Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Game Tweaks and Modifications
Game Tweaks and Modifications This forum is dedicated to game modifications and tweaks. Here you can discuss performance and image quality modifications.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
TODDNAUTS
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 1070
Processor: Intel Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 500watt
Default 08-02-2017, 23:41 | posts: 8

So far I'm loving what I see. But all I can consider is adding a few videos to show it in action.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-02-2017, 23:47 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

We will
I also want to do some script changes that will be showed soon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 05:19 | posts: 77

You know if is possible modify to increase the size of the fires in the gas station...I mean the fires on the final game has a size so little when it generates and I don't know if is possible to increase it, because the original E3 textures of fires and explosions are in the game and if the size could be modified we can edit the final textures and replacing with the E3 ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-03-2017, 12:26 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

Which ones are e3 then? Because what I did was copying small texture to high then medium to high , making it thicker , then copying that edited texture as medium and small , did some more adjustments and done , I want to add some debris and more particles , the problem is I DON'T know WHICH file to edit to add new particles , Silver does know but he doesn't want to tell which file is it
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 15:27 | posts: 77

Ok this goes with Google translator so sorry haha

I say that they are in the game because I have seen the video of the demo quite a few times and the final version and I know that the fire files of the final version are these

Gfx_firelarge_d
Gfx_firelarge_d_high
Gfx_firemedium_d
Gfx_firemedium_d_high
Gfx_firesmall_d
Gfx_firesmall_d_high
Gfx_fireball_d <I'm not sure it's from the gas station but it's part of the fires of the final version.
Gfx_fireball_d_high <I'm not sure it's from the gas station but it's part of the fires of the final version.

Now those of the E3 are these

Gfxm_d_firegen_10x12_01
Gfxm_d_firegen_10x12_01_high

<This is the one seen at the beginning of the shooting when it is quickly shown that the gas station is being burned.

Gfx_fireball0164_d
Gfx_fireball0164_d_high
Gfx_fireball01b64_d
Gfx_fireball01b64_d_high

These are the ones that are supposed to be the fire of the explosion and the final fire after the explosion.

Gfx_fallingflames_d
Gfx_fallingflames_d_high

<And these are the falling flames.

Obviously the amount of procedural destruction and GFX used was eliminated but if it is based on the final version can have a better result and something similar to E3 I think.

All those files are in patch / graphics / gfx / fires.

And in patch / graphics / gfx / explosions.

gfx_explosion_d
gfx_explosion_d_high

They are the files of the explosion of the cars, all this is in the unpack of windy_city.dat

Clarify this is what I have seen and I can be totally wrong but anyway I wanted to tell you that you are really the modders and not me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-03-2017, 15:46 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

Aren't the fireball textures the falling flame "Ball's" that are still in vanilla game?
I know about the firegen thing , those are the ground flames that appear after the fireball lands on the ground
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 16:05 | posts: 77

What you say "Ball's" are the falling flames of which I name you above, the textures of fireballs are other and are the ones I told you.

Yep on firegen that you say appears after landing on the ground ... BUT ... firegen is also the one that appears at the beginning of the shooting in the demo, when you see that the gas station starts to burn.

([E3 2012] Watch Dogs - E3 Gameplay Demo - 6:55)
([E3 2012] Watch Dogs - E3 Gameplay Demo - 7:10 - 7:15)

After you see the gas station burning, you still see those firegen

([E3 2012] Watch Dogs - E3 Gameplay Demo - 7:46)


EDIT: I forgot about the smoke of the demo I think these are because of the dense they look and the color so dark

Gfxm_d_smoke_loop_5x5_d
Gfxm_d_smoke_loop_5x5_d_high

And in the final version I think these are

Gfx_smoketrailsthin_d
Gfx_smoketrailsthin_d_high

<These are the ones that are seen after exploding the machines where you shoot so that the explosion begins.

Gfx_smokelarge_d
Gfx_smokelarge_d_high
Gfx_smokemedium_d
Gfx_smokemedium_d_high
Gfx_smokesmall_d
Gfx_smokesmall_d_high

<These are the final version (I think, because I have not detailed them so much yet).

Gfx_smokethick_d
Gfx_smokethick_d_high
Gfx_thick0364_d
Gfx_thick0364_d_high
Gfx_thick0464_d
Gfx_thick0464_d_high

<These are part of the demo or the final version, I do not know.

Gfxm_smoke_10x5_d
Gfxm_smoke_10x5_d_high
Gfx_phosphorussmoke0132_d
Gfx_phosphorussmoke0132_d_high

<And these I have not seen them anywhere ... I say maybe I'm mistaken enormously.

Gfx_d_smokes_thin <this is only a 22KB file but they are the bullets tracers of the demo, I say it because I edit the file of the bullet tracer of the final version

(Gfx_d_bullet_tracer_d that is located in patch / graphics / gfx / _common)

And I added only one line of smoke from the four that brings the texture and accepts but not as in the demo just like the bullet but it is exactly the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-03-2017, 16:40 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

I replaced some of the smoke like you said and it looks like this


Thoughts?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 16:50 | posts: 77

I had not even experimented with the smokes but with the fires yep

Thoughts?
1. Did you replace the texture on the file that uses the final version or edited the texture on each of the sequences of the vanilla file?

- I say this because at first I replaced the firesmall texture with firegen without regard to the resolution sizes of the file and I did not work, only the texture came out as frames.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-03-2017, 16:53 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

I replaced the smoke's only (And it somehow works without any glitches)
Fire texture is my own edited vanilla ones
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 17:00 | posts: 77

Mmm I got it...let me 1 minute to take a shoot at my fire.

And obviously works because the way it works without fail is to replace directly from the original file.
EXAMPLE you open the original file of gfx_explosion_d_high and from the .dds you edit it and add another texture preserving resolution size (multiple of 4 according to the file) and it works because you are editing the original file and not creating a new one or replacing names.
Because if you just replace names the game detects the original file of windy_city.dat and uses it instead of the one you replaced.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-03-2017, 17:10 | posts: 334

yeah this is called fooling the engine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 17:12 | posts: 77

Ok i'm new on this of photos

https://www.flickr.com/photos/151373...posted-public/

The smokes are originals (vanilla) and the fires are my own edit (more or less good) ahahah
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-03-2017, 17:28 | posts: 334

can u please continue discussing about this topic in the general modding page?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 17:33 | posts: 77

Yep sorry...I just say it because your page and mod its about E3 things Sorry anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-03-2017, 17:41 | posts: 334

nope its okay and thx for the info
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Mrlu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: UNKNOWN
Processor: UNKNOWN
Mainboard: UNKNOWN
Memory: UNKNOWN
Soundcard: UNKNOWN
PSU: UNKNOWN
Default 08-03-2017, 18:03 | posts: 77

Oh great you're welcome and i'll wait for your mod...that's sure
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-03-2017, 18:57 | posts: 334

great to hear that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Dvirzigel
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 970 4gb
Processor: Intel core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EPS 12V
Default 08-03-2017, 23:39 | posts: 45

So Iíve played with the beta and I must say this mod is the best Watch_dogs ever looked and played.

I do have just a few small gripes with it.
The camera is still close but not entirely correct, some of the really really cool E3 UI changes to normal when using a controller, the thing in the middle of the screen when turning on profiler is kind of strange and I would prefer to have vanilla one, this mod doesnít use the custom E3 textures from mashup mod which were amazing, the headlight lens flares are also close but not the same as E3 and I really wish you would add the light cones the come out of car headlights that are present in E3 but I think only Pure E3 mod had.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-04-2017, 00:02 | posts: 334

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvirzigel View Post
So Iíve played with the beta and I must say this mod is the best Watch_dogs ever looked and played.

I do have just a few small gripes with it.
The camera is still close but not entirely correct, some of the really really cool E3 UI changes to normal when using a controller, the thing in the middle of the screen when turning on profiler is kind of strange and I would prefer to have vanilla one, this mod doesnít use the custom E3 textures from mashup mod which were amazing, the headlight lens flares are also close but not the same as E3 and I really wish you would add the light cones the come out of car headlights that are present in E3 but I think only Pure E3 mod had.
I am really happy u tried the mod and i was waiting for people like you to comment and suggest me. sure i will bring those textures you want. yes we will use the old profiler crosshair. i am not sure about the head lights but i will search for it in pure e3 mod. thx for trying the mod. and i will try with the camera too. about the UI i am nto sure about it i will ask the creator and we will see.

Last edited by KAOS GAMING; 08-04-2017 at 00:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Dvirzigel
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 970 4gb
Processor: Intel core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EPS 12V
Default 08-04-2017, 00:31 | posts: 45

Thanks! Also is it just me or do the steam pipe explosions look kind of similar to the E3 gas station? It can even change color depending on surrounding light so it could be red.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
KAOS GAMING
Master Guru
 
KAOS GAMING's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 960 4gb
Processor: intel core i5 4460
Mainboard: Gigabyte H81M-S2PT
Memory: 8gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 550w
Default 08-04-2017, 00:34 | posts: 334

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvirzigel View Post
Thanks! Also is it just me or do the steam pipe explosions look kind of similar to the E3 gas station? It can even change color depending on surrounding light so it could be red.
Ummm we will look into it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
HeySlickThatsMe
Master Guru
 
HeySlickThatsMe's Avatar
 
Videocard: No Record
Processor: No Record
Mainboard: No Record
Memory: No Record
Soundcard: No Record
PSU: No Record
Default 08-04-2017, 01:14 | posts: 462 | Location: No Record

I made the camera , it was based on camera from mashup mod , I made the sprint camera be used for walking , swing etc , it wasn't really a part of mod just test thing , KAOS included it so why not ,I'll look at the UI , I really haven't played with the controller , but now I'll see what goes wrong , and I will take a look on gas station explosion , it indeed looks like the e3 one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
AjGamer
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti
Processor: Core i7-4790K @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CX750M
Default 08-04-2017, 02:59 | posts: 125

Hey guys, tried to do a gang hideout and got a crash. Can anyone else confirm?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
txgt
Maha Guru
 
txgt's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: Team Xtreem 2600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: GTX 770 HDMI
PSU: Cooler Master SPG 1200W
Default 08-04-2017, 03:06 | posts: 808 | Location: Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvirzigel View Post
I really wish you would add the light cones the come out of car headlights that are present in E3 but I think only Pure E3 mod had.
You can turn on headlight cones in any mod and even in vanilla. It's "RenderRain" parameter in "GameProfile.xml" and in "defaultrenderconfig.xml" that is inside the "patch" files.
To turn on/off "RenderRain" you need to edit your "GameProfile.xml" file located in your "Documents" -> "My Games" -> "Watch_Dogs" -> "folder with very long random name". Right click on GameProfile.xml and choose "Edit". Make sure "Word wrap" is disabled in Notepad. Find RenderRain="0" parameter nearly at the end of the 5th line and change it to "1" if you want to turn it on, or to "0" if you want it off. Close and save changes.
NOTE: If the mod you using don't have it turned on in "defaultrenderconfig.xml" (RenderRain="0") then when you select "Auto Detect" in "Options" -> "Graphics Quality" menu the "RenderRain" will be turned off next time you launch the game. To avoid this you can make your "GameProfile.xml" read only. But then other setting changes will not be saved.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.