Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PSU with no fan connected
Old
  (#176)
elijahk
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 260X
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: Asus H81I-Plus
Memory: Crucial DDR3 1333Mhz 16GB
Soundcard: SP:Creative Gigaworks T20
PSU: Antec Neo Eco 400M
Default PSU with no fan connected - 12-25-2014, 19:00 | posts: 13

Hello

I'm thinking of replacing the fan of my PSU with a more silent one. If I connect the new fan to the motherboard connector, and leave the psu fan connector unused, will the PSU still work as normally, or would it prevent startup because it doesn't detect any fan connected to it?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#177)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 12-26-2014, 03:33 | posts: 9,479 | Location: USA

Should just work normally. Maybe in the very expensive platinum psus they might have a fan sensor but i doubt that CM would have it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#178)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-26-2014, 03:40 | posts: 19,942 | Location: US East Coast

If the PSU uses a PWM fan, it's likely to overheat if you don't run the fan at full speed at all times, since the PSU won't be able to regulate fan speed.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#179)
elijahk
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 260X
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: Asus H81I-Plus
Memory: Crucial DDR3 1333Mhz 16GB
Soundcard: SP:Creative Gigaworks T20
PSU: Antec Neo Eco 400M
Default 12-26-2014, 10:47 | posts: 13

thanks for the replies guys

I should have mentioned that the PSU is an Antec Neo Eco 400M, which is a cheap model.

I don't think it will overheat because I'm going to profile the fan according to system load.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#180)
pedroo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 5970 @1020/1200
Processor: i7-950@3,8Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750w Modular PSU
Default 07-27-2015, 13:07 | posts: 16

For the love of god, never replace the fan of a PSU. Don't even dare to touch anything inside the PSU, if have have no clue. There may be still some load left, even if it wasn't used for hours.

Unless you monitor the temperature inside the PSU all the time, you can never tell if the new fan is sufficient. Do yourself a favour and just buy a better PSU with a good stock fan and don't risk a house fire.

And don't recommend people to change their damn PSU fans....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#181)
elijahk
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 260X
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: Asus H81I-Plus
Memory: Crucial DDR3 1333Mhz 16GB
Soundcard: SP:Creative Gigaworks T20
PSU: Antec Neo Eco 400M
Default 07-27-2015, 13:29 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroo View Post
For the love of god, never replace the fan of a PSU. Don't even dare to touch anything inside the PSU, if have have no clue. There may be still some load left, even if it wasn't used for hours.

Unless you monitor the temperature inside the PSU all the time, you can never tell if the new fan is sufficient. Do yourself a favour and just buy a better PSU with a good stock fan and don't risk a house fire.

And don't recommend people to change their damn PSU fans....
when I did the operation the computer was left unused for 1 month. 1 month!
And the new fan has much higher airflow than the old one, so there is no risk of overheating. I've been running the psu with the new fan for a long time now. No issues so far.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#182)
Freek
Newbie
 
Freek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 530
Processor: i5-6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair 2666 DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: EVGA Supernova 550W
Default 09-30-2015, 15:10 | posts: 35 | Location: Hungary

Hey. Going to buy a new PSU, my crappy Corsair VS550 was bought only for temporary use.
In my country the EVGA Supernova GS550W is in a good price.
Is it a good psu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#183)
chiadretti
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-04-2016, 12:52 | posts: 15

great faq
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#184)
JasmineJas
Newbie
 
JasmineJas's Avatar
 
Videocard: 64-bit
Processor: Phenom X4 9850
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dell inspiron 530s
Default 06-20-2016, 10:27 | posts: 13 | Location: US

In a quick read through on PSU's - I didn't see a mention of ripple, which you will not see under no load, but jumps out and bites you at say 75% lading or more. This matters! Sorry if I missed seeing it elsewhere, but it is an issue and easy to check with a meter, or better, a scope.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#185)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia GTX 1070 mobile
Processor: i7 7700HQ
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400
Soundcard:
PSU: HP
Default 07-17-2016, 09:00 | posts: 4,748 | Location: Finland

MY PSU seem to be failing. Reboots under heavy load and boots with blank screen, only 1 white marker on screen. Need to shutdown power for SPU to restart computer.

Ordered new one so hopefully problem will be fixed.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#186)
navidx67
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 GIG
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: GREEN
Default 11-01-2016, 09:14 | posts: 1

Nice one ..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.