Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 10 mouse speed problem
Old
  (#1)
Apparatus
Master Guru
 
Apparatus's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 470 4gb
Processor: i7 7700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: CORSAIR RM750X
Default Windows 10 mouse speed problem - 08-04-2017, 09:45 | posts: 199

I have a fresh(3 days) 15063.502 build(version 1703)installation of win10 pro x64.

After a long session in which i changed various windows settings, i restarted and my mouse speed is the double than before.
I droped two notches the mouse speed setting from the Windows control panel and the situation is a bit better but not satisfactory.

I always use default mouse speed and i never had a similar issue.

Any ideas on what can altered my mouse speed ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
MisterGutsy
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP Extreme
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Maximum VI Hero
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-04-2017, 09:58 | posts: 7

Do you have a razer mouse?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Apparatus
Master Guru
 
Apparatus's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 470 4gb
Processor: i7 7700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: CORSAIR RM750X
Default 08-04-2017, 11:05 | posts: 199

No.
I have a wireless Logitech M170 set(mouse&keyboard).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-04-2017, 11:15 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

May be try MarkC mouse fix (in case the acceleration parameters are broken in registry).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-04-2017, 11:28 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Try installing it's software
http://support.logitech.com/en_gb/pr...use/downloads#
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 08-04-2017, 11:56 | posts: 717 | Location: Norway

Disable "Enhanced mouse precision" in mouse settings. Should be right under the where you set your mouse speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Apparatus
Master Guru
 
Apparatus's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 470 4gb
Processor: i7 7700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: CORSAIR RM750X
Default 08-04-2017, 12:01 | posts: 199

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
May be try MarkC mouse fix (in case the acceleration parameters are broken in registry).
I tried with no luck.
I will give it another go, with more dpi combinations.

I also tried :

- remove and replug the receiver in the usb port
- uninstall the device via device manager and reboot
- sfc/ scannow
- experiment with dpi values from display settings menu


Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
I already saw it, but do you think it has something to offer ?
I want to say that from what i saw it will give me the option to alter mouse speed.
But i already have and tried that option from the buildin win control panel.
When drop the speed by two notches the all experience is affordable.
If i drop it one more, the mouse becomes too slow and practically unusable. It feels more a sensitivity, rather than speed, issue.
Keep also in mind that i already used this mouse in the past with windows 10 installations with no problems.
No problem after the recent(before two days) format also.
The problem started suddenly and i can't imagine what created it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-04-2017, 12:23 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

No harm in trying it, I know I get a better experience with the Razer software installed than without
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Apparatus
Master Guru
 
Apparatus's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 470 4gb
Processor: i7 7700k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: CORSAIR RM750X
Default 08-04-2017, 16:39 | posts: 199

As i had applied the windows dpi fix(125%), i did the sequent :

1) removed the dpi fix by applying windows default dpi settings
2) restarted
3) signed out and signed in
4) reverted dpi scaling to default (100%)
5) applied Markc mouse fix (default reg file)
6) signed out and signed in
7) re-applied the dpi fix (125%)
8) restarted
9) applied Markc mouse fix (125% reg file)
10) signed out and signed in
11) dropped one notch the mouse speed settings from wcpl

That seems to fix the issue.
I can't confirm that everything is as it was before, but i now have a good experience.
I will see how things go, and i will maybe use even the Logitech software if the problem reappear.

Thank you all for your help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-05-2017, 00:26 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

I have not messed any ofthat on windows in years, I leave it default and set my mouse to 2 static DPI setting on it onboard profiles using LGS and it never changes, only thing that change how my mouse behaves issmouse acceleration in windows.

I dont even use software for my mouse anymore I dont have setpoint installed for my kb or lgs for my mouse. no reason less issues that can be cause by software and updates

well providing it not windows causing the issue in first place

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-05-2017 at 00:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
altered, fast, mouse speed, windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.