Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#626)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-02-2017, 16:39 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Both good and bad news on supporting 17.7.2 drivers.

Good:

AMD still have not released new SDK publicly so not all tools can be updated now, but at least they are providing private updated copies of SDK to AIB partners. I've just got my copy via MSI, I guess the same applies to Sapphire and ASUS. So AIB vendor's tools (like MSI AB, Sapphire Trixx and ASUS GPU Tweak) can be updated now to be compatible with 17.7.2 API changes. I guess I'll need a couple hours to update MSI AB and provide new beta. Vendor independent tools (like WattTool) will have to wait for public SDK release though.

Bad:

Unofficial overclocking path no longer seem to be working properly on Fiji and Polaris, it immediately locks clocks at minimum performance level and keeps that state till reboot. And considering that AMD do not support that overclocking implementation in any form I guess that the chances that it is broken once and forever are really high. For now I'll completely disable unofficial overclocking mode in MSI AB for 17.7.2 and newer drivers, but I will leave a config switch to unlock it if AMD decide to fix that one day.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 08-02-2017 at 20:59.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#627)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte RX500
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 16GB-4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 08-02-2017, 17:24 | posts: 1,118 | Location: Into the light

Thanks for the input,Alexey.

This is Sucks,why they change these things for Fiji & Polaris?
I was thinking they changed only in Windows 10 (WDDM 2.2),but they do it even in Windows 7(Win8.1 is out of their support)

17.7.1 is still good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#628)
THEAST
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD7950 + HD7970 CF
Processor: i7-5820k @ 4.25 GHz
Mainboard: MSI X99A SLI Krait
Memory: 4x4GB G.Skill 3000 MHz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 08-02-2017, 17:29 | posts: 196

@unwinder, thank you for the great news.

Can you comment on whether GCN v1.0 has been fully ported over to the new API in v17.2.2, or not? As you yourself pointed out before, since GCN v1.0 porting was incomplete in the previous drivers, it created compatibility problems with AB for those particular cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#629)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-02-2017, 18:16 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

New beta is available:

http://office.guru3d.com/afterburner...p440Beta15.rar

Changes:

- Active bus clock monitoring for Intel CPUs. Previous version measured Intel bclk just once on startup, so if you use software CPU overclocking via adjusting bus clock on the fly, wrong CPU clock speed could be displayed. Now bus clock is measured on each hardware polling period.
-Added OverdriveN X2 overclocking API support for 17.7.2 AMD display drivers.
- Unofficial overclocking API is currently broken in 17.7.2. drivers (applying the clocks with it makes GPU stuck in lowest P-state till reboot) so MSI Afterburner is forcibly disabling unofficial overclocking mode and always using official ADL overclocking codepath on 17.7.2 and newer drivers. However, unofficial overclocking mode can still be manually unlocked via configuration file on 17.7.2 and newer drivers if AMD decide to provide a fix for unofficial overclocking mode in the future.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#630)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-02-2017, 18:17 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEAST View Post
@unwinder, thank you for the great news.

Can you comment on whether GCN v1.0 has been fully ported over to the new API in v17.2.2, or not? As you yourself pointed out before, since GCN v1.0 porting was incomplete in the previous drivers, it created compatibility problems with AB for those particular cards.
Cannot comment that, sorry. I don't use such GPU in any of my test PCs anymore, it is too old.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#631)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 08-02-2017, 19:03 | posts: 2,372 | Location: Qatar

ok cool , didn't read that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#632)
Valerys
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R290 Tri-X OC
Processor: Intel Pentium G4560
Mainboard: MSI H110M PRO-VD
Memory: 16GB DDR4@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Sirtec HPE 700W
Default 08-02-2017, 19:09 | posts: 288

All's good here with 17.7.2 and R9 290, clocks are available once again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#633)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-02-2017, 21:01 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

BTW, Vega 64 is flying to me now. So I expect to provide a beta with new AMD GPU family support in nearest few weeks.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#634)
Dekaohtoura
Master Guru
 
Dekaohtoura's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290 ACIV 1120/1300
Processor: FX8320@4.8GHz...going up.
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FXR2.0
Memory: 2x8GB KingstonBeast@1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 08-03-2017, 15:50 | posts: 191

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
BTW, Vega 64 is flying to me now. So I expect to provide a beta with new AMD GPU family support in nearest few weeks.
Do your best/worst!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#635)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 (Baked)
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: MSI H97 PC Mate
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengean 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 08-03-2017, 16:28 | posts: 718 | Location: UK

New beta confirmed working fine on GCN 1.0 using 17.7.2 drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#636)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-05-2017, 00:17 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Anyone with AMD Hawaii GPU can confirm that the following issue still exists?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#637)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-06-2017, 13:30 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

New MSI Afterburner 4.4.0 beta 16 is online:

http://office.guru3d.com/afterburner...p440Beta16.rar

- ODN X2 overclocking API support introduced in the beta 16 made it incompatible with some older driver versions (e.g. 17.7.1), having partially implemented ODN X2 functionality. Now there are more sophisticated checks for selecting proper overclocking API, so it should be fixed now, clock control should be also restored on such drivers.
- Fixed system freeze issues when starting MSI Afterburner on AMD Hawaii GPU while playing hardware accelerated video
- "Properties" column of active hardware monitoring graphs list is now refreshed properly when enabling/disabling all graphs at once (i.e. when clicking checkbox next to graph name in the list and holding <Shift> pressed)

RTSS distributive is updated to 7.0.0 beta 27

- Improved D3D11 state management, fixed possible resource leak issue in D3D11 applications in optimized state changes introduced in beta 24
- Added OSD profiles for theHunter : Call of the Wild
- Updated built-in exceptions list
- Updated SDK sample code, the sample manifest has been changed to require administrative rights, that is necessary to modify the profiles via profile management API

New RTSS is bundled with MSI AB distributive, but it is also available as standalone installer:

http://office.guru3d.com/afterburner...p700Beta27.rar


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#638)
MrBeer
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 FTW SLI
Processor: Core™ i7-6700K OC 4.7
Mainboard: GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Memory: Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB DDR
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-07-2017, 03:28 | posts: 23

Thanks again for another beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#639)
MDKpt
Newbie
 
MDKpt's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X GTX1080Ti-FE@2060mhz
Processor: i9 7900X@4.8-1.290v@wc
Mainboard: AORUS X299 Gaming 9
Memory: 32gb -Gskill 2800 @3200
Soundcard: onboard/strix 7.1 h7
PSU: Corsair 1500i
Default 08-08-2017, 08:45 | posts: 34 | Location: Portugal

thanks for the beta

is there a possibilty of telling me when or if the X299 7000 cpus frequency will be suported on RTSS ?


thanks in advance

cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#640)
miiksu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 Nano
Processor: AMD R7 X1800
Mainboard: Asus C6H
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ @3466-14
Soundcard: XiangSheng DAC-01A+HD662F
PSU: Seasonic Prime 850W
Default 08-08-2017, 10:50 | posts: 130 | Location: FIN

Almost there. I can now overclock GPU but not yet HBM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#641)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-08-2017, 11:20 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Address that to AMD. Official OverdriveN (Wattman) API do not and will not allow overclocking HBM on Fiji. And unofficial overclicking, wich was the only way to overclock it before, is gone in 17.7.2.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#642)
miiksu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 Nano
Processor: AMD R7 X1800
Mainboard: Asus C6H
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ @3466-14
Soundcard: XiangSheng DAC-01A+HD662F
PSU: Seasonic Prime 850W
Default 08-08-2017, 11:57 | posts: 130 | Location: FIN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Address that to AMD. Official OverdriveN (Wattman) API do not and will not allow overclocking HBM on Fiji. And unofficial overclicking, wich was the only way to overclock it before, is gone in 17.7.2.
Oh... That is sad news. Way to sell new HBM2 cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#643)
aufkrawall2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Processor: 2500k@4.6Ghz
Mainboard: P67
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 860W Platinum
Default 08-08-2017, 14:51 | posts: 385

I hope I haven't asked this before, I forget such things from time to time:
Would it be possible to modernize the exe select dialog for adding applications in RTSS a bit? You can't copy and paste a path into the address bar or drag & drop executables into the application list.

It would also be nice if several entries in the Afterburner hardware monitoring area could be moved at once, e.g. so you can move all your activated options easily to the top.

In the past, I also observed some weird behavior with taking screenshots: It sometimes stopped to work after alt + tabbing out of a game and then return. In such cases, it could help to go into the Afterburner screenshot settings and reassign a hotkey for taking screenshots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#644)
dDub
Newbie
 
dDub's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC
Processor: Intel i7 5820k 4.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-x99-UD3P r.1
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16G
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 08-08-2017, 16:33 | posts: 14 | Location: Boston

hrmn, tried beta 16 with RTSS 27 and for some reason i could not get the in game OSD to display. Only tried Mass Effect Andromeda though, went back to beta 15 w/RTSS 26 and it was working again. Tried messing with some RTSS setting but couldn't get it working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#645)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-08-2017, 16:47 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Zero chances, there are no such changes between the builds, but if you beleive so, you may stay at b15.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#646)
tfam26
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gaming X GTX1080 @2100mhz
Processor: 4790K @4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97-AR
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @2400mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-08-2017, 17:12 | posts: 44

Total novice with this stuff:

Is there any benefit to messing with the application detection level? As in, does high offer any performance difference between low, etc, or is it simply a means keeping the program from being detected as malicious as in the tooltip?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#647)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 08-08-2017, 17:26 | posts: 13,181 | Location: Sweden

The tooltip covers it a bit better, as I remember low to medium enables HookDirectDraw in the "Global" config file and then medium to high enables I think it was EnableFloatingInjectionAddress but mouse over the setting a bit and the tooltip should pop up and give a more in-depth explanation of what the different detection levels offer.

You can also just compare the "Global" and "Config" settings files between changes and see what it alters, settings name alone though might not provide much of a explanation.

I think low is recommended unless you absolutely require the features offered by medium detection level and higher, should be fine for almost all software.


Though it can then vary whether raster or vector or 2d or 3d OSD mode works better although I think this was primarily a issue with idTech5 games such as Wolfenstein New Order and Old Blood but there might be other games too.

And then there's different settings for injection delay for compatibility with other software and a few additional options for D3D12
(EDIT: But that's a bit more advanced and I don't think you need to alter this in general.)


Simplest is probably to set up the global profile in a way you prefer and then keep additional settings on a per profile basis as required, so far for my own experience I've only needed to set up a few applications to "EnableHooking=0" to avoid Rivatuner attempting to monitor programs like Notepad++
(The "i" button in Afterburner has statistics on currently detected running 3D processes which helps a lot with these apps.)


EDIT: Also when updating to a new version make sure to shut down Afterburner / Rivatuner (And that it's not currently being used in any running software.) and then wait 3 - 4 minutes for the various files to become fully unloaded, if the installer can't replace RTSSHooks64.dll for example because something is currently holding it then the software will ask for a reboot to replace the currently locked file which you can avoid by just waiting a bit.
(For a clean install you can also uninstall the previous version first but this will remove config files and such too I believe.)

Same goes for Afterburner itself if you're updating the display driver, probably more so if you keep hardware monitoring on for deeper info and access to the GPU so ensuring it's turned off can be helpful.


EDIT: Oh right, it can also take a few seconds before the OSD appears so if it doesn't show up immediately then waiting a little while on the main menu screen should resolve it, might not pop-up if some logo video or similar is playing either so wait until that's over with too and see if it doesn't appear then.
(Just some basic general advice, tooltip descriptions and the PDF documentation should give more in-depth and detailed answers or just a quick search or two here on these forums perhaps.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 08-08-2017 at 17:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#648)
Andy_K
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 960 OC
Processor: AMD FX6300
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
Memory: Crucial 1600 - 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892 (7.1)
PSU: Corsair CX430M
Default 08-08-2017, 19:15 | posts: 299 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall2 View Post
I hope I haven't asked this before, I forget such things from time to time:
Would it be possible to modernize the exe select dialog for adding applications in RTSS a bit? You can't copy and paste a path into the address bar or drag & drop executables into the application list.
If you use the new beta RTSS you can open the RTSS dialog, then SHIFT+Click the ADD Button and you have all detected 3D apps in the exclude-dialog already selected. Just deselect the app, which you still want to be monitored and hit OK.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#649)
MDKpt
Newbie
 
MDKpt's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X GTX1080Ti-FE@2060mhz
Processor: i9 7900X@4.8-1.290v@wc
Mainboard: AORUS X299 Gaming 9
Memory: 32gb -Gskill 2800 @3200
Soundcard: onboard/strix 7.1 h7
PSU: Corsair 1500i
Default 08-10-2017, 12:46 | posts: 34 | Location: Portugal

thanks for the latest beta

is there a possibilty of telling us when or if the X299 7000 cpus frequency will be suported on RTSS ?


thanks in advance

cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#650)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-10-2017, 13:35 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Stop spamming and use search please.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.