Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GA-F2A88XM-HD3P - A10-7860K help needed
Old
  (#1)
ifixit
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 280x > n dead 290x
Processor: amd 6600k @ > 4600
Mainboard: Asus A55BM-E
Memory: 2x4 2133 10-11-10-31-52
Soundcard: Onboard-Realtek
PSU: FSP Hydro G 750 G
Default GA-F2A88XM-HD3P - A10-7860K help needed - 01-27-2017, 08:35 | posts: 30 | Location: New Zealand



https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwD...ew?usp=sharing

or there if the image doesn't show perhaps

Ok that's running AMD OD's stress..

So I have good thermal margin at 40x BUT i'm worried about those temps on the left, 85.6 degrees is 14-15 over the max thermal of that cpu..

any idea's guys false temp? from hadware64 latest beta?

or you think they are accurate..

What would the OC guru's think they could add to that multiplier, as in is it worth it going a bit further?

Last edited by ifixit; 01-27-2017 at 08:38.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 01-27-2017, 15:12 | posts: 9,475 | Location: USA

Most software doesn't read AMDs crap CPU temperature sensors correctly.

I would say it's probably incorrect.
Some bios will show CPU temp.
Hwinfo says idle 57.6. Compare that with the bios.

If the two are similar you have a problem, if they are different, hwinfo isn't reading the sensor correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ifixit
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 280x > n dead 290x
Processor: amd 6600k @ > 4600
Mainboard: Asus A55BM-E
Memory: 2x4 2133 10-11-10-31-52
Soundcard: Onboard-Realtek
PSU: FSP Hydro G 750 G
Default 01-27-2017, 18:25 | posts: 30 | Location: New Zealand

thanks agent. I figured the temps were wrong BUT I think it's reading the thermal overhead correctly. in OD, and on stress about 35 degrees head room. I get what your saying now though, are any of them correct before proceeding.

May have to OC manually and just ramp up in increments and check for stability, it's the only real way.., though if I find it's stable at to high a temp I was worried if I felt comfortable with the setting, i'd leave it set and shorten the life span of the CPU considerably.

but good point, very good point cheers mate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 01-28-2017, 14:51 | posts: 1,660 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

You are running a R9 290X in that system why? I did a similar thing and had such a horrible experience lol. I used a A-series 7700k with my Gtx 780 SC and about 50% of my Games ran like Crap, complete Crap! cod black ops could not even run on that weak ass apu! Any game that was cpu bound I had a huge problem. Replaced it with the 8-core Fx problem fixed.

I would advise you to do the same if possible. Just saying.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.