Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#251)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill Trid.Z 3000 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 02-09-2017, 00:00 | posts: 3,562 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by milamber View Post
Windows just updated my Nvidia drivers to 376.53 from 372.70. 1st time it's happened and I'm not happy. Any way to prevent it happening again?
Exact same thing happened to me. From 376.09. Never had that before.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#252)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 02-09-2017, 08:30 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by milamber View Post
Windows just updated my Nvidia drivers to 376.53 from 372.70. 1st time it's happened and I'm not happy. Any way to prevent it happening again?
Go back to 376.53, and before WU installs the older ones again, run this and hide them
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...owhide.diagcab

Weird I'm not seeing any GPU driver updates on WU
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#253)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 02-16-2017, 22:08 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Reset-WindowsUpdate.ps1

This script will completely reset the Windows Update client settings. It has been tested on Windows 7, 8, 10, and Server 2012 R2. It will configure the services and registry keys related to Windows Update for default settings. It will also clean up files related to Windows Update

Code:
https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/Reset-WindowsUpdateps1-e0c5eb78
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#254)
zimzoid
Maha Guru
 
zimzoid's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEVGA980TiSC+(H20) Swift
Processor: i7 4930K/Corsair H110i
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Ed
Memory: GSkillRipjawsZ4x4 2133mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx Denon Klipsch 5.1
PSU: CM V1200w Platinum
Default 02-16-2017, 23:24 | posts: 1,340 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Reset-WindowsUpdate.ps1

This script will completely reset the Windows Update client settings. It has been tested on Windows 7, 8, 10, and Server 2012 R2. It will configure the services and registry keys related to Windows Update for default settings. It will also clean up files related to Windows Update

Code:
https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/Reset-WindowsUpdateps1-e0c5eb78
Thanks mate
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#255)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 02-17-2017, 00:09 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

if you have Pro which ihas gpedit.msc

run gpedit.msc
"Computer Configuration>Administrative Template>System>Drivers Installation>Driver Installation restriction>Prevent Installation of Devices using drivers that match these device setup classes"


Device manager> "gpu name">proprieties>details>propety>Class GUID

ID to put in the above GPEDIT.MSC setting

it "should" block all driver updates for the gpu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#256)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 02-23-2017, 09:16 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Clean Up the WinSxS Folder
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn251565.aspx

Quote:
Task Scheduler
The StartComponentCleanup task was created in Windows 8 to regularly clean up components automatically when the system is not in use. This task is set to run automatically when triggered by the operating system. When run automatically, the task will wait at least 30 days after an updated component has been installed before uninstalling the previous versions of the component.
Quote:
Dism.exe
Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM) is a command-line tool that allows you to install, uninstall, configure, and update Windows features, packages, drivers, and international settings. The /Cleanup-Image parameter of Dism.exe provides advanced users more options to further reduce the size of the WinSxS folder. For more information, see DISM Operating System Package Servicing Command-Line Options.

Use the /StartComponentCleanup parameter
Using the /StartComponentCleanup parameter of Dism.exe on a running version of Windows 8.1 gives you similar results to running the StartComponentCleanup task in Task Scheduler, except previous versions of updated components will be immediately deleted (without a 30 day grace period) and you will not have a 1-hour timeout limitation.

Use the /ResetBase switch with the /StartComponentCleanup parameter
Using the /ResetBase switch with the /StartComponentCleanup parameter of DISM.exe on a running version of Windows 8.1 removes all superseded versions of every component in the component store.

Use the /SPSuperseded parameter
To reduce the amount of space used by a Service Pack, use the /SPSuperseded parameter of Dism.exe on a running version of Windows 8.1 to remove any backup components needed for uninstallation of the service pack. A service pack is a collection of cumulative updates for a particular release of Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#257)
Pictus
Member Guru
 
Pictus's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280x 3GB
Processor: i5-750
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55a-UD3
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 03-16-2017, 19:56 | posts: 60

For those who want a Windows 10 lite version, your friends are:

-MSMG ToolKit to create a updated trimmed installation ISO
https://forums.mydigitallife.info/th...2-MSMG-ToolKit
Can get the latest updates to integrate into the ISO from
https://forums.mydigitallife.info/th...fix-Repository

- Windows 10 D-S-T-DEZABLER
https://forums.mydigitallife.info/th...D-S-T-DEZABLER

-Windows Update MiniTool Integrator v1.0
https://forums.mydigitallife.info/th...ntegrator-v1-0

-Process Hacker (I love the real-time information on disk access)
http://processhacker.sourceforge.net/

-Sysinternals Autoruns
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/.../bb963902.aspx

OBS, If remove too much stuff some future update may fail, in that case you have to create a
new updated installation ISO and update from the ISO, but do not forget to disconnect from Internet.

Last edited by Pictus; 03-24-2017 at 15:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#258)
sandeepReddy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 1gb
Processor: AMD Phenom
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: smtps
Default 03-24-2017, 06:17 | posts: 4

Windows 10 is very good to see interface.But as per my opinion windows 7 is best Opertaing system.But both windows 10 and windows 7 little bit same
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#259)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-08-2017, 14:04 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Add Windows Update options to right click context menu



Code:
https://pastebin.com/kknaKzvQ
Source:
https://twitter.com/rgadguard/status/861268485053329409
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#260)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 07-15-2017, 14:04 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

How to create a folder without any icon or name in Windows
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/create...ame-windows-10

Press Ctrl+Shift and then right-click on the Taskbar. You will then see the option to Exit Explorer.

Mouse trick: To select a block of text we usually press left button and then move cursor to the end of block. But the same can be done simply by click (left button) at the start of block of text and Shift+click (left button) at the end of the block.

Last edited by mbk1969; 07-15-2017 at 14:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#261)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill x4
Processor: 2600k HT@4 .5 + NZXT X61
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic 750 Watt
Default 07-24-2017, 14:51 | posts: 26,568 | Location: Netherlands

Handy tool https://gallery.technet.microsoft.co...Agent-d824badc

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#262)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 07-24-2017, 16:56 | posts: 7,565 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Add Windows Update options to right click context menu



Code:
https://pastebin.com/kknaKzvQ
Source:
https://twitter.com/rgadguard/status/861268485053329409

this might be usefull make when i first started using Win 10 but seeing i just pin Windows update to start menu now it kind moot to me


Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
this could come in handy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#263)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-08-2017, 10:16 | posts: 17,746 | Location: 127.0.0.1




Code:
http://www.stefanobordoni.cloud/projects/sys_minion/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#264)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 08-11-2017, 12:03 | posts: 707 | Location: Greece

How do i know if my windows app's are up2date? I just log in to store and they are
updating automatically? Or they have nothing to do with the store..

Never used any of them, never used the windows store...

I kinda wanna try the groove music app...but if something is out of date my OCD triggers..

Also..im using O&O ShutUp10 (disabled a lot of stuff)...there's that...

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#265)
Valerys
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R290 Tri-X OC
Processor: Intel Pentium G4560
Mainboard: MSI H110M PRO-VD
Memory: 16GB DDR4@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Sirtec HPE 700W
Default 08-11-2017, 12:58 | posts: 288

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocoDiceGR View Post
How do i know if my windows app's are up2date? I just log in to store and they are
updating automatically? Or they have nothing to do with the store..

Never used any of them, never used the windows store...
Login to Store, click your profile photo near the search bar, then 'Downloads and updates'. It will show you what apps are installed and when they were updated; to manually check for updates there's a 'Get updates' bottom in the upper right area.
The apps update automatically without opening Store.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.