Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 10 keeps enabling System Restore.
Old
  (#1)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default Windows 10 keeps enabling System Restore. - 07-12-2017, 21:39 | posts: 5,079

So since i have Acronis True Image i always disable System Restore on all Drives.

But i noticed Windows 10 keeps enabling it.

I even set it to disabled in group Policy, but it keeps enabling it on the C drive.

Anyone else with this issue?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
zimzoid
Maha Guru
 
zimzoid's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEVGA980TiSC+(H20) Swift
Processor: i7 4930K/Corsair H110i
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Ed
Memory: GSkillRipjawsZ4x4 2133mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx Denon Klipsch 5.1
PSU: CM V1200w Platinum
Default 07-12-2017, 22:06 | posts: 1,340 | Location: New Zealand

Yeah I've noticed this too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 07-12-2017, 22:10 | posts: 5,079

Guess ill limit it to 1%, seems to be the only fix to save SSD space.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 07-13-2017, 05:49 | posts: 13,190 | Location: Sweden

The group policy will hold (Well it should at least.) but it'll show as if it's enabled occasionally and if that bothers you then you'll have to open GPEdit again and re-adjust the policy and then disable system restore only to have to repeat it all whenever it next changes.

I haven't found a connection as to what exactly ticks it but some driver updates seem to cause it to happen more frequently, perhaps they call for a system backup or perhaps the OS just calls that function causing it to be re-enabled.
(Or in the case of group policy it'll look like it's on but you won't find any images since it's technically still disabled aside from the UI reporting it incorrectly.)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 07-13-2017, 12:21 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

For example, it can be setting in Windows Update like "create system restore point before installing updates". Also there is same setting in Defender iirc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 07-14-2017, 07:58 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

I do use System Restore on my PC in case I want to revert back after, say, a bad driver install (I always do a manual checkpoint when installing any new drivers), although I do also use Acronis True Image to do monthly backups of my C drive. However, I have noticed what appears to be a bug in Windows that changes the amount of space System Restore uses from 1% (9 GB) to 100%!!! That is especially annoying and only seems to have happened since upgrading to Windows 10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 07-15-2017, 21:52 | posts: 5,079

It seems to stay Disabled ever since i went back to the Anniversary Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I do use System Restore on my PC in case I want to revert back after, say, a bad driver install (I always do a manual checkpoint when installing any new drivers), although I do also use Acronis True Image to do monthly backups of my C drive. However, I have noticed what appears to be a bug in Windows that changes the amount of space System Restore uses from 1% (9 GB) to 100%!!! That is especially annoying and only seems to have happened since upgrading to Windows 10.
I also use Acronis, weekly though and i only save 6 full backups, which is just over a month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 07-16-2017, 02:28 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

system restore is disabled on all my drives in windows creator update, Then again I also went threw the trouble of removing the system restore partions windows 10 creates too

I basicly manual created all my partions then installed windows 10 maybe this is why i dont have this issue?

Aida64 says it on if you look the defender under security though

Last edited by tsunami231; 07-16-2017 at 03:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nick0323
Maha Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.8GHz @1.36v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 4x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 07-19-2017, 18:15 | posts: 841 | Location: Old England

I don't have this issue and stopped using system restore with Windows 10 since it's so easy to friggin' repair it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 07-19-2017, 23:40 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

I dont use System repair never have, It easier to just format and do clean installs, and less time consuming then fixing some stuff specially when one is in the habit of backing up things or keeping vital things you cant be losing OFF the OS drive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 07-20-2017, 09:14 | posts: 5,079

I completely reinstalled now with the Media Creation Tool on USB, which installs 1703 instantly. Everything seems to behave normal again.

Not sure but, i feel like using CCleaner does more harm than good to an OS. Specially the registery cleaner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 07-20-2017, 23:11 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDeeGee View Post
I completely reinstalled now with the Media Creation Tool on USB, which installs 1703 instantly. Everything seems to behave normal again.

Not sure but, i feel like using CCleaner does more harm than good to an OS. Specially the registery cleaner.
I dont really use CCleaners reg cleaner much if at all anymore, I just make manual a CCleaner auto run task in the taskmanager it let clear out things it normal cleaners along with few custom folder daily, more complicated the OS get the more things added to the more temperamental it is

I been pushing off install 1703 though , I dont want isntall on dad pc to find out it fubard the startmenu cause I cant do clean install on this pc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 07-21-2017, 07:45 | posts: 5,079

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I dont really use CCleaners reg cleaner much if at all anymore, I just make manual a CCleaner auto run task in the taskmanager it let clear out things it normal cleaners along with few custom folder daily, more complicated the OS get the more things added to the more temperamental it is

I been pushing off install 1703 though , I dont want isntall on dad pc to find out it fubard the startmenu cause I cant do clean install on this pc
Cool thing about the Creators Update is that you can defer feature updates for 365 days, rather than 180.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
TheDeeGee
Ancient Guru
 
TheDeeGee's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial Ballistix LP 16GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 07-24-2017, 11:13 | posts: 5,079

And it enabled again

Atleast the slider stays at 1%, i can live with that.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.