Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My New AMD Ryzen 1800X is Dead!
Old
  (#1)
zeebaluch
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 980 Ti AMP Ext SLI
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1800X 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock X99 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB GSkill DDR4 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Thermaltake 1475W Gold
Default My New AMD Ryzen 1800X is Dead! - 07-07-2017, 10:58 | posts: 86 | Location: Karachi, PK

I'm just amazed that how can a new processor get dead so early. I have Ryzen 1800x paired with MSI X370 Gaming Titanium. All of sudden my system went down and I tried to turn it back on but it didn't then I tried every possible effort to wake my system up but no response from my mobo all lights of mobo is off. But when I took my processor off then my mobo turned on. Can you please guide me whats the exact issue? Then again i installed my processor then again everything went off. Do help members...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 2133 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 07-07-2017, 11:14 | posts: 5,622 | Location: THE NORTH!!!

Power supply issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-07-2017, 11:33 | posts: 3,304 | Location: Sheffield UK

Was MSI one the boards you had be careful with auto voltages due it dangerously overvolting the vcore? can't remember which manufacturer it was.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-07-2017, 12:05 | posts: 6,425 | Location: Australia

A lot of the early recommendations that people gave I consider dangerous. This includes high CPU voltages to reach 4.0 GHz, high SOC voltages (1.2 V etc), and even high RAM voltages of 1.4 V and higher. I take it you've cleared the CMOS, and were running the latest bios when the issue occurred?

Hey, check out this deal for your motherboard at Newegg currently (had to google your motherboard model ).

Save USD $50 w/ Intel i7 Kaby Lake CPU combo, limited offer https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813144016

Cool, right?!

Last edited by thatguy91; 07-07-2017 at 12:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 07-07-2017, 12:53 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Can you RMA or exchange ? This is why I always get my stuff from Microcenter,I never had a dead piece of hardware knock on wood but MC always makes things right for you.Some food for thought (future knowlege)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 07-07-2017, 13:20 | posts: 7,784 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeebaluch View Post
I'm just amazed that how can a new processor get dead so early. I have Ryzen 1800x paired with MSI X370 Gaming Titanium. All of sudden my system went down and I tried to turn it back on but it didn't then I tried every possible effort to wake my system up but no response from my mobo all lights of mobo is off. But when I took my processor off then my mobo turned on. Can you please guide me whats the exact issue? Then again i installed my processor then again everything went off. Do help members...
What motherboard was used and what settings , overclocking , cooling , etc ... was used and or you were using when it went down ? I will try to help you out but i need lots more info in order to find out what happened.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 07-08-2017, 00:24 | posts: 246 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
A lot of the early recommendations that people gave I consider dangerous. This includes high CPU voltages to reach 4.0 GHz, high SOC voltages (1.2 V etc), and even high RAM voltages of 1.4 V and higher. I take it you've cleared the CMOS, and were running the latest bios when the issue occurred?

Hey, check out this deal for your motherboard at Newegg currently (had to google your motherboard model ).

Save USD $50 w/ Intel i7 Kaby Lake CPU combo, limited offer https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813144016

Cool, right?!
1.2v SOC is not a problem, but recommended max for daily usage. If you have other info then please share it. Instead of just saying it's dangerous.
Vcore is 1.425V for daily use as stated by Robert Hallock from AMD.

Quote:
You are risking the long time life of your processor if you go higher.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZgp...utu.be&t=3m34s Starts talking about VCore at 8.25

Last edited by Webhiker; 07-08-2017 at 00:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 07-08-2017, 01:00 | posts: 19,942 | Location: US East Coast

My Ryzen 5 1600 spiked to 100C the other night. Weird things can happen on a new platform.

Could be a bad motherboard, could be a faulty CPU. Either is a possibility. Both have electricity going through them. Back in the "AthlonXP" days, I went through several processors in a very short period of time. Some were just bad chips while some were taken out by bad motherboards. Just have to figure out which failed and whether or not it took out the other. Replace what failed and move on. You'll have to provide a lot more information first though if you want help.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-08-2017, 03:12 | posts: 6,425 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webhiker View Post
1.2v SOC is not a problem, but recommended max for daily usage. If you have other info then please share it. Instead of just saying it's dangerous.
Vcore is 1.425V for daily use as stated by Robert Hallock from AMD.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZgp...utu.be&t=3m34s Starts talking about VCore at 8.25
I still think that it's better to play on the safe side. 1.2 V SOC and 1.425 V is high for daily use, sounds like the realm of enthusiast to me. It's also over the point of diminishing returns. If you need 1.2 V over 1.0 V to get an extra 133 MHz on the RAM or 1.425 V over 1.3 V to go from 3.9 GHz to 4.0 GHz, sorry to say but that's idiotic. Anything over a point of diminishing return is not safe for daily use and is only really 'useful' as a 'look at me' bragging point.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kastriot
Master Guru
 
kastriot's Avatar
 
Videocard: Z-AMP.extr-GTX980 1.5GHz
Processor: X5650@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: Avexir&GSkill 24GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 07-08-2017, 06:59 | posts: 701 | Location: Kosovo/Pristina

Well you burned cpu eh, i hope you got warranty if not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 07-08-2017, 10:43 | posts: 246 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
I still think that it's better to play on the safe side. 1.2 V SOC and 1.425 V is high for daily use, sounds like the realm of enthusiast to me. It's also over the point of diminishing returns. If you need 1.2 V over 1.0 V to get an extra 133 MHz on the RAM or 1.425 V over 1.3 V to go from 3.9 GHz to 4.0 GHz, sorry to say but that's idiotic. Anything over a point of diminishing return is not safe for daily use and is only really 'useful' as a 'look at me' bragging point.
Most BIOS versions with AGESA 1.0.0.6 defaults to 1.1v SOC. As Robert Hallock said ... The 1800x in his office needs 1.325v to do 4 GHz and the one He's using at home needs 1.4v to do 4 GHz. Point being, every chip is different. If you need 1.2v SOC to get an extra 133 MHz .. so what ? It's still within safe limits.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-08-2017, 13:43 | posts: 6,425 | Location: Australia

I still argue it's high, platform is still immature and safe limits long term are not established. As soon as you need to raise the voltages considerably for a small gain you are past any hypothetical safe limit. I'm not saying don't overclock, just do it sensibly and not pass the point of diminishing return.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
zeebaluch
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 980 Ti AMP Ext SLI
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1800X 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock X99 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB GSkill DDR4 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Thermaltake 1475W Gold
Default 07-09-2017, 17:09 | posts: 86 | Location: Karachi, PK

I have mentioned my mobo in my thread above and yes i have overclocked my processor at 4.0Ghz and never gets hot. Just look my issue, when my processor is installed in socket there is no power in mobo but when i take my processor off then my mobo gets on and its Diag code shows on mobo is 00. That Means my system doesnt power up at all when processor is installed.. pls now tell me the issue pls..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: UMC-1, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 07-09-2017, 17:35 | posts: 10,209 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Either CPU, mobo or PSU are faulty.
Thats it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Zooke
Member Guru
 
Zooke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X SLI @ 1475
Processor: 4790k @ 5GHz 24/7
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: G-Skill 2133 32Gb
Soundcard: ATH-700X
PSU: AX1500i
Default 07-09-2017, 20:40 | posts: 117 | Location: UK

Seems to me more likely you just got unlucky with a dodgy processor rather than some inherent OC issue, however you still have to rule out the MB and PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 07-10-2017, 01:31 | posts: 7,784 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeebaluch View Post
I have mentioned my mobo in my thread above and yes i have overclocked my processor at 4.0Ghz and never gets hot. Just look my issue, when my processor is installed in socket there is no power in mobo but when i take my processor off then my mobo gets on and its Diag code shows on mobo is 00. That Means my system doesnt power up at all when processor is installed.. pls now tell me the issue pls..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Either CPU, mobo or PSU are faulty.
Thats it.
This ^

You will need to test each one of those components yourself , ie: You will need another Ryzen cpu to test in your motherboard to see if it boots and post ok , if it does post ok with another cpu and boot into bios and enter windows then and only then you will know if your Ryzen cpu truly died or not.

If it does not boot ok and still showing the same problem then you will need to do the same with another AM4 motherboard , You will need another AM4 motherboard to test your Ryzen cpu to see if it boots and post ok , if it does post ok with another motherboard and boot into bios and enter windows it is definitely the motherboard and not the Ryzen cpu that died.

If any of the above does not work ( Testing another cpu + another am4 motherboard ) then you will need to test a different power supply unit to see if it boots ok , if it boots into bios and windows then you will know at this time the problem was the psu all along. There is no way around it , the testing of each component must be done to truly ruled out the other components. That's all you got to do , troubleshoot those components , as nobody can really tell you what the issue is and what went wrong and why , that's impossible. Good luck and i hope you get it running soon.



Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dean469
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX480GTR BE 1385/2100
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Asus M5A97
Memory: G-skill 1600 (8G x2)
Soundcard: on board
PSU: Thermaltake 750w
Default 07-22-2017, 17:15 | posts: 94

Check all the electrical connections to the motherboard first. Main connector and cpu connection. Try a different wall socket, before you do all that other stuff. Start with the simplest easiest thing, and go from there.

Good luck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
okejokej
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD7750 1GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 960T @ X5
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Tacens Radix IV 450W
Default 07-24-2017, 18:53 | posts: 2

It's been a while now, and as I'm considering an upgrade to Ryzen, I had to register just to ask: any update to the story?

If there's none, personally I think it's more likely for the MB to fail than CPU. Given the symptoms, perhaps one or more of CPU socket power phases have failed?

Another thing I noticed is that it seems your PSU is a modular one. I'd say the "all of sudden" could be you hitting the desk or the case lightly, causing an incorrectly inserted and/or faulty 8-pin CPU power cable to lose its connection with the PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.