Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI X370 Gaming PLus motherboard and ddr4 3200 ram issues!
Old
  (#1)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default MSI X370 Gaming PLus motherboard and ddr4 3200 ram issues! - 07-16-2017, 00:23 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate

Ok i have a MSI X370 board and newest bios and i still can't get my GSKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVGB memory to run at 3200 speeds. IT running now at 2400 speeds. Neither company could help me when i called them on this issue. MSI said come to a forum like this and seek advice which i am. Anyone got any idea's? I love this board with my rezen 1700 octo-core.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 07-16-2017, 19:52 | posts: 7,784 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudecat64 View Post
Ok i have a MSI X370 board and newest bios and i still can't get my GSKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVGB memory to run at 3200 speeds. IT running now at 2400 speeds. Neither company could help me when i called them on this issue. MSI said come to a forum like this and seek advice which i am. Anyone got any idea's? I love this board with my rezen 1700 octo-core.
Based on the model of ram you have i'm 99% sure they are Hynix dual sided memory wish are a little harder to get to DDR4-3200Mhz but it's not impossible.

Please read this thread to get acquainted with the Ryzen platform and overclocking Ram ( http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=412876 ) , that will give you an idea where to start. I will try to help you. I need you to provide me with this information.

1. Download Thaiphoon Burner from here: http://www.softnology.biz/files.html , run the program and post a screenshot of the spd of your memory , that way we can make sure what type of ram you are running ( hynix or samsung , single rank or dual rank ) and what type of chips it is using.

2. Download CPU-Z from here: ( http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html ) open the program and open the spd tab , take a screenshoot and post it in here.

3. Are you overclocking the cpu ? What type of cooling are you using ? What type of voltages are you using on the bios for the cpu , load line calibration , Ram voltage , Ram boot voltage and SOC voltage ?

4. What have you done and tried to get your Ram to DDR4-3200Mhz ?

In order for me to be able to help you i need all that information , let's try to get your ram running at better speeds and will try to shoot for 3200Mhz.

Last edited by chispy; 07-16-2017 at 19:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-17-2017, 00:53 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate



Everything is stock in bios and running on air cooled (stock).

Last edited by dudecat64; 07-17-2017 at 00:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-17-2017, 01:03 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate

Grr stupid photobucket.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 07-17-2017, 01:50 | posts: 7,784 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudecat64 View Post


Everything is stock in bios and running on air cooled (stock).
Hmmmm... cannot see the images :/ , we are going to try adding some volts once you get the pictures working on the host

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudecat64 View Post
Grr stupid photobucket.
That's why i stopped using phototbucket long time ago , try tini pic or drop box.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-17-2017, 03:24 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate



I have tried everything like enabling the extreme memory setting which auto sets the memory to 3200 but that failed. Thanks for the tinypic idea. Works great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 07-17-2017, 07:26 | posts: 7,784 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudecat64 View Post


I have tried everything like enabling the extreme memory setting which auto sets the memory to 3200 but that failed. Thanks for the tinypic idea. Works great.
Thanks for the information and screenshots. You got Hynix MFR Dual sided memory wish it is harder to tweak on my own experience with such memory.

Let's try DDR4-2666 first , Dram voltage 1.40v~1.45v , Dram boot voltage same 1.40v~1.45v , timings 16-18-18-18-42 2T everything else on auto. SOC at 1.15v and report back.

Last edited by chispy; 07-17-2017 at 07:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-17-2017, 07:35 | posts: 6,425 | Location: Australia

You made need to ramp the speeds.

To do this:
  1. ideally clear the CMOS
  2. when the computer boots, enter bios
  3. set the RAM speed to the next option (most likely 2400), DRAM voltage to 1.37 V, and SOC to 1.08 V
  4. reboot
  5. set the speed to the next highest, AND then set the XMP profile with the toggle at the top of the screen
  6. reboot
  7. repeat the process, each time ramping the DRAM speed, setting the XMP profile afterwards, and make sure the DRAM voltage is 1.37 V
  8. when you reach the limit where it won't boot, go back to the last setting
  9. go back to the last speed setting, and start on your timings
  10. don't go crazy with the timings, set sensible figures

For gear down and CR1, if your speed is to high obviously CR1 will be too low. However, since you aren't able to do say, 3466 or higher, then you can try to get CR1 for better performance. Depending on the speed, you may need to do the following. If you can manage to set CR1 with geardown enabled, reboot, and the computer should update the DMI pool and appear to reboot itself. When it does, re-enter the bios and disable gear down. This may allow you to have CR1 with geardown disabled, which will give better performance. Do NOT disable geardown without at least the DMI pool updating, for some reason it's much easier to disable it after the pool is updated.

Remember to set the XMP profile and the RAM speed. It seems to help over setting the same say, 15-15-15-36 yourself, probably because of a subtiming. Also do not do excessive DRAM or SOC voltage. Setting 1.4 V on the RAM and 1.2 V on the SOC may let you go a little higher, but it's probably more indicative that apart from bios memory compatibility, one of the subtimings is set too tight. Higher voltages helps with over-enthusiastic timings for the current RAM compatibility.

I recommend 1.08 V SOC and 1.37 V DRAM maximum because it should be safe for long term use. The rebooting is required with the ramping for the memory training to do its thing. This may not be completely accurate in how it works, but it works so why should I argue?!

I actually did the ramping unintentionally when I went to 3333 CR1 myself, which is probably why I got to 3333 CR1 geardown disabled with the voltages as described. I can actually go lower on the voltages but considering they are possibly needed if speed capability improves with future AGESA I'll keep them there.

Stability. Yes, 100 percent stabile. Since my last boot a couple of days ago I immediately started a large batch of two video encodes parallel (to max out CPU use) with complex processing script, encoder settings etc continuously. Video encoding is memory intensive. I've also concurrently surfed the web, watched videos on a connected TV (with madVR, quality settings etc), and done other things with zero issues. BTW mine is a 24/7 system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-18-2017, 02:21 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate

ok tried and still nothing more then 2400. This motherboard must not be able to support hynix ram at the speeds it meant to run at.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
RedDracoNL
Newbie
 
RedDracoNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: GV-N970G1 1600/7500
Processor: Ryzen 1700 @4.0 h2o
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3200C16D-16GVKB @3200
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 07-20-2017, 08:50 | posts: 23 | Location: Holland

Hee Dudecat64,

I got my memory running @ 3200 by setting XMP and then i have to set tRFC1 tRFC2 tRFC4 and RRDS-FAW manually check your XMP profile for what it should be. hope it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Kool64
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600X
Mainboard: MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Memory: 32 GB G.skill CL 16 4x8
Soundcard:
PSU: Evga 750
Default 07-20-2017, 16:18 | posts: 4 | Location: Green Ohio

What Bios are you on? I have the same board and similar CL 16 3200 G.Skill(CL 16 G.skill is apparently all Hynix) I was able to get 4 sticks to boot out of the box at 2667 and with the latest 5.41 beta bios I have it at 2800 with 14-15-15-15 timings CR 1 gear down off.

I've not tried to see what speed I could reach with only 2 sticks but the newer bios is working a lot better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 07-20-2017, 16:22 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate

I will have to find the beta one as mine was the last official one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default Yesterday, 00:15 | posts: 3,691 | Location: nystate

Ok so mine is updated to the latest available from msi right now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Kool64
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600X
Mainboard: MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Memory: 32 GB G.skill CL 16 4x8
Soundcard:
PSU: Evga 750
Default Today, 19:10 | posts: 4 | Location: Green Ohio

Did it help your ram speeds?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.