Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Just moved to Ryzen/Nvidia
Old
  (#1)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default Just moved to Ryzen/Nvidia - 06-03-2017, 02:07 | posts: 554

My old rig was as follows:

FX 8320 @ 4.6Ghz
XFX R9 290X
TeamGroup 12 GB DDR3 1600

The new one is:

Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.75Ghz
MSI Gaming X GTX 1070 @ 2Ghz
Corsair 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz

Upgraded to the latest beta bios which is 9945.
After 5 hours of tinkering with the ram it somehow magically booted
at 2933Mhz without bclk oc. For some reason i manually enter Tcas 15
but in windows it shows 16. Dunno what that's all about.

Processor is really powerhungry. To keep it stable at 3.8Ghz i need 1.4V..
like wtf. I don't see anyone else needing that much for 3.8.

Right now i have it at 3.75 with 1.375v
The cooler on it is a Kraken X31, the motherboard is Crosshair VI Hero
so the kraken was compatible without any am4 kits. at 3.75 it does
73C at cinebench n other tests. Overall literally everything is lightning fast
oh and i can finally play that 8k video on youtube called Ghost Town

https://valid.x86.fr/1pukgn

Cinebench R15 - 1596cb - 2666 Ram
- 1640cb - 2933 Ram
CPU-Z - 430Single/4630Multi



Sorry for making this thread out of nothing i just wanted to share it with
someone

Last edited by IceVip; 06-03-2017 at 10:15.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 06-03-2017, 04:03 | posts: 2,317 | Location: TX

Nice! No shame in being proud of your new build. I bet you are having a much better gaming experience. Old AMD CPU to brand spanking new AMD CPU. 290X to 1070. 1600 DDR3 to 3000 DDR4. You should throw in a couple benches or FPS comparisons to the old setup if you can. I remember when I went from an i5 with 1600 RAM and a 280X to an i7 with 2400 RAM and a 980Ti. I could not stop smiling for about a month. Enjoy!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 06-03-2017, 08:24 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Congrats on the new set-up,How is your gaming experience with the new stuff have you noticed a better overall experience? I am in same position waiting to upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 06-03-2017, 11:38 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

I would probably have kept that 290X and waited for Vega. Other than that looks alright.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Horus-Anhur
Member Guru
 
Horus-Anhur's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 390 Nitro
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 06-03-2017, 11:55 | posts: 143 | Location: Portugal

I have a very similar setup, also with a Ryzen 1700 and a GTX 1070.
I have my 1700 doing 3.7Ghz with 1.2v

It has been many years since I had an AMD CPU. My last one was a Athlon 64 X2 3800+.
Not only Ryzen is a great CPU, but it is also good to be back to using AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 06-03-2017, 12:32 | posts: 554

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
I would probably have kept that 290X and waited for Vega. Other than that looks alright.


thats my 290x after meeting an acer projector. Otherwise i would've kept it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 06-03-2017, 13:25 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

That explains the upgrade, lol.

It looks nasty.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 06-03-2017, 14:10 | posts: 554

Here's a benchmark of GTA V at 4k, everything maxed out except the advanced draw distance
and i used photorealistic graphics mod:



P.S left is old cpu right is new one.
Both used the gtx1070 . The performance difference is
Close to none but at 1080p i saw like a 70% bump in fps

Last edited by IceVip; 06-03-2017 at 15:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Elder III
Ancient Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB
Processor: R7 1700X 4.0 @ 1.425
Mainboard: AsRock X370 Fatal1ty
Memory: GSkill RGB 16GB 3200 CL14
Soundcard: Corsair VOID RGB
PSU: CM Silent Pro 1000W
Default 06-04-2017, 20:47 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Upstate New York

Congrats on the new build! That should do quite nicely for a few years or longer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 06-06-2017, 08:08 | posts: 6,800 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Grats to the new build, I guess it will keep you busy for some time with the new CPU and GPU. Or not, because everything's faster now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 06-06-2017, 09:04 | posts: 6,800 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketomaniac View Post
Considering this is a forum and you have the same setup as him, I think you should try and help him out as to why he needs 1.4V for his overclock while you need only 1.2V. Not to mention he has a fricking Crosshair which is an overclocking champ. Dont just congratulate him and run after benchmarks and fps..try and help him overclock better.
Ever heard of silicone lottery?

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...ck_statistics/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Kaarme
Master Guru
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 390
Processor: i5 6600K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: HyperX DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
Default 06-06-2017, 09:19 | posts: 710 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantaskarsef View Post
Ever heard of silicone lottery?
I don't think Guru3D is the right place to talk about silicone lottery. This is a place for a different sort of equipment.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080ti SC
Processor: 2600k@4.8 w/ NH-D15S
Mainboard: P8Z77-V
Memory: G-Skills ddr3 16GB@1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: TX850
Default 06-06-2017, 10:51 | posts: 8,318 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post


thats my 290x after meeting an acer projector. Otherwise i would've kept it
Bet that smelled lovely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 06-06-2017, 10:57 | posts: 6,800 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaarme View Post
I don't think Guru3D is the right place to talk about silicone lottery. This is a place for a different sort of equipment.


Just wanted to show that OP doesn't show an exceptionally bad CPU, and that it might very well be the case that even though Ice knows his way around, he might not be able to go much lower with his CPU's voltage. So it's not automatically the time to bash people for not helping him as he didn't request help, nor does it look like he's doing something horribly wrong either. At least that was my impression.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 06-06-2017, 19:03 | posts: 554

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantaskarsef View Post


Just wanted to show that OP doesn't show an exceptionally bad CPU, and that it might very well be the case that even though Ice knows his way around, he might not be able to go much lower with his CPU's voltage. So it's not automatically the time to bash people for not helping him as he didn't request help, nor does it look like he's doing something horribly wrong either. At least that was my impression.
Yeah I'm pretty much settled.

Took out the Kraken X31 and replaced it with the stock cooler due to
the cooling efficiency of the stock one being 3-5% better than the aio..
Reseated them twice i guess amd nailed this cooler because I've never
seen a box cooler being better than some liquid solution.

Right now I'm at 3,7Ghz 1.3625v, bclk is at 102.2 so that my ram is at 2997mhz.
Oddly enough it boots from cold boot. I guess I'm lucky there because a lot
of people can't cold boot after applying xmp profiles and bclk clocks on top.
The cpu is stable but the temperature is somewhat fluctuating between
75C and 80C in After Effects and Cinema 4D renders. I'm fine with that temp.
Probably in the future ill get a Hydro 110i GT, try and go for 3.9 though i needed
around 1.46v for the system to even boot at that frequency. My chip is the
worst to yet see light. I guess for 4.0 i need 1.5x volts
Considering the max safe given from amd is 1.35v even though the auto
sets the voltage at 1.38.. I'll just play safe for now. System is way too fast
for me to complain about anything, even at stock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 06-07-2017, 08:01 | posts: 6,800 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post
Yeah I'm pretty much settled.

Took out the Kraken X31 and replaced it with the stock cooler due to
the cooling efficiency of the stock one being 3-5% better than the aio..
Reseated them twice i guess amd nailed this cooler because I've never
seen a box cooler being better than some liquid solution.

Right now I'm at 3,7Ghz 1.3625v, bclk is at 102.2 so that my ram is at 2997mhz.
Oddly enough it boots from cold boot. I guess I'm lucky there because a lot
of people can't cold boot after applying xmp profiles and bclk clocks on top.
The cpu is stable but the temperature is somewhat fluctuating between
75C and 80C in After Effects and Cinema 4D renders. I'm fine with that temp.
Probably in the future ill get a Hydro 110i GT, try and go for 3.9 though i needed
around 1.46v for the system to even boot at that frequency. My chip is the
worst to yet see light. I guess for 4.0 i need 1.5x volts
Considering the max safe given from amd is 1.35v even though the auto
sets the voltage at 1.38.. I'll just play safe for now. System is way too fast
for me to complain about anything, even at stock.

hehe well it does look like they did a good job with the boxed cooler then, they are Scythe ones aren't they? Wouldn't have expected it though, you sure your AIO is doing it's job 100%?

The bold part's the most important, the rest is bragging rights and extra perf for no cost. We're enthusiasts after all, it would be kind disappointing if there was nothing to do or tune after all I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 06-07-2017, 12:41 | posts: 554

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantaskarsef View Post
hehe well it does look like they did a good job with the boxed cooler then, they are Scythe ones aren't they? Wouldn't have expected it though, you sure your AIO is doing it's job 100%?

The bold part's the most important, the rest is bragging rights and extra perf for no cost. We're enthusiasts after all, it would be kind disappointing if there was nothing to do or tune after all I guess.
Yeah I'm sure its doing its job because i know what happens if you plug
the nzxt fan into the motherboard cpu fan header instead of the power plug
on the cooling unit itself. The fan works but the pump doesn't. Booting causes
instant 80c+ and follows a thermal shutdown if you try and run windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.