Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 19:06 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Nah they're genuine, it's all over the net now
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 19:55 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
^ got it, thanks, must prepare my system for it today just in case (backups).

Btw what are the main features / improvements of Redstone, is there a run-down to be read somewhere?

Ofc I expect 100 % more gaming performance but that's a given...

Here's a better improvements list

http://changewindows.org/build/14393/desktop


 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 08-01-2016, 20:02 | posts: 2,815 | Location: Argentina

Downloading the ISO from the WZR twitter post.
SW_DVD5_Win_Pro_10_1607_64BIT_English_MLF_X21-06988.ISO
Is it correct?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 20:17 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

It's a VL ISO, not Retail, you can covert to retail with a retail key, but might cause issues with activation doing it that way, unless you have a 7/8.x key to insert after install (If it will accept it)

Last edited by Extraordinary; 08-01-2016 at 20:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 20:26 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

so when does this hit and should i brace for unthinkable? lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 20:28 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

2nd August (Tomorrow) Officially, but it's staggered roll out so some places won't see it immediately

Will be hitting Techbench too according to MS answers, not that they are the most reliable source, but it's something lol

Yea, hold onto your hat, unthinkable could happen
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 08-01-2016, 20:43 | posts: 2,815 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
It's a VL ISO, not Retail, you can covert to retail with a retail key, but might cause issues with activation doing it that way, unless you have a 7/8.x key to insert after install (If it will accept it)
Well, I have a VOLUME_MAK key.
I should be fine, right?

Thanks for the help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 20:46 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea then you should be good to go
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 20:48 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

what if i anit gota hat? should maybe hold on to my hair? haha

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-01-2016 at 20:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 20:49 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Buy a hat, definitely buy a hat
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 20:53 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

I Wana say avast fix partial what was cause my long boot time cause its boot up like should more then usual does since it avast last update, this OS update might revert it XD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 20:57 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Gf's brother has an ASUS T100TAF tablet, and suddenly he could not power it on, I took the back off, removed the battery cable, replaced, and it booted fine

That happened about 5-6 times, then after you worked out Avast was causing your long boot times, I removed Avast, it has not happened since
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 21:22 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

yah the boot time issue defiantly cause by avast,latest update has made the boot time more normal then been or so I "think". I still cant be bothered to change AV products though. they are aware of the issue and last i heard from them they were fowarding the issue to the development team.

Redstone update should be interesting I just update my dads friend pc to win10 and he didnt really like start menu change and when told him its gona change again he had that face of "really" then again he just places everything on desktop and almost never use startmenu.

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-01-2016 at 21:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 21:25 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Hopefully they send out a fix quickly then, I just removed Avast and let him use Defender for now, he only uses it for betting and football so should be ok

--
I just use StartIsBack, since 8.x
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 21:28 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Hopefully they send out a fix quickly then, I just removed Avast and let him use Defender for now, he only uses it for betting and football so should be ok
well the other day they had bug get out the told people AVAST defense were disable when they were not, so when people went to fix the issue it actual did disable them, that was fix with emergency update.

like said I want to say they partial fix the boot time issue, but this wouldnt be the first time my boot time boot up were fast then again and kinda normal either but for last 3~4 days when I booted up only had 1 slow boot time they seem to be in the middle of remove and redoing alot features too.

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-01-2016 at 21:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-01-2016, 21:30 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Wonder how many people it affects, I've installed Avast free on every machine I repair, and have done for years lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-01-2016, 21:35 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

the boot time issue only start with win10 1151 as previous build were fine which was proved by when I removed 1151 from multiple computers to pre 1151 build the issue stoped but that not fix, every pc I have it installed on that use SSD were boot time are really noticeable are affect by this, there all intel builds, no clue about amd system as i dont own any, most people probably dont notice it or care as they probably just turn pc on and walk away.

I atlest have 1 fix to look forward too... Start Bar no longer auto hides with the startmenu still open, thats been broke since 1151 came out

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-01-2016 at 21:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 08-01-2016, 23:31 | posts: 2,815 | Location: Argentina

Just finished instlaling it.
Installed on top though TeamViewer. LOL.
So far, everything is working right.
Will test some more when I get home.
I like the new organization in the Settings sub menus. Very nice. Also, the icons are nice.

Last edited by MerolaC; 08-01-2016 at 23:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 08-02-2016, 00:23 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

I guess tech bench is down cause the page dont work was gona use your nifty tips to download the iso

Last edited by tsunami231; 08-02-2016 at 00:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Clawedge
Maha Guru
 
Clawedge's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD 4600
Processor: Intel 4790s
Mainboard: MSI H81M-PRO-VH
Memory: 16GB HyperX
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Silverstone SFX ST45SF
Default 08-02-2016, 00:34 | posts: 1,924 | Location: Earth

is 14393 the proper final build?

cos there is a 10.0.14894.1000 build just outed (talk atleast)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 08-02-2016, 01:38 | posts: 10,008

That's probably the first known RS2 build. Ignore it. You'll get 14393 tonight via WU. It's already out for volume licenses.

New CU out on WU (lol) Kb3176929

Last edited by lucidus; 08-02-2016 at 01:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Clawedge
Maha Guru
 
Clawedge's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD 4600
Processor: Intel 4790s
Mainboard: MSI H81M-PRO-VH
Memory: 16GB HyperX
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Silverstone SFX ST45SF
Default 08-02-2016, 01:56 | posts: 1,924 | Location: Earth

cool thanks lucidus
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 08-02-2016, 02:01 | posts: 10,008

Meh ... Edge is still a crashy POS post-KB3176927 and this one too.

It won't close if I click the close button but if I close one tab and there are two left, the whole thing disappears. Happened only after KB3176927 was installed :-/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
KissSh0t
Ancient Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX 470 Strix Gaming
Processor: AMD FX 8320
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X F3 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 08-02-2016, 02:34 | posts: 5,088 | Location: 0.0.0.0

It showed Cortana during the installation process and I was like haha nope.

I murdered her.

Sorry Microsoft.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 08-02-2016, 02:48 | posts: 10,008

I have a registry entry called "Kill Cortana"

Flawless Victory.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.