Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RTSS frame limiter delay measured
Old
  (#1)
n2k3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2xGTX 980 Ti Lightning
Processor: Core i7 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus Ramage V Extreme
Memory: Corsair DDR4 3200MHz 32GB
Soundcard: SupremeFX & 5.1 Klipsch
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default RTSS frame limiter delay measured - 01-20-2017, 22:26 | posts: 11

A YouTube channel called Battle(non)sense, which is ran by a guy named Chris, measured the Button to Pixel (input lag) when using a G-Sync (or Free Sync) monitor in combination with the frame limiter feature of RTSS.

It's explained in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rs0PYCpBJjc
where RTSS is looked at 3:52 in the video (but it is recommended to watch the full video).

It seems that the feature in RTSS is better implemented than the similar Nvidia Inspector feature named Frame Rate Limiter.
This basically means when a video game doesn't allow you to limit the frame rate in-game, you should set it in RTSS, as it will always have less delay than with V-Sync enabled.

I'm wondering as to how that was achieved, and if it would be possible to reduce the delay even further, similar to when the game itself allows frame limiting?
[Edit: it seems tests done in the G-Sync 101 post at blurbusters forum, show a way smaller delay introduced when using RTSS frame limiter.]

Thanks

Last edited by n2k3; 01-22-2017 at 08:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BUDA20
Newbie
 
BUDA20's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970 4GB
Processor: I5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 2133MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Sentey 850w
Default 03-20-2017, 10:34 | posts: 18 | Location: Argentina

I saw this using different limiters, in some games even a bad vsync implementation (like in Syndicate or Heroes & Generals) is fixed by using RTSS to a equal limit to the screen refresh (in addition to vsync)

But for people who play in fullscreen with no vsync and no gsync, using nvidia inspector and frame limiter v2 will give you no tearing and no input lag.

So RTSS has better timing, nvidia inspector has better sync to the monitor refresh, RTSS seems to be oblivious of the monitor refresh.

*you will see a bit of tearing if the fps drop, but is still better that adaptive vsync
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 04-08-2017, 08:15 | posts: 1,185 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUDA20 View Post
I saw this using different limiters, in some games even a bad vsync implementation (like in Syndicate or Heroes & Generals) is fixed by using RTSS to a equal limit to the screen refresh (in addition to vsync)

But for people who play in fullscreen with no vsync and no gsync, using nvidia inspector and frame limiter v2 will give you no tearing and no input lag.

So RTSS has better timing, nvidia inspector has better sync to the monitor refresh, RTSS seems to be oblivious of the monitor refresh.

*you will see a bit of tearing if the fps drop, but is still better that adaptive vsync
So you say using RTSS limiter when using VSYNC

and when not using NVCP or In-Game Vsync to use Frame Limit Nvidia Inspector v2 ?

Which is better to use as main rule, NVCP Vsync ON or In-Game Vsync ?

For example no matter what I do with the game Ori and the blind forest , it always laggy like the frame Time is crazy , as long the Vsync in-game is disabled it's laggy, if I enabled it, the game is perfectly fine. So sometimes the in-game is a must and sometimes not, what do we do if we don't see an instant change ? and it causes randomly issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
RealNC
Master Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 04-08-2017, 17:08 | posts: 755

Inpsector has more input lag than RTSS.

The best way to cap with vsync on is to cap to 0.006FPS lower than refresh using RTSS. You detect you refresh here:

vsynctester.com

And then configure RTSS to 0.006FPS below that. You need to edit the profile file and put this in it:

Code:
[Framerate]
Limit=59934
LimitDenominator=1000
This is for 59.934FPS if your refresh rate is 59.94Hz. "LimitDenominator" determines the amount of decimals. So 1000 is the most useful one.

This will give you the lowest input lag possible when using vsync.

If you're not using vsync, then enabling the Inspector limiter will automatically enable adaptive vsync, which will give you the same input lag as vsync. So the nvidia limiter doesn't make much sense.

Last edited by RealNC; 04-08-2017 at 17:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 04-08-2017, 18:50 | posts: 1,185 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
Inpsector has more input lag than RTSS.

The best way to cap with vsync on is to cap to 0.006FPS lower than refresh using RTSS. You detect you refresh here:

vsynctester.com

And then configure RTSS to 0.006FPS below that. You need to edit the profile file and put this in it:

Code:
[Framerate]
Limit=59934
LimitDenominator=1000
This is for 59.934FPS if your refresh rate is 59.94Hz. "LimitDenominator" determines the amount of decimals. So 1000 is the most useful one.

This will give you the lowest input lag possible when using vsync.

If you're not using vsync, then enabling the Inspector limiter will automatically enable adaptive vsync, which will give you the same input lag as vsync. So the nvidia limiter doesn't make much sense.
Which file do I need to edit ? I'm trying to edit the Global file in profiles but it says access denied when trying to save.

ha, I will need to do one by one profile..

EDIT : still doesn't let me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RealNC
Master Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 04-08-2017, 23:38 | posts: 755

That's just a Windows thing. I install RTSS in C:\Games and I can edit all files there. You can run Notepad as administrator though, then load the file.

Coupled with setting "maximum pre-rendered frames" to 1 in the nvidia panel, you can get very little vsync lag when capping like this using RTSS.

Last edited by RealNC; 04-08-2017 at 23:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 04-09-2017, 06:40 | posts: 1,185 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
That's just a Windows thing. I install RTSS in C:\Games and I can edit all files there. You can run Notepad as administrator though, then load the file.

Coupled with setting "maximum pre-rendered frames" to 1 in the nvidia panel, you can get very little vsync lag when capping like this using RTSS.
Right, needed to run as admin.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frame limiter, g-sync, rtss, v-sync

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.