Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Questions for you since I can't PM yet.
Old
  (#1)
korennya
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire 390 8gb w/bp
Processor: amd fx-6300 @4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r2.0
Memory: Gskill 16GB 2400
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: antc 850
Default Questions for you since I can't PM yet. - 02-20-2017, 22:57 | posts: 18

Was hoping for some info from you (insert name here)since we both have the same video cards and you've had pretty good success it seems getting yours stable and OC'd.

I'm curious what your (insert name here) default core voltage is to start. I noticed in hwinfo that my core only goes up to 1.10v when it's at 100% load and at 1040 mhz (all stock settings), but if i look at the voltage that wattman has indicated for 1040 it says 1.265v. I never see that when the card is stress tested or gamed.

2nd: Do you know of a way to adjust aux and memory voltages? Can't seem to find away to adjust anything but the core voltage. Though interestingly when my core is stable at 300 mhz on the desktop and memory is bouncing up and down between 1500 and 150 i noticed the core voltage goes up and down with it. Maybe me voltage is tied to core voltage?

3rd? Do you have any idea what your (insert name here)VRM temps are with stock fan settings?

I was using Kombuster to test it at stock settings. GPU level off around 83C by my god.. VRM1 hit 118 while VRM2 was 85C!!! I bumped fan up to 100% tornado and VRM1 dropped down to 93C but still seems quite high. Seems surprisingly high for actively cooled VRM's. They don't get that high when I game. I use frame rate limiting to 60FPS and usually my core isn't over 60C

Last edited by korennya; 02-21-2017 at 01:05. Reason: Equal opportunity posting
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 02-20-2017, 23:29 | posts: 6,845

Chastity you need to answer this!

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
korennya
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire 390 8gb w/bp
Processor: amd fx-6300 @4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r2.0
Memory: Gskill 16GB 2400
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: antc 850
Default 02-21-2017, 01:06 | posts: 18

Fixed it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 02-21-2017, 03:44 | posts: 576

Quote:
Originally Posted by korennya View Post
Was hoping for some info from you (insert name here)since we both have the same video cards and you've had pretty good success it seems getting yours stable and OC'd.

I'm curious what your (insert name here) default core voltage is to start. I noticed in hwinfo that my core only goes up to 1.10v when it's at 100% load and at 1040 mhz (all stock settings), but if i look at the voltage that wattman has indicated for 1040 it says 1.265v. I never see that when the card is stress tested or gamed.
Default core voltage on stock is +19 for 1102mV. On load, @ stock speeds, voltage jumps to a max of 1.219mV.

Quote:
2nd: Do you know of a way to adjust aux and memory voltages? Can't seem to find away to adjust anything but the core voltage. Though interestingly when my core is stable at 300 mhz on the desktop and memory is bouncing up and down between 1500 and 150 i noticed the core voltage goes up and down with it. Maybe me voltage is tied to core voltage?
The memory draw will adjust according to clock speed, so I am not surprised it changes between full and idle speeds. This is automatic based on firmware settings. I see you can adjust memory voltage via AB, but I never had a need to, as I am stable on defaults all the way to 1750.

Quote:
3rd? Do you have any idea what your (insert name here)VRM temps are with stock fan settings?

I was using Kombuster to test it at stock settings. GPU level off around 83C by my god.. VRM1 hit 118 while VRM2 was 85C!!! I bumped fan up to 100% tornado and VRM1 dropped down to 93C but still seems quite high. Seems surprisingly high for actively cooled VRM's. They don't get that high when I game. I use frame rate limiting to 60FPS and usually my core isn't over 60C
In game, VRM1 (GPU) is maxed 58C VRM2 (Memory) is 65C. I would need to know what Kombuster test and settings you used to test here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by korennya View Post
Fixed it
Fixed? Fixed what?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
korennya
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire 390 8gb w/bp
Processor: amd fx-6300 @4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r2.0
Memory: Gskill 16GB 2400
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: antc 850
Default 02-21-2017, 05:36 | posts: 18

Thanks for the reply. AB shows the same voltage setting for me that you indicated, but after 2 hours of watchdogs last night the recorded data showed the voltage never rose over 1.130 even though gpu core speed was at maximum. Could this be because gpu load wasn't at 100%? I'm used to CPU voltages where they responded directly to frequency changes independent of load. If freq goes up, voltage goes up even at 0 load. Is gpu different? Or is something amiss?

In AB I found six voltage but men voltage is greyed out.

Kombuster test was furmark donut? I'll have to check that one when I can. It's the top most one in the list. Makes a weird looking infinite loop structure covered in red hair.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.