Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Enable/Disable G-Sync using Commandline or Bat?
Old
  (#1)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080TI SLI PG348Q
Processor: i7 6950x @4.4ghz - H240-X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Strix X99
Memory: GSkill RGB - 3200/32GB
Soundcard: Phoebus - M50w / ATH900X
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1200w
Cool Enable/Disable G-Sync using Commandline or Bat? - 04-15-2015, 15:25 | posts: 656 | Location: Philippines

Hi..Is there anyway to Enable/Disable G-Sync using commandline or Bat?

I'm asking because in 3DVision you can use this command..
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\3D Vision\nvstlink.exe" /enable
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Nono06
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(15-16-16-32-1T)@3200
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 04-16-2015, 09:17 | posts: 865 | Location: France

He Odellot,

I have never seen any command for that.
In opposite to 3DVision, G-sync is part of the core driver, so I'm not sure an external service is controlling it.

May I ask why you need that? It is something that you can set by application in the control panel, so I'm not sure I understand the reason why you need that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080TI SLI PG348Q
Processor: i7 6950x @4.4ghz - H240-X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Strix X99
Memory: GSkill RGB - 3200/32GB
Soundcard: Phoebus - M50w / ATH900X
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1200w
Default 04-16-2015, 17:08 | posts: 656 | Location: Philippines

I want to have a keyboard hotkey on disable/enable G-Sync like what I do with 3D Vision..I want to quickly disable G-Sync so that I can enable ULMB on some games...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Nono06
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(15-16-16-32-1T)@3200
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 04-16-2015, 17:42 | posts: 865 | Location: France

So if it is for specific games, is that not enough to disable gsync in their profile? Do you want to do that on the fly in game?

It also means that you have your refresh rate set to 120Hz because ULMB is not compatible with 144Hz.

Switching to a borderless window (if supported by the game) could do the trick since g-sync only works in exclusive mode but SLI works better in exclusive mode also.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Nono06
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(15-16-16-32-1T)@3200
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 04-20-2015, 09:24 | posts: 865 | Location: France

It seems that with the driver 350.12 even the desktop is using Gsync.
Do you also see that on your side?
So it seems that now G-sync is also compatible with window mode.
In that case running the game in borderless mode will not solve your problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ancalimon
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX r7979 Black
Processor: Intel i7-3820 3.6GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Xilence 800W
Default 03-16-2017, 22:17 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nono06 View Post
So if it is for specific games, is that not enough to disable gsync in their profile? Do you want to do that on the fly in game?

It also means that you have your refresh rate set to 120Hz because ULMB is not compatible with 144Hz.

Switching to a borderless window (if supported by the game) could do the trick since g-sync only works in exclusive mode but SLI works better in exclusive mode also.
Setting gsync and ulmb for some reason does not work for profiles.

For example setting gsync on globally and setting ulmb of dwm.exe (windows desktop) results in fullscreen games switching to 144hz fixed refresh rate instead 144hz gsync. Returning to desktop properly sets it to ulmb.

So what we need is an ulmb command because ulmb - gsync based on profiles has been bugged for years now.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.