by 12 it should be a total of 47A being kicked out by this PSU.
thats not really true. the 570W is for all the voltage rails together, not just +12v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
savior
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-11-2007, 16:59 | posts: 21

Hi, can anyone tell me how much is my combined 12v rating please?

My PSU is LC Power 550W (LC 6550G Version 2.0)

If you can't tell exactly, will it be at least 20? I need to install an Asus 8800 GTS 640MB.

These are the details of LC 6550GP Ver 2.0 (for LC6550GP there are no details on their website http://www.lc-power.com/ but they should be very close):

550W, 140 mm
- mehr als 85% Effizienz
3,3V: 35A
5V: 40A
12V1: 16A
12V2: 18A

Thanks a lot!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 03-11-2007, 17:13 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

im not absolutely sure, but i have seen a pic of a psu with the same model number(lc6550G) with a single rail of 24A. i guess it will be the same for yours.

here
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 03-11-2007, 18:02 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

yeah I think the Silent Giant LC6550G is the same basic unit as the Super Silent LC6550 with a bigger fan and different cabling and that one is rated at 24A.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Lain
Master Guru
 
Lain's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
Processor: I7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55A-UD6
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtec on board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 1 kW
Default 05-03-2007, 17:05 | posts: 660 | Location: The Netherlands

Hey everyone. I have a problem, and suspect my PSU for creating it.

running a Alanvital greenerger here, and I'm wondering if it's stable. I get a lot of crashes when browsing video on the web or running 3D applications.

Everything seems normal until the monitor suddenly flicks off, (signal out of range) a loud pop comes from my headphones. after a while the system reboots itself.

I'm running everest ultimate to monitor my system. I don't think is shows anything unusual, but maybe one of you guys knows more of this than I do.
system log (3Dmark started at 17:15:00, crash shortly after)
<<my system.

Thanks.

The PSU says:

VDC +5V +12V1 +12V2 +3.3V -12V -5V +5VSB
min 0.5A 0.5A 0.5A 0A 0A 0A 0A
max 33A 15A 15A 30A 0.8A 0.5A 2.0A

+5V +3.3 combined power 210W
Total output power 400W

I'm not sure how to read that.

Last edited by Lain; 05-03-2007 at 17:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Makalu
Ancient Guru
 
Makalu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Intel C2D E8500
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: G.Skill 2x1gb PC28500
Soundcard: Audigy LS/ Logitech THX 5
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 550W
Default 05-04-2007, 02:10 | posts: 4,197 | Location: Eugene, Oregon

Software methods of measuring voltage (like Everest) aren't particularly accurate at reporting voltage levels but they do sometimes tend to show fairly accurate voltage level changes. Like it may say that the 12 volt output is 11.7 volts when a multimeter will say it's actually 12.1 volts. But if the software says that the 12 volt rail is bouncing around between 11.7 and 11.9 volts then the multimeter will usually also show readings between 12.1 and 12.3 volts.

So with that in mind I would say there's a good chance that your power supply isn't very stable no. Your Everest system log report there shows a minimum reading on the 12 volt rail and a maximum reading just one second later so I'm assuming that it bounces around quite a bit between those minimum and maximum levels all of the time.

What were you doing with the computer when you recorded this log? If it was under load then I'd say your power supply is not doing very good and if it was at idle or just surfing then I'd say your power supply is doing very poorly. Your 3.3v and 5v rails are showing pretty significant changes too. But I would still try and get a multimeter and see what it says or try to borrow a known to be good unit from someone and see if the crashing goes away.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
W@w@Y
Ancient Guru
 
W@w@Y's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 Advanced
Processor: 5820k@stock
Mainboard: Asus X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: 16Gb Gskill DDR4 2400
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Seasonic X Series 750W
Default 05-04-2007, 06:55 | posts: 8,016 | Location: Singapore

uhmm id like to ask, how much power does a headphone, a PS/2 Keyboard and a PS/2 mouse draw? and where do they get the power from (given theyre all attached to the mobo for power)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Lain
Master Guru
 
Lain's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
Processor: I7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55A-UD6
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtec on board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 1 kW
Default 05-04-2007, 07:33 | posts: 660 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makalu View Post
Software methods of measuring voltage (like Everest) aren't particularly accurate at reporting voltage levels but they do sometimes tend to show fairly accurate voltage level changes. Like it may say that the 12 volt output is 11.7 volts when a multimeter will say it's actually 12.1 volts. But if the software says that the 12 volt rail is bouncing around between 11.7 and 11.9 volts then the multimeter will usually also show readings between 12.1 and 12.3 volts.

So with that in mind I would say there's a good chance that your power supply isn't very stable no. Your Everest system log report there shows a minimum reading on the 12 volt rail and a maximum reading just one second later so I'm assuming that it bounces around quite a bit between those minimum and maximum levels all of the time.

What were you doing with the computer when you recorded this log? If it was under load then I'd say your power supply is not doing very good and if it was at idle or just surfing then I'd say your power supply is doing very poorly. Your 3.3v and 5v rails are showing pretty significant changes too. But I would still try and get a multimeter and see what it says or try to borrow a known to be good unit from someone and see if the crashing goes away.
I wasn’t really doing anything up to 17:15:00, that's when I started 3DMark, and the system crashed. (3DMark isn't a guarantee for crashing). I'll get the multimeter out, and see what it says.

I don't know how much sound card and the headphones draw (sennheiser HD210 PRO) but soundcard has no heathsink to speak of and the system also crashes without them, so it shouldn't be too much. an a keyboard and mouse... 5W total? USB ports can't deliver much power

luckily I've got a 45 month warrantee on the greenerger
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.