Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My Gigabyte R9 390 G1 Overclock
Old
  (#1)
Moegames
Member Guru
 
Moegames's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7-3770k@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: HDMI to Home Theater
PSU: XFX 550watt Core Edition
Default My Gigabyte R9 390 G1 Overclock - 01-02-2016, 00:40 | posts: 106 | Location: Chicago, Illinois

Just wanted to share some info on my overclock of my new R9 390 from Gigabyte. As most of you know, the Gigabyte R9 390's have locked voltages but I was pretty happy with the overclock regardless of it having a locked voltage. I bought this card already knowing of the locked voltages and opted for the G1 series of their R9 390's.

Anyways, I wanted to post this before i go, I won't be around to reply back as i am going out of town but for anyone interested in what a Gigabyte R9 390 G1 Edition can do even with locked voltages here you go, although some of it has to do with a per card basis, its not guaranteed every card. Also Keep in mind, i could of went further but opted to stay here and not push it any further. In fact i only did this to see what the card could do, as right now i have no desire or reason to keep it overclocked, maybe down the road i might OC it to get a bit more performance out of it but for now..no reason other than to see what i could do.

So i basically went as far as 1125mhz core/1625mhz memory with simply raising the Power Limit 10%, that's all. I left this run on GPU-Z's overclock testing for 30 minutes and played Battlefield 4, Crysis 3 and COD BOPs3 for a few hours non-stop switching between games during these few hours while keeping the card running with the OC. It's nice and stable and obviously could do a bit more but this is about as far as i feel i would want to go in the future.






Last edited by Moegames; 01-02-2016 at 00:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BlackB
Newbie
 
Videocard: Msi R9 390
Processor: Fx 8320
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA970A UD3P
Memory: Corsair 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: CM b600
Default 01-02-2016, 11:33 | posts: 6

nice ^^

my Msi R9 390 overclocking reaches 1175 MHz and 1650mhz with +100 mv
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
flow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 1120/1600
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V gen3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB C9 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster xfi
PSU: Coolermaster M700 Silent
Default 01-03-2016, 00:56 | posts: 946 | Location: Holland

Yeah, my msi does about the same.
On stock voltage I can go 1150 on the gpu, but in firestrike default some screen flashes will occur. So I settled for 1135 since it's only 100 points difference in total score.

Op, I have my memory at 1600, because it yields no real benefit to set it higher and only increases heat.

But keep in mind that the power limit is only to sustain your clock settings when the card is stressed. So it wont throttle when you have vsync disabled.
So setting it at 10% or 50% isn't a world of difference. I have mine at 50%.
It still throttles though in witcher 3 with vsync on. But keeps the fps solid.
It wont help you to have more stability with a higher overclock though.

But anyway, 1125 is decent for your gpu and will play games nicely

Last edited by flow; 01-03-2016 at 00:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cabezhor
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD RADEON R9 390
Processor: AMD FX-8120
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: GX 750
Default 12-24-2016, 01:44 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moegames View Post
Just wanted to share some info on my overclock of my new R9 390 from Gigabyte. As most of you know, the Gigabyte R9 390's have locked voltages but I was pretty happy with the overclock regardless of it having a locked voltage. I bought this card already knowing of the locked voltages and opted for the G1 series of their R9 390's.

Anyways, I wanted to post this before i go, I won't be around to reply back as i am going out of town but for anyone interested in what a Gigabyte R9 390 G1 Edition can do even with locked voltages here you go, although some of it has to do with a per card basis, its not guaranteed every card. Also Keep in mind, i could of went further but opted to stay here and not push it any further. In fact i only did this to see what the card could do, as right now i have no desire or reason to keep it overclocked, maybe down the road i might OC it to get a bit more performance out of it but for now..no reason other than to see what i could do.

So i basically went as far as 1125mhz core/1625mhz memory with simply raising the Power Limit 10%, that's all. I left this run on GPU-Z's overclock testing for 30 minutes and played Battlefield 4, Crysis 3 and COD BOPs3 for a few hours non-stop switching between games during these few hours while keeping the card running with the OC. It's nice and stable and obviously could do a bit more but this is about as far as i feel i would want to go in the future.






Hi,I have the same board as you, G1 gigabyte R9 390, I did the same overclocking as you, but when I apply, my screen turns black, and the only way to recover it is to turn off the computer, And the overclock did not work and returns to the previous parameters. Do you have any idea why it might be? any solution?.

Last edited by cabezhor; 12-24-2016 at 01:48.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 12-24-2016, 06:16 | posts: 510

You may need to boost the GPU voltage a tad, like say +15mV
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
flow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390 1120/1600
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V gen3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB C9 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster xfi
PSU: Coolermaster M700 Silent
Default 12-24-2016, 11:07 | posts: 946 | Location: Holland

Hmm, an older thread.
Back then is much different compared to today for me.
The newer drivers gave me more performance, however at a cost of gpu clock settings.
If I go over 1120Mhz on the gpu I get the occasional artifact in firestrike default.
Scores however are much better.
Apparently the drivers have room to push the gpu further without changing clocks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 01-25-2017, 22:13 | posts: 247

Gigabyte R9 390 G1 - had the voltage locked on the card making it more difficult to OC.
But I heard about people doing the powerboost thing and fixing some of that.
I don't think its exactly the same... I have put one of those cards in my nephews computer but he wont ever overclock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 01-25-2017, 23:20 | posts: 6,572

Gigabyte and their crappy voltage locks are the reasons I'll never touch their cards with a ten feet pole.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kilyan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE R9 390 NITRO
Processor: amd fx 8350@4.5 ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte 990xa-ud3
Memory: 16gb ram ddr3 1866mhz
Soundcard: embed via hd audio 8.1
PSU: ANTEC EDGE 650W
Default 02-20-2017, 08:48 | posts: 452 | Location: italy

I found out tweaking the voltages on the bios and flash it give the most results. I managed to pass timespy with 1200/1250 without artifacts. But yeah, for gaming need probably an aftermarket cooler and change the thermal paste on the vrms. But 1133 if capped to 60 fps i can use with no problem with for honor, an insanely demanding game for i don't know what reason, probably ubisoft bad optimization.
SAPPHIRE R9 390 NITRO owner
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Chastity
Master Guru
 
Chastity's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro 390 BP
Processor: Intel i7 950@4GHz
Mainboard: Rampage III Black X58
Memory: 6GB Dominators 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi USB HD
PSU: CM Silent Gold 1200
Default 02-20-2017, 18:29 | posts: 510

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
Gigabyte and their crappy voltage locks are the reasons I'll never touch their cards with a ten feet pole.
Gigabyte also is known for their VRMs to produce higher voltages/amperage than reported, and thereby leading to voltage conditioning of your components. Ran into this with a i7 920 on an EX58-UD5 motherboard, and the chip eventually required higher settings to stay stable, until it finally died after a year.

Intel replaced the CPU, which I sold off and got an i7 950, which I still have today.

I found out the gruesome details on why this happened when I went and worked at Asus and told this to one of the TPM's. He explained to me what happens, as we were discussing the results of the Socket2011 certification testing at Intel for the new chipset mobo's. (which btw, only Asus and MSI passed on their first try. Everyone else burned.)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.