Looking to buy used/manufacturer refurb

Discussion in 'Laptops & Notebooks' started by Seref, Jun 12, 2014.

1. Seref

Seref Guest

GPU:
    Nvidia 3080 Ti
    I'm an undergraduate student participating in a number of research projects and have an IT internship opportunity in the future. At the moment I'm schlepping a heavy and crappy Emachines E627. It's a huge pain to lug it around campus and on public transit. So now I'm looking at ultrabooks in the 1000 USD range and have considered taking the used/refurb route. I've looked at Pretty much every thin notebook on the market in that price range and have come up with some favorites.

My main concern isn't the reliability of used/refurbs, it's the hardware performance. Naturally most used and refurb notebooks out there are old models with older generations of hardware. For instance, I could secure much more ssd capacity at the same price with an ivy bridge CPU than with a haswell, but how will that affect the longevity of the device? People treat haswell mobile CPUs as a pretty big deal for power and power draw. I don't want my ivy bridge notebook to be entirely obselete in a couple years.

Is it too much of a step back to look at old generations of hardware (1-2 years, ivy/sandy bridge)?

EDIT: Forgot to mention, the notebook will be getting a lot of use. I'll likely be dual booting Windows and Linux and running a couple VMs (not concurrently). A little bit of CAD as well, and probably a MOBA game or two. Less stressful tasks will include lots of ssh and some light software development and bash scripting.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2014
  2. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    I had the same dilemma 2 -3 years ago,when i started my IT school.
    Back then we had Sandy Bridge affordable,Ivy was new and a bit on expensive side.