Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Cpu For Nvidia
Old
  (#1)
lucky80
Newbie
 
Videocard: 5 X GTX 970
Processor: AMD A10
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax
Default Cpu For Nvidia - 03-05-2017, 13:27 | posts: 5

Hello guys i use AMD cpu for Nvidia GPU... is that ok or must i use intel cpu to have better performance ?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX-16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 03-05-2017, 13:49 | posts: 9,551 | Location: Serbia, NS

Its ok. AMD CPU's tend to perform slower in CPU heavy games but it should not be drastic. What CPU do you have?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Spartan
Master Guru
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 PCS+
Processor: i5 4690K @ 4.2Ghz / H80i
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER
Memory: 2x8GB HyperXFury 2133Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CS750M
Default 03-05-2017, 14:36 | posts: 675 | Location: United Kingdom

I'm pretty sure no AMD cpu can feed 5 GTX 970s, lel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Geryboy
Maha Guru
 
Geryboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080 GameRock 2088/11000
Processor: i7 6700k 4.6GHz @ 1.29V
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M7
Memory: RipjawsV 3G 2x8 GB
Soundcard: SBZ->TV_Adap.3.0->OPN1
PSU: Seasonic SS-1250XM
Default 03-05-2017, 18:47 | posts: 2,433 | Location: Munich

if you use amd cpu....

when it's full moon, dance naked around a lake and use a smashed frog as thermal paste....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Kaarme
Master Guru
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 390
Processor: i5 6600K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: HyperX DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
Default 03-05-2017, 20:14 | posts: 657 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan View Post
I'm pretty sure no AMD cpu can feed 5 GTX 970s, lel.
A PC with 5 video cards is probably used for cryptocurrency mining or some other pure compute work. So, the GPUs do the work. How big can the requirements be for the CPU?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
insp1re
Newbie
 
insp1re's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit Jetstream 780GTX
Processor: i7 2600k 4.6ghz@1.38v H20
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty z68
Memory: HyperX 1600@1.56
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion
PSU: Corsair TX 850Watt
Default 03-05-2017, 20:51 | posts: 27 | Location: Smashing your stack..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geryboy View Post
if you use amd cpu....

when it's full moon, dance naked around a lake and use a smashed frog as thermal paste....
i second that, works flawless everytime.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.