What are latest drivers that will work for Mobility Radeon HD 5650?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Orl14, Aug 26, 2014.

1. Orl14

Orl14 Guest

GPU:
    Mobility Radeon HD 5650
    Hey guys I have my VAIO E laptop here with the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 video card, the drivers that are currently installed is the version 12.11 from this forum:

"ATI Catalyst 12.11 Beta 11 Modded driver For Legacy GPU"

I know that they're outdated now and I really need to install new drivers, which one of the driver updates that I see in the main forum page can I easily install?

I really don't want to experiment on all the available drivers on this forum because I'm kinda new to this and my "System Restore" is currently not working.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  2. FunkyMike

FunkyMike Guest

GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    The latest drivers that will work for you are:

Intel Legacy Driver from the UnifL 14.4 1.1 package.

+

Official AMD 14.4 mobility

14.6 and above will not work for you since fixed switching is disabled on those drivers in conjunction with your first gen Intel device.

3. Orl14

Orl14 Guest

GPU:
    Mobility Radeon HD 5650
    Thanks!

Can I ask another question?

Regarding my faulty system restore, what are other alternatives for it if I somehow mess up the driver installation?

4. Orl14

Orl14 Guest

GPU:
    Mobility Radeon HD 5650
    Err wait..does that mean that I should install both or I can choose from either one?

5. FunkyMike

FunkyMike Guest

GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000

I am not sure on what is wrong with your restore function. Try google for possible solutions to make it work again.

You need the Intel driver from UnifL 14.4 1.1. This is 100% needed.
    The AMD driver in that package has an error for your card and will not deploy properly.