Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - 3dfx
Videocards - 3dfx How the mighty have fallen. Unfortunately the company is gone, but of course we still support the products. Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using 3dfx chips from the Voodoo series.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Diamond Monster Voodoo 2 "MegaMonster" Setup
Old
  (#1)
scrapser
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 780 ti Kingpin CLFD 3 GB
Processor: Intel i7 3930K SB-E
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Samsung PC1600 16 gigs
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1200
Default Diamond Monster Voodoo 2 "MegaMonster" Setup - 03-19-2013, 19:48 | posts: 560 | Location: Dover, NH USA

I found this on eBay and it's on the way. Is there anything special I need to set it up? I don't think it will have any drivers since it's used.

I currently have a single Diamond Monster Voodoo 2 using the driver on the CD that it came with (I'm the original owner). I know there have been some drivers developed for 3DFX over the years but haven't messed with them.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

The 3DFX cards are PCI. I have an old Gateway P4 1.8 gHz Socket 478/850 Chipset with 512 megs RAM. The graphics card is a GeForce Ti-4600 128 meg AGP. PSU is 250 watts. I'm running Win98SE on this box.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Glidefan
Don Booze
 
Glidefan's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 | 8600M GS
Processor: i7 6700 | C2D T5550
Mainboard: MSI Z170A
Memory: 16GB| 4096MB
Soundcard: SB Z | ALC 888
PSU: Aurora 600w | 90w AC
Default 03-20-2013, 07:22 | posts: 12,266 | Location: Solar System, Earth, Med, Cyprus

As far as i know, you don't need anything special. Also; i don't know if you can put them on SLI either.
Now for drivers, try this: http://drivers.softpedia.com/progDow...nload-265.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scrapser
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 780 ti Kingpin CLFD 3 GB
Processor: Intel i7 3930K SB-E
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Samsung PC1600 16 gigs
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1200
Default 03-21-2013, 03:07 | posts: 560 | Location: Dover, NH USA

The set of cards I'm getting were designed as an SLI setup out of the box.

Here's a link to see what they look like:

http://www.3dfx.ch/gallery/v/3dfx_co...I-Set.jpg.html

I'm not sure what you mean by saying "...don't know if you can put them on SLI either." They were designed specifically to be installed in SLI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
Processor: 4790k 4.6ghz HT 1.226v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Deluxe
Memory: TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: BifrostUber>Lyr 2>HE-560
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-09-2015, 03:11 | posts: 22,135 | Location: Schiit Headquarters, USA

wrong thread.


Last edited by ---TK---; 06-09-2015 at 03:25.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix GTX 1080
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX@2399
Soundcard: SB ZxR + BD Custom 1 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 06-22-2015, 10:37 | posts: 3,727 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapser View Post
I found this on eBay and it's on the way. Is there anything special I need to set it up? I don't think it will have any drivers since it's used.

I currently have a single Diamond Monster Voodoo 2 using the driver on the CD that it came with (I'm the original owner). I know there have been some drivers developed for 3DFX over the years but haven't messed with them.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

The 3DFX cards are PCI. I have an old Gateway P4 1.8 gHz Socket 478/850 Chipset with 512 megs RAM. The graphics card is a GeForce Ti-4600 128 meg AGP. PSU is 250 watts. I'm running Win98SE on this box.
I used the newest driver provided by 3DFx for my Voodoo 2 cards on Windows 98 SE, it corrects some issues and supports the latest Glide API supported by the card.

I suppose you have 2 monsters with 12MB on each?

As for SLI, the only thing special that you need is the grey ribbon cable between the cards and only using one short VGA cable in the same way as you do with a single Voodoo2.

Last edited by Mineria; 06-22-2015 at 10:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.