Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
30foot HDR Capable HDMI
Old
  (#1)
wrathloki
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 Ti G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming7
Memory: 32GB Ripjaws V 2800mhz
Soundcard: HT Omega eClaro
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Default 30foot HDR Capable HDMI - 02-03-2017, 00:16 | posts: 1,267 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Does anyone know of a good 30 foot HDMI cable that can handle HDR? My Monoprice HDMI 2.0 30 foot redmere cable can't manage to send an HDR signal even at 1080p. So what are my options for cables that have been verified to be fast enough at those lengths?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti/980TiSC PhysX
Processor: i7 6850K 4.5 Ghz 1.34 v
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTWK
Memory: Corsair 3200mhz LPX 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-03-2017, 01:07 | posts: 5,201 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Does anyone know of a good 30 foot HDMI cable that can handle HDR? My Monoprice HDMI 2.0 30 foot redmere cable can't manage to send an HDR signal even at 1080p. So what are my options for cables that have been verified to be fast enough at those lengths?
The make HDMI to Ethernet it ain't cheap though...

https://www.amazon.com/Atlona-AT-UHD...-UHD-EX-70-2PS

You can also search on Amazon, there are several that 'claim' to be capable of 18gbs at 30 feet.

Last edited by HeavyHemi; 02-03-2017 at 01:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
wrathloki
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 Ti G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming7
Memory: 32GB Ripjaws V 2800mhz
Soundcard: HT Omega eClaro
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Default 02-03-2017, 01:48 | posts: 1,267 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
The make HDMI to Ethernet it ain't cheap though...

https://www.amazon.com/Atlona-AT-UHD...-UHD-EX-70-2PS

You can also search on Amazon, there are several that 'claim' to be capable of 18gbs at 30 feet.
Yeah that's the thing, all kinds of cables claim to be 18gbps capable but frequently don't measure up. Is HDMI to Ethernet capable of 18gbps?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti/980TiSC PhysX
Processor: i7 6850K 4.5 Ghz 1.34 v
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTWK
Memory: Corsair 3200mhz LPX 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-03-2017, 05:28 | posts: 5,201 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Yeah that's the thing, all kinds of cables claim to be 18gbps capable but frequently don't measure up. Is HDMI to Ethernet capable of 18gbps?
It claims it is. Ha ha. You'll have to do some research and see if you can get some real answers. For now, it isn't something I have to worry about. And hopefully, by the time I do, they will have something easier or cheaper.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Angrycrab
Master Guru
 
Angrycrab's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan XP EVGA Hybrid Kit
Processor: i7 7700k @ 5.1GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Apex
Memory: GSkill 16GB@4133MHz CL17
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 02-04-2017, 12:27 | posts: 276

Any cable with sufficient bandwidth can send HDR signals no such thing as HDR specific HDMI cables. Look for HDMI 2.0a cables or Highspeed labeled HDMI cables In that length. They should work.

https://www.amazon.com/Fusion4K-High...00SEJPGDK?th=1


Source:
https://www.cnet.com/news/do-you-nee...ables-for-hdr/

Last edited by Angrycrab; 02-04-2017 at 12:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
wrathloki
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 Ti G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming7
Memory: 32GB Ripjaws V 2800mhz
Soundcard: HT Omega eClaro
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Default 02-04-2017, 19:55 | posts: 1,267 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrycrab View Post
Any cable with sufficient bandwidth can send HDR signals no such thing as HDR specific HDMI cables. Look for HDMI 2.0a cables or Highspeed labeled HDMI cables In that length. They should work.

https://www.amazon.com/Fusion4K-High...00SEJPGDK?th=1


Source:
https://www.cnet.com/news/do-you-nee...ables-for-hdr/
Yeah, I understand this, but many cables that claim to be HDMI 2.0a capable or 18gbps capable can't handle that full bandwidth. I have owned such cables. I had a 6 foot monoprice HDMI 2.0a cable in which I couldn't get a picture when I turned on HDMI UHD Color on my tv. Swapped the cable for another brand and voila, it worked. I'm hoping to find someone that has used a longer run cable and managed an HDR picture with it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Angrycrab
Master Guru
 
Angrycrab's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan XP EVGA Hybrid Kit
Processor: i7 7700k @ 5.1GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Apex
Memory: GSkill 16GB@4133MHz CL17
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 02-04-2017, 22:08 | posts: 276

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Yeah, I understand this, but many cables that claim to be HDMI 2.0a capable or 18gbps capable can't handle that full bandwidth. I have owned such cables. I had a 6 foot monoprice HDMI 2.0a cable in which I couldn't get a picture when I turned on HDMI UHD Color on my tv. Swapped the cable for another brand and voila, it worked. I'm hoping to find someone that has used a longer run cable and managed an HDR picture with it.
If they claim to be 18gbps capable and don't work that means they are defective cables and you should return them. I never used cables longer than the standard 10ft but I'm using the ones with ethernet support from Copartner.
They do the job pretty well.
gl.
http://en.copartner.com.tw/front/bin/home.phtml

Last edited by Angrycrab; 02-04-2017 at 22:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
wrathloki
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 Ti G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming7
Memory: 32GB Ripjaws V 2800mhz
Soundcard: HT Omega eClaro
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Default 02-04-2017, 22:33 | posts: 1,267 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrycrab View Post
If they claim to be 18gbps capable and don't work that means they are defective cables and you should return them. I never used cables longer than the standard 10ft but I'm using the ones with ethernet support from Copartner.
They do the job pretty well.
gl.
http://en.copartner.com.tw/front/bin/home.phtml
I don't think this is necessarily true that they're defective if they can't manage the full 18gbps. It's more that there's a lot of false advertising.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
flameguard
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gtx970
Processor: 4790k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: 9.1.2 Atmos
PSU: 520w
Default 02-08-2017, 07:02 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Does anyone know of a good 30 foot HDMI cable that can handle HDR? My Monoprice HDMI 2.0 30 foot redmere cable can't manage to send an HDR signal even at 1080p. So what are my options for cables that have been verified to be fast enough at those lengths?
I have a 33ft cable passing 18gbs 4:4:4 2160p from the pc to a 79" lg.

You will need an ethereal hdm-ga1, will even work with cheap cables but I'd recommend a reasonable gauge cable.

Remarkable device. It will solve all your problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.