Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner failed to start
Old
  (#1)
noctiscepheus
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce GTX960m
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: na
Default MSI Afterburner failed to start - 01-04-2017, 14:21 | posts: 3

I just installed MSI Afterburner in a new laptop and this message pops up:

"
C:\Program Files\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.exe

The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxstrace.exe tool for more detail.
"

please help me
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 01-04-2017, 14:58 | posts: 17,211 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Make sure C++ redistribs are installed etc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
noctiscepheus
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce GTX960m
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: na
Default 01-04-2017, 15:08 | posts: 3

The installed ones on my laptop are 2010, 2012, and 2013. Both x86 and x64. Am i missing something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
gedo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 280X DD 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-4690K @4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 3
Memory: 8GB DDR3 2133 CL9 Ares
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + ATH-AD700
PSU: Seasonic G-550
Default 01-04-2017, 17:31 | posts: 221 | Location: Finland

I believe MSI Afterburner uses 2008.

Each generation of Visual C++ Redistributables are their own entity, and an application uses whataver it's compiled against.

Last edited by gedo; 01-04-2017 at 17:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 01-04-2017, 17:36 | posts: 17,211 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by noctiscepheus View Post
The installed ones on my laptop are 2010, 2012, and 2013. Both x86 and x64. Am i missing something?
Use this neat little tool
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=393405
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
noctiscepheus
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce GTX960m
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: na
Default 01-05-2017, 00:40 | posts: 3

Tried the installer. Didnt install the 2008 one. Manually downloaded and installed the 2008 one. An error popped up.

"
Error 1935. An error occurred during the installation of assembly 'Microsoft.VC90.ATL,version="9.0.21022.8",publicKe yToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",processorArchitecture="a md64",type="win32".Please refer to Hlp and Support for more information. HResult: 0x80070002.
"

What now? I can't seem to make it work
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.