Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks
Old
  (#1)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Thumbs up Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks - 07-30-2015, 10:37 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1




Thought we should have one thread for all the different tips, tweaks and hacks scattered about the forum for Windows 10, be easier to find them here

I`ll add to this post as and when we discover more

Staff, feel welcome to add to the reserved posts below too if you find something new

______________________________________________





Disable Defender (Pro and Enterprise)

RUN: gpedit.msc

Computer configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Defender > Turn Off Windows Defender > Enable that setting



Hide Updates

Uninstall the offending update or driver, then run this tool
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930



Prevent Automatic Updates (Pro and Enterprise)

RUN: gpedit.msc

Computer configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Update > Configure Automatic Updates > Enable that setting > Choose Option 2 (Notify for download and notify for install)



Activating a clean install

First you MUST run an upgrade of Windows 10 over your Genuine Windows 7 or 8.1, ensure 10 is online and activated after the upgrade, then you can clean install Windows 10 from USB or any other method, without the need for a product key, once the clean install boots and is online, it should automatically activate (Servers being hammered willing)

Windows 7 Pro/Ultimate = Windows 10 Pro
Windows 7 Home Basic > Home Premium = Windows 10 Home

Windows 8.1 Pro = Windows 10 Pro
Windows 8.1 Core = Windows 10 Home



Replacement Start Menus

StartisBack++

http://www.startisback.com/#download-tab

Start10
https://www.stardock.com/products/start10/

Classic Shell
http://www.classicshell.net/



Check Windows Build string


From Elevated CMD:
Code:
reg query "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion" | findstr BuildLabEx


Delete Windows.old folder after upgrading

Right Click your C: > Properties > Disk Clean-up > Clean-up System Files



Create your own Windows 10 ISO / Install Media

Download and run the Media Creation Tool from here:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

Either save as ISO to create a USB stick, or actually upgrade your 7 or 8.1 machine directly from this tool

Yes, this method can replace the need to wait for Windows Update to begin the upgrade

What to use to create the bootable USB?
https://rufus.akeo.ie/



Where is the Windows Update panel gone from Control Panel?

Start > Settings > Update and Security



Bring back F8 Safemode options

From Elevated CMD:

Enable:
Code:
bcdedit /set {default} bootmenupolicy legacy
Disable:
Code:
bcdedit /set {default} bootmenupolicy standard


Add Win32 screen resolution back to Right Click

Download and run the reg file here (Credit to the dev - sorry forgotten where I found this)
Code:
https://mega.nz/#!bBolXbBA!eEEX3VFBRdZ-xp3Wvl6N8T2BZ8zvVWF0L1eqQ75jH3Q


Add Group Policy to Windows 10 Home

(Not all Pro policies are available)


Download
http://drudger.deviantart.com/art/Ad...-msc-215792914



Completely Remove OneDrive

Instructions here

(Credit to Dutchman01 - MDL Forums)



How to remove all bundled apps in Windows 10

http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-remov...in-windows-10/


Last edited by Extraordinary; 10-07-2016 at 20:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 11:14 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Download Windows 10 ISO Direct from Microsoft

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft.../windows10ISO/





Enable Windows-7 like UAC prompt in Windows 10 Anniversary Update


http://winaero.com/blog/enable-windo...ersary-update/

(This also fixes the UAC prompt opening behind open windows bug - credit to EdKiefer for finding this)





Move clock to the end of the taskbar in Windows 10



http://winaero.com/blog/move-clock-t...in-windows-10/

Thanks to EdKiefer for finding this




Install .cab file update via Right Click > Install


http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/6...dows-10-a.html


Last edited by Extraordinary; 10-22-2016 at 07:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 11:15 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Creators Update RS2 (Build 15063) specific tweaks
--------------------------------------------------------------------------


Add Classic Control Panel and other items back to Win-X menu (Right click start button menu)


Win-X Menu Editor
Code:
http://winaero.com/comment.php?comment.news.30



Add "Command Prompt (Admin)" to Right click


Code:
https://pastebin.com/xmaSm8Sq
Credit MDL




Set Split Threshold for Svchost in Windows 10
If you open the Details tab of the Task Manager in Windows 10 Creators Update, you will be surprised to see a huge number of instances of the svchost.exe process.
Code:
http://winaero.com/blog/set-split-threshold-svchost-windows-10/


Last edited by Extraordinary; 08-03-2017 at 10:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: JetStream 980 Ti 1400MHz
Processor: i5-2500K 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/X2 Fidelio
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 07-30-2015, 12:02 | posts: 3,600 | Location: UK

https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrac...in_windows_10/

A good little guide for stuff to turn off/remove ect


Also black text doesn't show up very well on gurus dark theme :3
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 12:07 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Thanks, yea I see what you mean, the text is default black, but when using bold it looks even darker

Not really much I can do, or it will look too light on the other themes

EDIT - Actually, looking at the dark theme, for some reason, it has turned some bold text black, and some normal text black

I have only changed the colour of the red text, all the rest is default/bold only - must be a dark theme bug

Last edited by Extraordinary; 07-30-2015 at 12:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Banned
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 07-30-2015, 12:19 | posts: 31,511 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Thanks Extraordinary, the Safe Mode F8 is a must tweak, also the update and defender tweaks. Kudos, I'm raising a glass of wine to you (it's only just past midday, oops).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 12:20 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Thanks Extraordinary, the Safe Mode F8 is a must tweak, also the update and defender tweaks. Kudos, I'm raising a glass of wine to you (it's only just past midday, oops).
My type of midday lol - cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury
Processor: Intel i7 5820K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 07-30-2015, 13:17 | posts: 1,940 | Location: South Africa

I've bookmarked this thread for future reference.

@ Extraordinary (or anybody), can you please post the 29 July build string?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury
Processor: Intel i7 5820K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 07-30-2015, 13:18 | posts: 1,940 | Location: South Africa

I've bookmarked this thread! Thanks EO

Can someone please post the build string for version released 29 July?

Sorry for the double post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 13:20 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
I've bookmarked this thread for future reference.

@ Extraordinary (or anybody), can you please post the 29 July build string?
10240.16384.th1.150709-1700

was the original base image of Insiders, RTM, Partners and July 29th

After updates it becomes (from my machine)
10240.16393.amd64fre.th1_st1.150717-1719

For now, but that will continue to change as we get more updates
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury
Processor: Intel i7 5820K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 07-30-2015, 13:45 | posts: 1,940 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
10240.16384.th1.150709-1700

was the original base image of Insiders, RTM, Partners and July 29th

After updates it becomes (from my machine)
10240.16393.amd64fre.th1_st1.150717-1719

For now, but that will continue to change as we get more updates
Thanks, just wanted someone to confirm that the 10240 insider build was indeed RTM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 14:15 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
Thanks, just wanted someone to confirm that the 10240 insider build was indeed RTM.
Yup
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 07-30-2015, 14:26 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Lots of useful tweaks here too
http://winaero.com/blog/category/windows-10/

also they have an app out as well that allows you to tweak a lot of stuff

Winaero Tweaker

download it here
http://winaero.com/download.php?view.1796
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 07-30-2015, 14:35 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

tried this tweak
http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-remov...-individually/

to remove Cortana but it cant be removed as its a part of windows itself.

I managed to remove the solitaire package and the 3D builder game too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 14:37 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

StartIsBack++ can disable Cortana, and uninstall just about all apps I think

It has an uninstall option for them all anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 07-30-2015, 14:44 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Just removed all Windows 10 Modern Apps that can be removed. I hate them.

The apps left here can not be removed from the system.
 Click to show spoiler



Here is how to do it
http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-remov...in-windows-10/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 07-30-2015, 14:45 | posts: 14,916 | Location: England

Does anyone know of a way of increasing the number of Most Used items in the Start menu from its apparent default maximum of 6 to, say, 10?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 07-30-2015, 14:46 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
StartIsBack++ can disable Cortana, and uninstall just about all apps I think

It has an uninstall option for them all anyway
Where is this option I can't seem to find it in startisback++ ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury
Processor: Intel i7 5820K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 07-30-2015, 14:47 | posts: 1,940 | Location: South Africa

BTW I hate the quick access view when explore.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 07-30-2015, 14:47 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Does anyone know of a way of increasing the number of Most Used items in the Start menu from its apparent default maximum of 6 to, say, 10?
Yep installed classic shell or better still startisback++ its all customisable from there and give you back a customised classic start menu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
deets75
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 980ti
Processor: i7 4770
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 650
Default 07-30-2015, 14:54 | posts: 538 | Location: London

dont know if this is any use. but you can go from a 32 bit win 7/8 to a 64 bit 10 but only after you install and activate the upgrade which licenses your machine.

then if you can get hold of a 64 bit ISO media you can boot from it and install that over the top and remove the old windows using disk cleaner. just skip any part where it asks for a key and it will activate once all installed, but only if your machine has activated before on the 32 bit version.

Last edited by deets75; 07-30-2015 at 14:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 07-30-2015, 14:55 | posts: 3,945

Quote:
Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
BTW I hate the quick access view when explore.
Change "Open File Explorer to:" to whatever you want and uncheck the settings below.




Last edited by theoneofgod; 07-30-2015 at 14:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 14:57 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Where is this option I can't seem to find it in startisback++ ?



To uninstall, goto start > all programs > Start Apps > Right click an app :> uninstall

Last edited by Extraordinary; 07-30-2015 at 15:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-30-2015, 14:58 | posts: 17,725 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
BTW I hate the quick access view when explore.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post
You can disable some of the things but not going straight to quick access.


Just switch this option

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
theoneofgod
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 (CFX retired)
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800w
Default 07-30-2015, 14:59 | posts: 3,945

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Just switch this option

Edited above.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.