Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 380 4gb
Processor: Intel 6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M5
Memory: HyperX 4*4gb 2666Mhz
Soundcard: UA-55
PSU: Seasonic G650
Default 09-28-2008, 09:29 | posts: 11,487 | Location: Finland

I would format C: first. If you repair, it leaves some stuff (programs, games, etc) to C: which usualy do not work, since there are no registry files for those and you would basicly need to install everything anyways.

It's just easier to do format first.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Abrams
Master Guru
 
Abrams's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9800 gtx+/8850m gddr5
Processor: c2d e6600/i7 4500u
Mainboard:
Memory: 4gb ddr 2/8gb ddr 3
Soundcard: realtek
PSU: 600W/li-on 6 cell
Default 11-23-2008, 18:24 | posts: 598 | Location: Under a rock

Ok a quick question here, when moving the whole rig from one generic case to the good one(TT/Antec and so on), do I need to disassemble CPU coolers\CPU itself?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 380 4gb
Processor: Intel 6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M5
Memory: HyperX 4*4gb 2666Mhz
Soundcard: UA-55
PSU: Seasonic G650
Default 11-23-2008, 19:24 | posts: 11,487 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abrams View Post
Ok a quick question here, when moving the whole rig from one generic case to the good one(TT/Antec and so on), do I need to disassemble CPU coolers\CPU itself?
No.

But if it's old build, it would be good idea to apply new thermal paste to cpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Aseton
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870 1GB GDDR5
Processor: E8500 3.16 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 2Gb DDR2 1066Mhz 5-5-4-12
Soundcard:
PSU: Zalman 750W
Default 12-05-2008, 20:13 | posts: 48

So the question is I'm buying new parts to my pc (ASUS EAH4870 DK/HTDI/
1GD5 and Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 processor) so are they compatible with my current parts: P5K motherboard and Nexus 500W powersupply? Just reply if you need any more information. Thx
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Awesome-Tech
Newbie
 
Awesome-Tech's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia geforce 8200m g
Processor: AMD Turion dual-core 2ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: nvidia high def
PSU: n/a
Default 12-09-2008, 18:56 | posts: 13 | Location: newcastle

great guide
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
EaglePC
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 5700
Processor: i7-2600K SandyBridge
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 Slim
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default 12-04-2009, 13:45 | posts: 329 | Location: U.S.A

yea great guide but very outdated
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Crimson Engage
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 5670
Processor: Phenom II x4 3.0ghz 4
Mainboard: ASUS M4A785-M
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: SBA Titanium 7.1
PSU: 560W Corsair
Default 02-18-2010, 08:09 | posts: 58

Great thread however a lot of the images from step 7 are missing and i really need to see those. lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
MOAB
Newbie
 
MOAB's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galax GTX 950 Sniper OC
Processor: Intel Pentium G4400
Mainboard: Asrock B150M Pro4 Hyper
Memory: Kingston HyperX 8Gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 08-09-2014, 00:37 | posts: 42 | Location: Manila

anyone update this thread?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
ErfanDL
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS 5850 Direct CU TOP
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 885 Watt
Default 09-07-2014, 11:10 | posts: 9

tnx for guide
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Goldie
Banned
 
Videocard: evga 760 4gb sli
Processor: i5 4690k @4.86
Mainboard: z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb Corsair GT @2428
Soundcard: ---
PSU: evga 1200 P2
Default 01-11-2015, 05:44 | posts: 533

My rig
i have 12cm noctua rear exhaust, and 12cm noctua side exhaust, 1 Phanteks 14cm front intake and a 14cm thermalright front intake (+noctua d-14), all fans in case are PWM and all max speed except the thermalright, the 2500rpm is reserved for summer time.



the bottom front intake is blowin cool air right up the rear of the gpus, the top front intake feeds the cpu cooler and cools ram.
my psu fan never runs basically.

Last edited by Goldie; 01-11-2015 at 05:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
lubomir
Member Guru
 
lubomir's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X 4GB
Processor: i5 2500
Mainboard: Asrock H61 DG3
Memory: Ripjaw 8gb (2x4)
Soundcard: Creative T20
PSU: OCZ 650w
Default 04-20-2015, 22:42 | posts: 133

Hi folks.
I need to install a new motherboard to get access to more RAM. Do i need to/ is it strongly advised to do a clean install of Win7 too along with it?

Thought it would be ok to ask in here as opposed to starting a new thread.
Thanks

Last edited by lubomir; 04-20-2015 at 22:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
stalkerfan
Maha Guru
 
stalkerfan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 750w Cooler Master
Default 01-18-2016, 21:13 | posts: 801 | Location: New Zealand

Unless the mobo is the exact same one as the one you are replacing (for instance if your existing MB has a meltdown) then you could get away with not doing a clean install.
In any other situations (like your one) it is highly recommended to backup your stuff and do a clean Windows install after you fit the new mobo.

*edit* lol sorry bout the necro...didn't read the date
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.