Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
chrislue
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus gtx 670 2G
Processor: Intel i7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmater 800w
Default 09-28-2013, 06:42 | posts: 8

Now it's got everything I need now and works perfectly, thank you so much.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Nitrius
Member Guru
 
Nitrius's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 3x2GB
Soundcard: Creative XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 09-28-2013, 10:22 | posts: 148 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by applejack View Post
hey chrislue, I like your idea. check this out



version 1.4.0
------------
- added SBX Crystalizer and Digital Plus toggles to Tray menu for complete SBX functionality.
- updated TrayTip accordingly.
- added predefine SBX Profiles for Speakers/Headphones modes.

http://www.mediafire.com/?17i7gb8kuk4ilmy

let me know how it works for you.

@Nitrius, I'll have a look...

Thanks, i posted a thread about it on the creative forums, explaining a bit more: http://forums.creative.com/showthread.php?t=699791
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 09-28-2013, 16:09 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

since you can select stereo speakers in SBZ control panel, I'm assuming its headphones 5.1 that bothers you. I've previously referred to this behaviour in this thread. can you clarify exactly how headphones 5.1 bothers you ?
I mean, if you turn off SBX Surround, it will downmix all sources to plain stereo anyway. if you keep SBX Surround on, only then you should notice the 5.1 virtual surround.

Last edited by applejack; 09-28-2013 at 16:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Nitrius
Member Guru
 
Nitrius's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 3x2GB
Soundcard: Creative XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 09-28-2013, 20:40 | posts: 148 | Location: Norway

Well, am not 100% sure if this is related to the creative software at all, as am thinking of the setting under the volume control in Windows, right click speakers and select "Configure Speakers", there i have two options, 5.1 Surround and Stereo, and it always defaults back to 5.1 Surround after a reboot even though i've selected Stereo, so i have to reselect this each time i reboot, not a big thing, but a little annoying it is.

Anyway, the problem is that there is a completely different sound when 5.1 Surround is selected, much louder as well, and the channels doesn't seem to play correctly at times, like when i play a file, where one speaks into the right ear, you will hear it in both. So i would rather much have it set at Stereo for my headphones at all times.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 09-28-2013, 23:52 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

fine, following release dedicated to you

version 1.4.1:
-------------
- added Force Stereo Headphones on Switch to Headphones & Startup.
- added menu item "Apply SBX Profile" to current mode.
- SBX Pro Studio Toggles moved to sub menu.

http://www.mediafire.com/?w2v5fvcukg35dxf

note: you'll see the sound windows pop for a split seconds. I couldn't run it hidden, only hide it afterwards. the procedure is faster than I expected though.

Last edited by applejack; 09-29-2013 at 00:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Nitrius
Member Guru
 
Nitrius's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 3x2GB
Soundcard: Creative XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 09-29-2013, 11:16 | posts: 148 | Location: Norway

That's great

But am curious, you don't happen to know why this is happening? Is it a driver problem, or something else? Can't really say i've had this problem with other soundcards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 09-29-2013, 11:35 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

obviously headphones are set to 5.1 on purpose, and was never meant to be configured as stereo in the Z series IMO. that is for Headphones Virtual Surround to always work as it should.
they also implemented plain stereo headphones (aka SBX Surround off) on top of 5.1 windows setup, so it shouldn't be a problem. when I tested stereo headphones over 5.1 (SBX Surround OFF), downmixing seemed to work just fine.
if you have downmix/channel issues, well that might be a driver problem I guess...

Last edited by applejack; 09-29-2013 at 11:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 09-30-2013, 02:26 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

here goes a supposedly final version, that is unless bugs or requests arise on your side (or CL breaks more stuff with a driver update).
SBZSwitcher is quite polished now, not much to add really. if you need me in the coming weeks, well good luck, as I'll be paying more attention to BF4 beta

version 1.4.2:
-------------
- fixed mouse cursor hide on switch breaks pointer animations.
- fixed Apply SBX Profile bug.
- fixed SBX Profiles miss toggles on apply / switch (where SBX turns on/off while toggling)
- added ignore mode to SBX Profiles edit:
0. no checkmark - turn off feature
1. black checkmark - turn on feature
2. gray checkmark - ignore current feature state

http://www.mediafire.com/?7s7pc3qz8rz13s5



Last edited by applejack; 09-30-2013 at 03:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
chrislue
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus gtx 670 2G
Processor: Intel i7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmater 800w
Default 10-02-2013, 07:16 | posts: 8

Cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 10-23-2013, 22:53 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

fixed some annoying bug that made tray icon unusable until app restart...

verion 1.4.3:
------------
- fixed tray icon could become unresponsive if rapidly left-clicking it.

http://www.mediafire.com/?7s7pc3qz8rz13s5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
adrock311
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 8 gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: 850 watt Thermaltake
Default 10-27-2013, 18:50 | posts: 791

thanks for this program!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
gentlemantleman
Newbie
 
gentlemantleman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N550GTX-Ti 1Gb
Processor: IntelCore i5-3470
Mainboard: GIGABYTE H77-DS3H
Memory: 8Gb Kingston KHX1600C9D3
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: 600W
Default 10-28-2013, 11:20 | posts: 2 | Location: Moscow

Hello and thanks for the program. Do you planning to do some universal tool or version of tool for another SB cards too? I use a Recon3D PCIe and
I've been looking for solution to quick switching speaker/headphones modes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 10-28-2013, 19:50 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

well, visually the Recon3D control panel seems pretty much similar to the Z's, besides some irrelevant colors, and maybe features I do not rely on anyway.
I'm guessing 99% of code should already fit the R3D. but I don't have this card in reach so maybe you could help me help you

please export the following key via regedit.exe and link me the .reg file.
Code:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices
also copy&paste here the R3D control panel's full path (inc. executable).
then i'll see what I can do. note that I cannot test it myself so I might need some more help down the road.

Last edited by applejack; 10-28-2013 at 19:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
gentlemantleman
Newbie
 
gentlemantleman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N550GTX-Ti 1Gb
Processor: IntelCore i5-3470
Mainboard: GIGABYTE H77-DS3H
Memory: 8Gb Kingston KHX1600C9D3
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: 600W
Default 10-29-2013, 10:53 | posts: 2 | Location: Moscow

OK let's try it
registry keys here http://www.mediafire.com/download/bh...jv/recon3d.rar
And full path to control panel:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Creative\Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe\Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe Control Panel\SBRnPCIe.exe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-08-2013, 20:05 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

version 1.4.4:
------------
- added tray mute controls for SPDIF-Out / Digital-In / Microphone / What U Hear
- added assign hotkey to Microphone Mute On/Off
- fixed tray icon left click "SBZ Open/Bring to front/Close" mode conflict in some specific scenarios.
- fixed assigned hotkeys enabled at startup eventhough unchecked/disabled in settings.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/t5...her_v1.4.4.zip


@gentlemantleman:
I'm still waiting for your response to my PM. I can not continue integrating SB R3D support until you send me some more registry info I asked for in my PM to you.

Last edited by applejack; 11-09-2013 at 15:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-09-2013, 15:41 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

sorry, at first I forgot to include the following fix:
- fixed assigned hotkeys enabled at startup eventhough unchecked/disabled in settings.

now reuploaded same version (1.4.4) with it included. If you need this fix, please redownload 1.4.4.

Last edited by applejack; 11-09-2013 at 15:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 11-14-2013, 04:47 | posts: 10,646 | Location: Toledo

This program isn't working for me, it just hangs explorer when I try to open it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-14-2013, 10:07 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

it was written in Autohotkey, which some antivirus software might not like.
make sure to exclude it if this is the case, although I wouldn't really expect it to just "hang explorer". I'll try to look into it even though you are the only one to report such issue.

edit: I see you were the first to post in this thread. are you suggesting earlier version worked for you while latest doesn't ? also what version of windows are you using ?

Last edited by applejack; 11-14-2013 at 11:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 11-15-2013, 18:01 | posts: 10,646 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by applejack View Post
it was written in Autohotkey, which some antivirus software might not like.
make sure to exclude it if this is the case, although I wouldn't really expect it to just "hang explorer". I'll try to look into it even though you are the only one to report such issue.

edit: I see you were the first to post in this thread. are you suggesting earlier version worked for you while latest doesn't ? also what version of windows are you using ?
I had a high suspicion Avast was causing the issue. Still though, the second time I ran it under administrator mode it crashed my whole system. And by that I mean, explorer stopped responding, and when I tried to restart it using task manager, that crashed too. Even though I could still send messages on Steam and listen to music. Avast usually notifies me if it's analyzing something, so the whole thing is odd. This is under 8.1 Pro.

Also, I posted first just to congratulate you on taking the effort to do something Creative should have done. Haven't tried it myself until just recently.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Damage_Plan
Master Guru
 
Damage_Plan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Glalaxy GTX660 Ti GC 3GB
Processor: AMD A10 6800K Black Ed.
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-UP4
Memory: 8gb Gskill Sniper 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: 750W
Default 11-15-2013, 23:38 | posts: 364

Pretty frikken sween Applejack. Nicely done... I wish there were more features in the SBZ SBX control panel. Your application seems to be what Creative should have done in the first place. I love my soundblaster z soundcard and now i think i have found a matchingly awesome piece of software to use with it! thanks for this!! ill be trying it out in the next week or so when i reinstall my soundcard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-16-2013, 02:25 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

@Damage_Plan, thanks for the kind words. hope you have fun with it

@IcE, I recompiled 1.4.4 with some admin privileges related line of code, and reuploaded it. can you please see if this is of any help ?
also because this issue might be related to UAC in 8.1 you can try and disable it just to verify and let me know, as I do not have win8.1 currently installed.
FYI when I had 8.1 installed I tested SBZSwitcher and it worked fine, but I did not test it with UAC as this is the first feature I turn off on every installation of windows.

Last edited by applejack; 11-16-2013 at 02:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 11-19-2013, 02:54 | posts: 10,646 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by applejack View Post
@Damage_Plan, thanks for the kind words. hope you have fun with it

@IcE, I recompiled 1.4.4 with some admin privileges related line of code, and reuploaded it. can you please see if this is of any help ?
also because this issue might be related to UAC in 8.1 you can try and disable it just to verify and let me know, as I do not have win8.1 currently installed.
FYI when I had 8.1 installed I tested SBZSwitcher and it worked fine, but I did not test it with UAC as this is the first feature I turn off on every installation of windows.
This time it actually gave me an error message.



That's when I try to run it normally. It still crashes explorer if I try to run it in administrator mode. I'm one of the weird people who actually like UAC so I'd rather not disable it.

Last edited by IcE; 11-19-2013 at 02:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-19-2013, 23:26 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

sorry mate, this is a syntax related error. a result of a rushed untested line of code, which is only relevant for standard users. I missed that since i'm already admin, silly me.

so instead of fixing syntax I actually replaced that stupid line with some decent "RunAsAdmin" function borrowed from the web, which seems to handle stuff appropriately

please redownload 1.4.4 and try again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 11-20-2013, 00:19 | posts: 10,646 | Location: Toledo

Went back to the old behavior of just hanging. I can't even find the process it starts in task manager to kill it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 11-20-2013, 03:38 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

It may be that autohotkey has some compatibility issues with win8 + uac (I've seen others complain online). unfortunately it'll have to wait at least 'til I'm able to reproduce the issue (install a second OS and debug under similar conditions).

then again, I'm just assuming its uac related. you could easily help by verifying this (disable uac / lower its level for a quick test. re-enable afterwards).

Last edited by applejack; 11-20-2013 at 03:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.