Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD RYZEN and Afterburner Monitoring
Old
  (#1)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default AMD RYZEN and Afterburner Monitoring - 03-10-2017, 22:50 | posts: 133

Since I've installed my R7 1700 I have no longer been able to monitor my CPU temperatures through MSI Afterburner. Meanwhile I've also updated RTSS to 7.0 beta and it's still not showing any cpu temp reading. Is it because Ryzen is not fully supported yet?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 03-10-2017, 22:54 | posts: 1,291

Quote:
Originally Posted by w0nderz View Post
Since I've installed my R7 1700 I have no longer been able to monitor my CPU temperatures through MSI Afterburner. Meanwhile I've also updated RTSS to 7.0 beta and it's still not showing any cpu temp reading. Is it because Ryzen is not fully supported yet?
Probably, all sensors are on AMD for support, dos HW64 work?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-10-2017, 22:56 | posts: 133

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
Probably, all sensors are on AMD for support, dos HW64 work?
It does, it's how I've been monitoring it actually.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 03-10-2017, 23:16 | posts: 1,291

Quote:
Originally Posted by w0nderz View Post
It does, it's how I've been monitoring it actually.
Ok, well you can setup to enabled those data points to go to RTSS OSD.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-10-2017, 23:30 | posts: 133

Indeed, I'll do that while I can't get it from Afterburner. Thanks for the recall.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-10-2017, 23:40 | posts: 133

This reading discrepancy tho

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by w0nderz; 03-11-2017 at 08:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-11-2017, 09:50 | posts: 12,956 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

CPU temperature monitoring for it is not supported by MSI AB and no promises on supporting it in future. Everything related to low-level CPU monitoring functionality in MSI AB is bonus feature provided under no future support obligations term. Everything related to AMD CPU monitoring is a twice bonus and I don't use it in any of my test rigs.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.