Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 04-25-2006, 19:46 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

We need a lot of Pentium 4's, the ranking is based soley on mhz, and AMDs just dont get as high.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
bbvdd2
Maha Guru
 
bbvdd2's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 960 WHITE SLI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.9GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 750W
Default 04-25-2006, 20:07 | posts: 1,447 | Location: Charlotte, NC

[hwbot] 4087 - Pentium 4 3.4E Prescott @ 4.087GHz 1.5V H2O [/hwbot]



It actually would boot higher but I don't have any SS of that.

Really seems like just a Intel database contest as almost any Prescott can reach 3.8-4.0 on good cooling.

And a Dual Core should count double, so if I get a SS of 3GHz it should count for 6GHz

Last edited by bbvdd2; 04-26-2006 at 22:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 04-25-2006, 20:50 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

You're right bbvdd

We need to talk to hwbot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Andrés
Ancient Guru
 
Andrés's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6950 2Gb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4x1Gb Kingston DDR2 667
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: CM Silent Pro M700
Default 04-26-2006, 02:51 | posts: 4,554 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrescm
Hey, I´m gonna disable my LAN card, overclock it to the limit and post the new report
Duh, as expected, my RAM sticks are holding me back. They are Spectek and it seems they don´t handle high speeds too well. So far my highest stable OC has been 3907Mhz (FSB at 260Mhz, RAM 1:1 @4-4-4-12). It has passed five Memtest86+ runs, but that´s it. I won´t post a validated CPU-Z report because I should test this configuration more thoroughly and sincerely I don´t want to push these memories. I don´t trust them. Ahh well, I´m very satisfied with my actual rig so... why get ambitious?

Andrés
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 04-26-2006, 03:28 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

Dividers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Andrés
Ancient Guru
 
Andrés's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6950 2Gb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4x1Gb Kingston DDR2 667
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: CM Silent Pro M700
Default 04-26-2006, 12:07 | posts: 4,554 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Yes I wanted to try that too, if only I could!, but I don***180;t have such option in the BIOS. I can only set the RAM to three predefined speeds. If my FSB is at 200Mhz, it will let me set it at 400 (1:1), 533 (4:3) and 600Mhz (3:2). As I increase the FSB, these values increase too, so if it***180;s 201, the options will be 402, 536 and 604 and so on. Ahh well, if I manage to find a way, I***180;ll let you know

Andr***233;s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 04-26-2006, 12:49 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

Aww man, that sucks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 04-29-2006, 01:34 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

[hwbot] 3126 - Opteron 165 (Dual Core) CCB1E 0608MPMW 1.575v [/hwbot]

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
dzutrinh
Maha Guru
 
dzutrinh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel Iris Graphics 6100
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.7Ghz
Mainboard: Apple
Memory: 8GB LPDDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Builtin
Default 04-30-2006, 19:41 | posts: 805 | Location: Saigon, Vietnam

[hwbot]2999 - Pentium 4 "C" 2.4Ghz @ 3.0Ghz 1.575V - 3D Cooler[/hwbot]
My old result with Kingmax Hardcore memory:
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=34448

EDIT: got it fixed

Last edited by dzutrinh; 05-01-2006 at 04:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 04-30-2006, 20:21 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

it doesnt work that way dzutrinh. you have do it like the others, with the hwbot tags.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Jacku62
Master Guru
 
Jacku62's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560 Ti OC 995/2200
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5 1.28v Air
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD65
Memory: 4gb Gskill Ripjaws @ 2133
Soundcard: ImakeNoise inc.
PSU: Coolermaster RS-850w M
Default 05-06-2006, 06:30 | posts: 784 | Location: Indiana

[hwbot] 2970 - AMD Opteron 170 ccb1e (toldedo) @2970mhz 1.45v [/hwbot]

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=91477

still having problems with my board.. it wont pass 1.45v for the cpu.. even when i set it too 1.565v it wont do crap but stay @ 1.45v. either there isnt enough power getting to it or this bios is $h!T!. anyone have some suggestions on this?? i mean im realy tired of working with unstable boards under extreme conditions (1-1.3ghz overclock). ever sence my old board died on me ive been having problems... I NEED help

Last edited by Jacku62; 05-06-2006 at 06:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-06-2006, 22:04 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

what board?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Phalkon30
Maha Guru
 
Phalkon30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 6800 GT @ 420x1175 /water
Processor: A64-X2 4200+ @ 2.8ghz /water
Mainboard: K8N Neo2 Platinum
Memory: 2Gig G.Skill (ZX) 2-3-2-5
Soundcard: Onboard / Logitech Z640
PSU: Corsair HX620W Modular
Default 05-06-2006, 22:38 | posts: 1,529 | Location: Platteville, WI

[hwbot] 2610 - A64 3000+ (venice) 1.55v air[/hwbot]

ttp://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=91775

I haven't tried with watercooling. Frankly I think I'm RAM limited, the HTT can go higher, but my mb doesn't like the next divider I'd have to go to, and my G.Skill is pretty disapointing on the OC at less than 220mhz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-07-2006, 00:10 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

With a motherboard that wont do a divider, its probably limiting RAM clock as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Phalkon30
Maha Guru
 
Phalkon30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 6800 GT @ 420x1175 /water
Processor: A64-X2 4200+ @ 2.8ghz /water
Mainboard: K8N Neo2 Platinum
Memory: 2Gig G.Skill (ZX) 2-3-2-5
Soundcard: Onboard / Logitech Z640
PSU: Corsair HX620W Modular
Default 05-07-2006, 01:27 | posts: 1,529 | Location: Platteville, WI

It does dividers, just not any past the one I'm on. (unless I misunderstood your statement). Its an MSI Neo2 Plat nforce3, which I hard heard was pretty good for overclocking.

Either way, 800mhz over on a $150 chip with a $10 cooler ain't bad
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-07-2006, 02:23 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

Not bad at all. But I dont think MSI makes any REALLY good OCing boards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Jacku62
Master Guru
 
Jacku62's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560 Ti OC 995/2200
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5 1.28v Air
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD65
Memory: 4gb Gskill Ripjaws @ 2133
Soundcard: ImakeNoise inc.
PSU: Coolermaster RS-850w M
Default 05-07-2006, 06:49 | posts: 784 | Location: Indiana

i realy never had any troubles overclocking on a MSI board (ive had a MSI neo2 plat and it loved my 3000+ and my 4000+ ).. btw geek i have an ASUS A8N32 SLI Deluxe mobo... its crap.. i honestly think its the biggest waste of money in my system...next to the built in cigarette lighter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalkon30

ttp://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=91775

I haven't tried with watercooling. Frankly I think I'm RAM limited, the HTT can go higher, but my mb doesn't like the next divider I'd have to go to, and my G.Skill is pretty disapointing on the OC at less than 220mhz.

try loosening those timings... 3-4-4-8 or something along that line.. im sure it will go higher than 220mhz... almost sure of it cuz my G.Skill ddr500 wont pass 224mhz on those timings you have.

Last edited by Jacku62; 05-21-2006 at 20:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Alexstarfire
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 9800GTX+ @ stock
Processor: Intel C2D E6400 @ 390*8
Mainboard: DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-D
Memory: 2x2GB @ 468Mhz 6-6-6-18
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 650w CM Real Power Pro
Default 05-07-2006, 17:28 | posts: 8,316 | Location: Georgia

Geez, I'm gonna add my CPU up there soon enough. Didn't think it'd help, but apparently I'll be ranked very high. I'll post it whenever I end up restarting my comp, I'll need to change the memory divider to get it to my max clock speeds.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-07-2006, 19:02 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

i need to go for a new suicide shot with my DFI
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-07-2006, 23:29 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

[hwbot] 3187 - Opteron 165 (Dual Core) CCB1E 0608MPMW 1.59v [/hwbot]

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Stephan.nl
Master Guru
 
Stephan.nl's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070
Processor: 4670K @ 4.4 Ghz
Mainboard: GB Z87X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: CM Silent Pro M2 720W
Default 05-08-2006, 18:42 | posts: 544 | Location: Straya mate

[hwbot] 2712 - AMD64 3000+ venice 1.475V [/hwbot]
Attachment 1265

Like this ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-08-2006, 19:10 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

Yes sir!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
phrozin
Ancient Guru
 
phrozin's Avatar
 
Videocard: gskill ripjaw 2133
Processor: i7 4960x
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair
Default 05-15-2006, 13:13 | posts: 2,842 | Location: Earth

[hwbot] 3704 - AMD FX-57 CAB2E 0531VPMW 1.71v [/hwbot]
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=93565

Last edited by phrozin; 05-15-2006 at 14:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 05-17-2006, 21:59 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

wow phrozin, impressive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 05-17-2006, 22:13 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

very nice phrozin, that is on the vapo i assume?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.