Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 11-28-2015, 11:21 | posts: 17,726 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonerkinsella View Post
Thanks mate. Now I just have to stop Windows from auto writing drivers.
This is MS official method
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930

You need to uninstall the drivers you don't want, then run this tool so it finds them on WU before WU does, then you can hide them, and Windows won't install them again
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
jonerkinsella
Maha Guru
 
jonerkinsella's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saph 290 Trix OC.
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard: Asrock X99 EX4
Memory: 4x4gb Ballistix Elite
Soundcard: Gfx Hdmi and ob RT1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 11-28-2015, 11:38 | posts: 1,860 | Location: IRELAND

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
This is MS official method
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930

You need to uninstall the drivers you don't want, then run this tool so it finds them on WU before WU does, then you can hide them, and Windows won't install them again
Your a legend mate. I got it working.

I had to go into my sound settings and turn off my AMD device by disabling and set my optical out as primary.

I hate it when things like this are intricate... I'm a hammer kind of guy

Kudos.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 11-28-2015, 16:16 | posts: 17,726 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonerkinsella View Post
Your a legend mate. I got it working.

I had to go into my sound settings and turn off my AMD device by disabling and set my optical out as primary.

I hate it when things like this are intricate... I'm a hammer kind of guy

Kudos.
Nice one lol yea, me too, I don't have as much patience for stupid computers as I did when I was a kid (When they were still magic)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Blaze Viper
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TRI-X
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: GA-990FXA-UD3 R4.0
Memory: CORSAIR XMS32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889 7.1
PSU: OCZ 750W Fatal1ty
Unhappy 01-13-2016, 12:42 | posts: 1 | Location: Canuckistan

Guys, how do I get speaker fill working with these drivers? Is there any way to mod the Microsoft enchantments back in?

I REALLY need this for when I plug consoles in via 'Line In'

HALP.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
rhp07
Newbie
 
Videocard: 970M
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: STD Notebook One
Default 01-16-2016, 13:13 | posts: 1

Hi, thanks for the awesome driver @fr33jack.

It worked for me just perfectly on my Windows 10 (64bit). Dolby Home Theater v4 working just flawslessly and even Dolby Digital Live was working. Restarted several times and everything was still working.

But today not anymore (One day later). I don't know if Windows Update did something or what. But the driver is installed, I can see the Dolby Option there in the Audio Device Panel and even DDL in the Digital Output but none is working. DDL says "Test Sound Failed to Play" and on my Headphones and Speakers the enhancements of DHT are not working. No matter if I set it to ON or to OFF, it sounds the same.

I tried uninstalling all Realtek drivers from everywhere (Software Uninstall and uninstalled from Audio Device properties too). But still the same.

Anybody can help me to fix this?

@fr33jack, what is the Debug Driver working? Maybe I could give them a try to see the logs (if it generates any). Any hint on how the Debug Drivers work or what they do?

Greetings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
RamGuy
Master Guru
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1600MHz
Soundcard: Auzentech HomeTheater HD
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200W
Default 01-29-2016, 23:18 | posts: 203 | Location: Norway

Have to say that Dolby Home Theater v4 is rather impressive for music. I find both the intelligent equaliser for balanced and open very satisfying.

Running optical from my on-board Realtek HD audio card with optical to my external DAC is now my preferred option for music, trumping my Titanium HD running optical.


But the surround virtualiser must be bugged or something. Toggling those options no matter how far you pull the leveller and it doesn't seem to do jack for me in neither movie, music or game mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
oufouf
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: seasonic
Default 02-11-2016, 23:54 | posts: 1

fr33jack very thx for your help.

I followed all the instructions and I added before last reboot HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Audio Add "DisableProtectedAudioDG" of DWORD (32bit value) type and set it to 1 ,

it works perfectly for me, I run with Z68X-UD4-B3 and Windows 10 1511 (build 10586.104) and I have no problem with AMD audio driver.


edit: i dont possible post screen atm sorry

Last edited by oufouf; 02-12-2016 at 17:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Alexander
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: GA-Z170-D3H
Memory: DDR 4 32gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 02-15-2016, 19:45 | posts: 2

Dolby Digital in the game through HDMI working fine on my last Update Windows 10.
Sounds like PS4, PS3 games. Really cool. I'm used Home theater,
install line has not reached to the end, but after reload all work fine
Thanks!
s28.postimg.org/y1c984z4c/screen.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
fikrinoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GT430 1GB DDR3
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AVF 500W
Default 02-19-2016, 16:33 | posts: 1

It worked on via hd audio! Thanks a lot!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
molitar2025
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
Processor: AMD FX-8370 Eight-Core Pr
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 80+
Default 03-05-2016, 23:59 | posts: 1

Only partially working with my R9 280x graphic card. On the rear the rear play but so do the front. The sub woofer will not sound at all. So does not seem to work properly with my Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x GPU.

I I look the the audio properties in window and go to configure speakers only stereo show up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
jonerkinsella
Maha Guru
 
jonerkinsella's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saph 290 Trix OC.
Processor: 5930k
Mainboard: Asrock X99 EX4
Memory: 4x4gb Ballistix Elite
Soundcard: Gfx Hdmi and ob RT1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 03-16-2016, 10:49 | posts: 1,860 | Location: IRELAND

Ssoo...

Before I go tearing my hair out again , is this working on Win 10 64 yet ?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
LocoDiceGR
Master Guru
 
LocoDiceGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Processor: Intel®Core i5 750 2.67Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55-M
Memory: HyperX Fury @1866
Soundcard: SoundblasterZ
PSU: XFX TS 550w
Default 03-16-2016, 12:02 | posts: 705 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonerkinsella View Post
Ssoo...

Before I go tearing my hair out again , is this working on Win 10 64 yet ?

Thanks.
Same question

I just found out about this.

lol.
   
Reply With Quote
ADI windows 10 recent upgrade.
Old
  (#113)
drolhcet
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD XFX 7850 UltraOC
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9300
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: DDR2 Geil 8gb
Soundcard: SoundMax AD1988B
PSU: Rosewell 750watt
Default ADI windows 10 recent upgrade. - 03-31-2016, 23:36 | posts: 1 | Location: USA

Installed in compatibility mode for older windows from a Win7 64-bit upgrade and working both DHT drivers and Dolby Home Theatre v4 on my old SoundMax AD1988B successfully, HDMI also but I don't use that so can't confirm functionality.

Last edited by drolhcet; 03-31-2016 at 23:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
geko95gek
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 8970M 4GB
Processor: Intel Haswell i7-4800MQ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop Brick
Default 05-23-2016, 21:33 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagDoll_Effect View Post
Cool, just testing some things, all working beautifully. Even Dolby Digital Live which can be selected in Playback devices, then click properties, then advanced and drop down menu :-) Only thing is it's limited to 5.1 cos Dolby Digital Live is pure 5.1, no 7.1

Is there any way to get full hd audio with these? I can't get DTS HD and Dolby True HD to work???

regards,
RagDoll.
Dolby Digital Live wont enable for me through the DSS2, as I'm running it from my ALC892 and S/PDIF optical. However when I test it in Supported Formats it plays the Dolby Digital Live test file just fine. When selected in Advanced, test file doesn't work and nothing on PC plays sound. Only works if I select 2 channel.....

Anyone know what the issue is?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
ElitesTeaTime
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD6770 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom X4 840
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-880G-UD3H
Memory: 8GB DDR-3 1333
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeAudio+ESS9023
PSU: Corsair VS650
Default 05-24-2016, 14:24 | posts: 2 | Location: Bangkok

Can use this driver for ASUS A550JX notebook ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-06-2016, 18:18 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

is there diffrence from doing this vs using mod drivers for realtek audio to enable DTS connect?

Gathering both a re decoding DD/DTS etc on the fly and both will make the Optical output DD/DTS with added bonus of making HDMI do it too

Last edited by tsunami231; 06-06-2016 at 18:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780Ti 3GB Matrix
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1300X@3,9GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte AB350-Gaming 3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220+Z-340 2.1
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 06-06-2016, 18:32 | posts: 8,163 | Location: Netherlands

I'll try these tomorrow with my new receiver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-06-2016, 18:49 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

I was curious i installed these, I lost Optical out option on for sound devices, and I can no long get sound to play out of my front audio ports which where my headphones are..

Seeing as I dont use HDMI out cause I dont have A/V reciver that has HDMI.

I went back 2.79 realtek audio driver modded to have DDL/DTS that stuff enabled, maybe when I get A/V unit with Hdmi I will try this again

Last edited by tsunami231; 06-06-2016 at 19:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780Ti 3GB Matrix
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1300X@3,9GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte AB350-Gaming 3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220+Z-340 2.1
PSU: EVGA 500W
Default 06-09-2016, 09:27 | posts: 8,163 | Location: Netherlands

Doesn't seem to work with Optical audio, it only sees my HDMI.

EDIT: Went with the unlocked Realtek drivers, got 5.1 DDL/DTS working now.

Last edited by signex; 06-09-2016 at 09:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 06-09-2016, 09:41 | posts: 17,726 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I installed the first link for Special Dolby Digital + ADCTL + DAX2 ones from here
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=407866

Seem to work well with my onboard 5.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-10-2016, 04:22 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
I installed the first link for Special Dolby Digital + ADCTL + DAX2 ones from here
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=407866

Seem to work well with my onboard 5.1
i just installed them and I lost DDL/DTS connect so how exactly are those special vs the r2.79 modifed to have DDL/DTS connect cause I gathering would need to modifed to get DDL/DTS connect.

As such I put back Modifed R2.79 to enable DDL/DTS connect. cause with out them the Optical out is useless seeing it wont do 5.1 with out it

Last edited by tsunami231; 06-10-2016 at 05:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
mzso
Newbie
 
Videocard: gts450
Processor: E5450
Mainboard: P35C-DS3R Rev.2
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 500w
Default 06-11-2016, 21:08 | posts: 23

Do I understand correctly that this will let me have dolby headphone for my pc with a realtek sound adapter?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 06-11-2016, 21:15 | posts: 7,562 | Location: USA

yes but you lose alot functionality, Lost Optical out device, lost ablity to disable front audio port detection, better to just follow this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/th...active.193148/

and unlock all that with the realtek drivers if your using Realtek audio for everything. Now if you using HDMI which would mean your using the audio from your GPU then this is the way to go. cause i dont think AMD/Nvidia Audio drivers actual support DD/DTS and all that or do the new cards support that now?

Last edited by tsunami231; 06-11-2016 at 21:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
mzso
Newbie
 
Videocard: gts450
Processor: E5450
Mainboard: P35C-DS3R Rev.2
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 500w
Default 06-11-2016, 21:32 | posts: 23

Unfortunatlely this failed to me.
I got an error that the wizard ended prematurely:


WTF does it not work for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
yes but you lose alot functionality, Lost Optical out device, lost ablity to disable front audio port detection, better to just follow this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/th...active.193148/

and unlock all that with the realtek drivers if your using Realtek audio for everything. Now if you using HDMI which would mean your using the audio from your GPU then this is the way to go. cause i dont think AMD/Nvidia Audio drivers actual support DD/DTS and all that or do the new cards support that now?
Thanks for the tipp. I might try that too, if this fails. I don't need anything other than the headphone jack on the mobo working
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2038/4514
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 32 GB @ 3003Mhz CL16
Soundcard: Yamaha HS5
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 06-11-2016, 21:40 | posts: 559

Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
Unfortunatlely this failed to me.
I got an error that the wizard ended prematurely:


WTF does it not work for me?


Thanks for the tipp. I might try that too, if this fails. I don't need anything other than the headphone jack on the mobo working
I had this ****, for several months after upgrading to windows 10 i had no dolby driver and the installation wouldn't let me install it. I randomly fixed it recently by just updating realtek hd audio manager by downloading the latest version from their official site. Try it, might work for you too.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.