Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 11-22-2006, 03:48 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Yup pics Sirlink pics....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 11-22-2006, 04:25 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by orenda635 View Post
Pics! Pics!
Get a picture of it running boot camp so I can link it to the FAQ section.
Ok... Loading some games now... Will do as soon as it finishes...

I use this as an alternate boot camp loader:
http://refit.sourceforge.net/

you may want to add that to the faq as well... Gives you alot more control over the boot settings...

Edit: Ohh... Also discoverd that the apple keyboard support doesn't work in XP with thier bluetooth keyboard. LOL says I don't have an apple keyboard connected (duhh it's bluetooth) lol... Ohh well

Last edited by SirLink; 11-22-2006 at 04:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 11-22-2006, 04:39 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Ok here you guys go...


In it's temporary home!


Look ma! No wires!!



Let me know what shots you'd like orenda. You want one of the os loader? I also have paralles I am going to setup tommorow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
orenda635
Ancient Guru
 
orenda635's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 7600GS 256mb / Radeon 9550 32mb
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800 / PPC G4 1.33ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 / iBook
Memory: 1024mb PC2700 / 768mb PC2700
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic / Integrated
PSU: CM RealPower 450w / Battery
Default 11-22-2006, 14:36 | posts: 6,865 | Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada

Try and get a shot of it running the XP desktop. Take it during the day if you can because those shots are kind of dark.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Mostafa Hijazi
Master Guru
 
Mostafa Hijazi's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 980 Ti SC+ SLI
Processor: Corei7 5960-X
Mainboard: MSI X99S X-Power
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws 4 16 GB
Soundcard: Schiit DAC-AMP Combo
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1200W
Default 12-06-2006, 14:17 | posts: 700 | Location: Qatar

guys i've been through hell :-( . you all know FITCH design. they have a branch here in qatar and as you know they all use macs G5s,imacs, etc. they received the new cs2 creative suite, i installed it on nearly all the computers but 2 of them are having a problem with illustrator CS2. somwhow it keeps on crashing while using something called "path finder" it think it's a tool. i tried every possible solution but with no good. i noticed that this only happens with the new G5s with intel dual-core xeon processors. i did try the same crashing file on a normal G5 and nothing happened. please if anybody's been through this , i beg you help me out here. thanks alot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 12-06-2006, 14:45 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by orenda635 View Post
Try and get a shot of it running the XP desktop. Take it during the day if you can because those shots are kind of dark.
sure can do! sorry that i didn't see this till now...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 12-15-2006, 20:51 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Just noticed I forgot to get some pics up of boot camp...

I will work on that this weekend...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 12-16-2006, 15:55 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Here are some pics of XP running under Parallels...





I am running the latest beta. Which allows you to run XP in Coherence mode... Also boots off the bootcamp partition instead of a virtual disc...

Last edited by SirLink; 12-16-2006 at 16:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 12-16-2006, 18:55 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

@SirLink........Windows XP looks like Vista on your screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 12-17-2006, 04:50 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
@SirLink........Windows XP looks like Vista on your screen.
Yeah... Sorry, forgot to mention I am using the "Vista Transformation Pack"...

http://www.windowsxlive.net/?page_id=15

Check it out... It's really cool... Easy to uninstall too...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 12-17-2006, 05:12 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLink View Post
Yeah... Sorry, forgot to mention I am using the "Vista Transformation Pack"...

http://www.windowsxlive.net/?page_id=15

Check it out... It's really cool... Easy to uninstall too...
What makes me not use it is on whether it is going to conflict with WindowsBlinds or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 12-18-2006, 01:44 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
What makes me not use it is on whether it is going to conflict with WindowsBlinds or not.
Nope... In fact is has a WB5 skin to add to the effect... I use it on my gaming rig...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
orenda635
Ancient Guru
 
orenda635's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 7600GS 256mb / Radeon 9550 32mb
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800 / PPC G4 1.33ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 / iBook
Memory: 1024mb PC2700 / 768mb PC2700
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic / Integrated
PSU: CM RealPower 450w / Battery
Default 02-08-2007, 15:03 | posts: 6,865 | Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada

The Mac thread is not dead despite being moved to the archived stickies section. Today's update comes in the form of an article by Gear Digest. This article explains how to install Windows XP on a MacBook Pro, complete with gaming benchmarks. Turns out it's not bad, considering the MacBook Pro only has an X1600 GPU. One issue that did come up was lower battery life under XP, which is due to the USB power bug in that OS.

http://www.geardigest.com/2007/02/07...pro/index.html

The guide for installing Boot Camp will work with any Mac model supporting an Intel Core Duo or Core 2 Duo. You MUST have an Intel processor though since the old PowerPC processors don't use an x86 architecture.

There has been no word yet if Vista can be installed on a Mac. I would not recommend it though due to the problems with the new OS. Mac OS 10.5 Leopard will feature the final release version of Boot Camp, the current is a beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
lillelj
Maha Guru
 
lillelj's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 675M
Processor: Intel Core i7-3610QM
Mainboard: Samsung
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Integrated (Dolby)
PSU: Lithium-ion
Default 02-08-2007, 16:46 | posts: 1,336 | Location: Devon

Well i am pretty bored these days. So i am wondering if it is possible for me to install OS X on my machine. Am i going to have a major problem with that?
Looking at those links Orenda, it looks terribly difficult to do this, or am i wrong?

In any case you can expect plenty of noob questions coming up lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 02-08-2007, 21:10 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by lillelj View Post
Well i am pretty bored these days. So i am wondering if it is possible for me to install OS X on my machine. Am i going to have a major problem with that?
Looking at those links Orenda, it looks terribly difficult to do this, or am i wrong?

In any case you can expect plenty of noob questions coming up lol
I dont know about your system but i am still wondering on whether i should Install MacOSX on my notebook.

Someone from notebookforums did it already

http://www.notebookforums.com/thread165755.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
orenda635
Ancient Guru
 
orenda635's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 7600GS 256mb / Radeon 9550 32mb
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800 / PPC G4 1.33ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 / iBook
Memory: 1024mb PC2700 / 768mb PC2700
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic / Integrated
PSU: CM RealPower 450w / Battery
Default 02-08-2007, 22:46 | posts: 6,865 | Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by lillelj View Post
Well i am pretty bored these days. So i am wondering if it is possible for me to install OS X on my machine. Am i going to have a major problem with that?
Looking at those links Orenda, it looks terribly difficult to do this, or am i wrong?

In any case you can expect plenty of noob questions coming up lol
Yes, 10.4.8 will work with your mobo. May be a bit of lan trouble but that can apparently be fixed by a driver.
http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.4.8

I personally haven't tried it, but now I'm tempted to.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 02-09-2007, 01:18 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

You mean OSX on pc hardware?? That's an interesting prospect...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 02-09-2007, 01:28 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLink View Post
You mean OSX on pc hardware?? That's an interesting prospect...
Yup that is exactly what i am implying.

You see out there on the market there are similar Laptops that have almost the same features as the Mac books (besides Mac's certain port). There is a possibility that you can install the MacOSX. Just look at the thread i posted as a link

Quote:



Here are the pics taken from the other thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
SirLink
Ancient Guru
 
SirLink's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 980Ti
Processor: Xeon X5690 Hex 3.46GHz
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5,1
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: 980W
Default 02-09-2007, 01:33 | posts: 4,529 | Location: Va. USA

That's sweet scout... Yeah, there are a couple of companies that make the same mobo and such for both a pc and mac... can't remember which it is...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
orenda635
Ancient Guru
 
orenda635's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 7600GS 256mb / Radeon 9550 32mb
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800 / PPC G4 1.33ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 / iBook
Memory: 1024mb PC2700 / 768mb PC2700
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic / Integrated
PSU: CM RealPower 450w / Battery
Default 02-09-2007, 01:57 | posts: 6,865 | Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada

Apparently you have to download some specially tweaked version via torrent. At 4.3gb, that was going to take all day so I gave up.

Foxconn makes the mobos BTW.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 02-09-2007, 05:29 | posts: 12,805 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
Yup that is exactly what i am implying.

You see out there on the market there are similar Laptops that have almost the same features as the Mac books (besides Mac's certain port). There is a possibility that you can install the MacOSX. Just look at the thread i posted as a link



Here are the pics taken from the other thread.
OsX86, I had it running at one point on a Dell, but it didn't run right seeing that it was crap hardware. I wanted to get it on this machine, but I couldn't get it to reconise my cpu, which it should of. =[ Oh well.




I don't have any pics where it's about this mac, but it read the 1.7 ghz celeron as 3.2 ghz celeron.

Quote:
Well i am pretty bored these days. So i am wondering if it is possible for me to install OS X on my machine. Am i going to have a major problem with that?
Looking at those links Orenda, it looks terribly difficult to do this, or am i wrong?

In any case you can expect plenty of noob questions coming up lol
Problem is, the Mac os x86 takes more of a liking to intel, so it might be a little harder to do so on amd based machines. I still haven't gotten to yet.

Last edited by vbetts; 02-09-2007 at 05:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
lillelj
Maha Guru
 
lillelj's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 675M
Processor: Intel Core i7-3610QM
Mainboard: Samsung
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Integrated (Dolby)
PSU: Lithium-ion
Default 02-09-2007, 11:52 | posts: 1,336 | Location: Devon

OK cool, been poking around at it seems like 10.4.6 works with every piece of hardware i currently have, so thats promising. Backing up stuff as we speak, although luckily i dont really have anything on this pc that is vitally important to me so im not too fussed. Mac OSX here i come, ill keep ya posted.
(still seems dificult)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
orenda635
Ancient Guru
 
orenda635's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 7600GS 256mb / Radeon 9550 32mb
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800 / PPC G4 1.33ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 / iBook
Memory: 1024mb PC2700 / 768mb PC2700
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic / Integrated
PSU: CM RealPower 450w / Battery
Default 02-09-2007, 15:26 | posts: 6,865 | Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada

I'm going to install it on my old 40gb since there's nothing important on that drive that just can't be moved to another. I'll let you guys know if I make any progress.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 02-09-2007, 21:17 | posts: 9,441 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by orenda635 View Post
I'm going to install it on my old 40gb since there's nothing important on that drive that just can't be moved to another. I'll let you guys know if I make any progress.
Are u guys going to install MacOS X on your desktop's ???? i am curious how you guys are gonna do it.

Can u keep me posted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 02-09-2007, 22:25 | posts: 12,805 | Location: Toledo Ohio

There's a ox s86 dvd out there in the torrents, burn it and such. It actually ran pretty decent on my old dell, but still didn't run as well on a SSE2 cpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.