Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 04-06-2008, 13:40 | posts: 183

au (ac) bp (dc) if im not mistaken

bp & sm better grades

au or bp is fine/alright for prelude

am/sm badly needed on xmeridian

Last edited by NapalmV5; 04-06-2008 at 13:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-06-2008, 17:38 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

SM grade opamps are the highest graded available. Specifications are very tight. These would be the grade the Military, Aerospace and medical instruments would use. When very tight tolerance are needed with no place for noise and/or distortions in the signal.
Hope that Helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-06-2008, 17:50 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I haven't tested out any "SM" version yet. I doubt you would hear any difference between the other two version. You MAY hear a difference between the SM and AU version. Depending on what you have for playback gear _the SM version would be more exacting and have less distortion, not to mention a shield to prevent EMI/RFI..... They are pricey....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-06-2008, 17:57 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I saw a price of around 120$ for the couple, could that be correct?
I had the AU so far, at least I can say I found it nicer sounding than the stock opamp.
I'm listening to what the card delivers by a so far good set of headphones (Ultrasone HFI 780, looking for a recable there) and a small headphone amp (Meier Audio Headsix).
The difference between the original LM and the OPA 627 AU was rather dramatic, definitely easy to tell apart. Maybe I'll opt for a pair of 637 "B" first and "see" how they sound.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 04-06-2008, 18:29 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

120$ sounds a bit high, they***8217;re on ebay for 85:
http://cgi.ebay.de/Burr-Brown-OPamp-...QQcmdZViewItem

I got my AD797s from this seller, he***8217;s reliable but shipping might take a while thanks to customs etc...

I recommend trying no opamp first if you have an external amplifier.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-06-2008, 18:48 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

I do have one, yes. Which "version" of bridging was the right one, I think there are two here? The perfect occasion to try this out

120$ was a rough estimate, I didn't find the 637 SM on any normal site, just something in Chinese/Japanese (can't tell them apart), so I took the Prelude price (which was listed also) as a baseline for how much the opamps would cost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-06-2008, 19:06 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Auzen will be oputting out the SM version very soon in the adapters.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-06-2008, 19:10 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

Great to hear that, I guess I can wait that long. My phones aren't burned in fully anyhow, another opamp can do the "work part" then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 04-06-2008, 19:51 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

You have to bridge plugs 3 and 5. Plug alignment is like:
1 8
2 7
3 6
4 5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-06-2008, 21:04 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorO View Post
You have to bridge plugs 3 and 5. Plug alignment is like:
1 8
2 7
3 6
4 5

Did you guys get the Phasing issues figured out or is the audio still 180 degrees out of phase when you do this procedure?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 04-06-2008, 21:11 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

3-6 has the phasing issue (3 is non-inverting and 6 is inverting). 3-5 is the correct way to bridge (both non-inverting).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-06-2008, 22:42 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorO View Post
3-6 has the phasing issue (3 is non-inverting and 6 is inverting). 3-5 is the correct way to bridge (both non-inverting).
Just checking. Enjoy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic SII 620W
Default 04-08-2008, 14:03 | posts: 2,176 | Location: Malaysia

While I do some modding on my Prodigy HD2, I use my SB Live! 5.1 as my source, just to test

I use rear channel DAC with SRC resampler set at 48kHz with Kernel Streaming. Obviously the bass is very loose, and most of the detail is lost, vocal is pushed backward, imaging is a bit blurry. But overall it doesn't sound that bad, although there is nothing special about it either
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-08-2008, 15:09 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

A way to get decent sound out of a old SB Live is to use the KX drivers...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic SII 620W
Default 04-08-2008, 17:12 | posts: 2,176 | Location: Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBSCIX View Post
A way to get decent sound out of a old SB Live is to use the KX drivers...
True, I've tried it (and I bet you remember you tell me )

I just use normal Creative driver for EAX, this is my gaming card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 04-12-2008, 14:54 | posts: 183

heads up: OPA637AP 8dip available @ digikey

note: browndog adapter needed

the OPA637AU they had in stock ~2 weeks ago didnt last long

Last edited by NapalmV5; 04-12-2008 at 14:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-12-2008, 19:45 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

NAJMI ADNAN, You know you can use VELBAC -the program we devloped to link the Live 5.1 and your Prodigy internally so you will have all the features of the Live! and the sound quality and output features of the Prodigy card right?
That is why we developed the application so we could have gaming card that sounded better then what was available at the time. I was running a Audigy2 and a X-Meridian 7.1, linked with Velbac it was one of the best sounding gaming configs possible at the time. Hope this helps.

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 04-12-2008 at 23:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-12-2008, 22:03 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

Yea at that time I had a A2zs and a barracuda linked..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic SII 620W
Default 04-13-2008, 04:08 | posts: 2,176 | Location: Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBSCIX View Post
NAJMI ADNAN, You know you can use VELBAC -the program we devloped to link the Live 5.1 and your Prodigy internally so you will have all the features of the Live! and the sound quality and output features of the Prodigy card right?
That is why we developed the application so we could have gaming card that sounded better then what was available at the time. I was running a Audigy2 and a X-Meridian 7.1, linked with Velbac it was one of the best sounding gaming configs possible at the time. Hope this helps.
Oh yes! Thank you ROBSCIX! I totally forgot about that software! But Live! doesn't support ASIO, and I need to use kX driver, which don't have EAX in the first place. I'll look for 2nd hand Audigy/X-Fi cards to use it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-13-2008, 16:40 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Are you sure the Live doesn't support ASIO? -Also you don't need to use KX drivers. The app works with KX or Creative drivers. The X-fi would be better as you get full EAX 1,2,3,4,5 and openAL and you can still use the Prodigy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic SII 620W
Default 04-13-2008, 17:49 | posts: 2,176 | Location: Malaysia

Yeah, Live doesn't support ASIO unless if I use kX driver. I have external PCM58DAC, I use that and connect to the digital out on this card as I see here. Now I can really get EAX while having great sound quality

EDIT: Looks like the orange digital out makes a horrible buzzing, I don't know why. Thankfully I found AUD_EXT pinout, I take the SPDIF#0 and connect it to DAC and bam! it sings beautifully. Well, its better than Prodigy HD2 I say It have sort of airy sound signature, unlike dark when I connect to Prodigy

Last edited by NAJMI ADNAN; 04-13-2008 at 19:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-16-2008, 09:46 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

Wow. I just saw that the new opamps are available through the Auzen site. The prices are... well... "quite" something.
250$ for two SM models including the adaptor

I got a price for just the opamp before and I thought it wasn't that cheap. A so far "local" supplier of electronics charges ~60$ for one opamp. But this price is just... just above all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-16-2008, 13:12 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Yes they are pricey to say the least. There is also a 1 year waiting period. These units are very hard to get and Auzentech orders the opamps and build them per order.
They are the best you can get. Auzentech also re-released a new version of the X-Plosion 7.1. The new version is called the X-Plosion 7.1 Cinema and has a LM4562 opamp on the front channel and 5532's on the others. Should be quite a upgrade from the stock X-Plosion with low cost opamps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-16-2008, 13:54 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

1 year? Wow. That's the second thing that could relate these to buying a Ferrari Very pricy and very long time before you get your hands on it.
I'm still searching for a place where they might be cheaper, if that doesn't lead to anything I guess it might be wiser to stick with the "b" version and put some money into the caps on the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 04-16-2008, 14:13 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

Thats alot, I wonder how good they sound. If they cost that much at auzentech.

Last edited by GenClaymore; 04-16-2008 at 14:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.