Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 03-11-2008, 12:26 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

They wanted to make sure you couldnt remove it, or to make sure it doesnt fall off.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 03-11-2008, 16:07 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

The OPA637's are very nice opamps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 03-13-2008, 15:53 | posts: 183



so Rob, what secret mods are there for the prelude/meridian ?

Last edited by NapalmV5; 03-13-2008 at 16:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 03-14-2008, 13:06 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

Which one of the opamps that auzen sells is great for all around listening with a pair of ATH-AD700s.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 03-14-2008, 15:06 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

They are all considered cream of the crop audio opamps. Personally I use the OPA637.....very nice indeed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 03-15-2008, 11:39 | posts: 183

replaced the 16V 470uF N with this 6.3V 2200uF NX behemoth

ad8620 opamps


if anyone wants darker sound nastier/more responsive bass there u go ^

it may seem pointless to replace just 1 but its an important cap and makes difference just by itself

Last edited by NapalmV5; 03-15-2008 at 11:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
adabiviak
Master Guru
 
adabiviak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 980Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7-5820K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X99
Memory: DDR4 / 32GB
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750X
Default 03-15-2008, 15:27 | posts: 710 | Location: California

Do you have schematics of the card and are evaluating where it could have been built better, or are these 'shotgun' fixes? Also, is there a reason you're using large, electrolytic capacitors? How are you determining the value you'll use?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 03-15-2008, 18:47 | posts: 183

schematics of the card.. evaluation/s of better build..

if you can find that info publicly dont forget about me.. i surely would appreciate that kind of info


whats wrong with large electrolytic caps? my xm got redeemed by the 2200uF NX.. didnt sound this lively before

has to be heard to be appreciated but it also depends a lot on the gear..


determining the value? at this point im just testing different values..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
adabiviak
Master Guru
 
adabiviak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 980Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7-5820K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X99
Memory: DDR4 / 32GB
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750X
Default 03-16-2008, 02:31 | posts: 710 | Location: California

It's all good - just checkin'. I'd be interested to see the schematics if you had 'em.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Tom F
Ancient Guru
 
Tom F's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saab 900
Processor: Motorola MC68332
Mainboard: Trionic 5.5
Memory: 256kB SRAM
Soundcard: Abbott
PSU: B202/B234 Turbo
Default 03-16-2008, 03:02 | posts: 2,822 | Location: Gloucesterestershire

Looks like I'll be getting my hands on an old Audigy 2 so I'm going to have to try this...

I'm still not sure why the caps make a difference to the sound though as surely most of it is just decoupling? Only one way to find out

Has anyone tried using buffers or anything on the output?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 03-16-2008, 06:29 | posts: 183

well ive replaced the 16V 470uF N with 10V 1500uF NX

my claro+ finally rox!


as u can see the risks involved..

pads ditching u faster than.. insert your own

id suggest those not comfortable/novice.. have it done pro if u want to do the mod
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 03-16-2008, 14:21 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f46/be...p-none-270984/

I***8217;m currently testing my Prelude without an opamp. I***8217;ll report back later.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
NapalmV5
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: MX300 Fully Recapped BG NX @ Linux
PSU:
Default 03-16-2008, 19:13 | posts: 183

last mod..

ive replaced the 2x 16V 470uF N to

left: 10V 1500uF NX
right: 6.3V 470uF NX


brutal ^

deeper responsive ultra bass from opa2134.. crazy

clarity/purity - this aint the same stock prelude

the 1500uF complements the prelude very nicely.. not too dark not too bright just right.. at least on my setup

Last edited by NapalmV5; 03-16-2008 at 19:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Tom F
Ancient Guru
 
Tom F's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saab 900
Processor: Motorola MC68332
Mainboard: Trionic 5.5
Memory: 256kB SRAM
Soundcard: Abbott
PSU: B202/B234 Turbo
Default 03-16-2008, 22:26 | posts: 2,822 | Location: Gloucesterestershire

Can anyone measure their results with changing their Opamps? I'm quite intrigued. Can you hear a noticable difference?

I mean, obviously going from an LM741 to an AD797 is going to sound miles apart, but most modern Opamps are so high bandwidth anyway...

Will try this on ye olde Sony CD desk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 03-16-2008, 23:14 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

Differences in noise, distortion and crosstalk are measurable, but should not be noticeable between decent opamps. Differences in frequency response could be noticeable but I can***8217;t measure them. I can post the graphs of LM4562, TLE2082 and AD797 oncemy AD797s have arrived.

So far I***8217;m using no opamp, it sounds best right now. Pretty dark, good bass and detail.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Tom F
Ancient Guru
 
Tom F's Avatar
 
Videocard: Saab 900
Processor: Motorola MC68332
Mainboard: Trionic 5.5
Memory: 256kB SRAM
Soundcard: Abbott
PSU: B202/B234 Turbo
Default 03-16-2008, 23:27 | posts: 2,822 | Location: Gloucesterestershire

That makes sense.

I like the idea of a little discrete output stage too.

Can you hear a difference between Opamps? I would've thought most would be so good that they wouldn't really change anything?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 03-17-2008, 01:12 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorO View Post
Differences in noise, distortion and crosstalk are measurable, but should not be noticeable between decent opamps. Differences in frequency response could be noticeable but I can***8217;t measure them. I can post the graphs of LM4562, TLE2082 and AD797 oncemy AD797s have arrived.

So far I***8217;m using no opamp, it sounds best right now. Pretty dark, good bass and detail.
How well does it sound when compared to the AD797? without the opamps installed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 03-17-2008, 11:37 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

My AD797 are not there yet. No opamps sound definitely better than LM4562, TLE2082 or TLE2142. I can***8217;t say for sure, but I think TLE2082 and TLE2142 sound different from LM4562, at least I***8217;ve noticed more details with them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 03-18-2008, 17:10 | posts: 5,919 | Location: Southfield,MI

Did you have to put any thing in the slot when you went opamp-less? or just left it open. because I may also try this. until I get some better opamps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 03-18-2008, 17:31 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

You need to bridge plug 3 and 5. Just use some thin copper wire, thick stuff won***8217;t fit in the plug.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PDIP

You***8217;ll need an external amplifier, unless you have a highly efficient headphone because the Prelude will become insanely quiet. For me, without an amplifier but with an opamp 50% was really loud, now without an opamp even 100% is quiet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Deckard79
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 9600GT passive
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35
Memory: 4 GIG PC2 6400
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX, HiFi
PSU: Antec Phantom 500Watt
Default 03-21-2008, 15:56 | posts: 119 | Location: Bristol, UK

Just swapped X-Fi Prelude's stock opamp for 2 x OPA637AP Burr Browns - these are DIP versions of the chips sold on the Auzen web site. Also purchased a suitable adaptor. Sound is beautiful.... and all purchased for less than half the price as on the Auzentech web site!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
DoctorO
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX Titan
Processor: 3570K 5027 MHz
Mainboard: ASrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8 GiB DDR1712
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W OCZ
Default 03-28-2008, 11:42 | posts: 123 | Location: Germany

I got my AD797s today. They don***8217;t sound bad, but they don***8217;t stand a chance against no opamp. Therefore, I***8217;m using them in my amplifier now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Satan
Ancient Guru
 
Satan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1080 GTX Founders
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170-E
Memory: 64GB G.Skill DDR4
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD et al.
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova G2
Default 03-28-2008, 16:36 | posts: 6,685 | Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

I have a question for Rob and others, can I use my Santa Cruz in collaboration with my X-Meridian in any way? Like having two sound cards working together...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 03-28-2008, 19:07 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

@Satan, Sure you can use both in the same system. Actually you can use many soundcard in the same system. This will just give you more input and outputs, if you have a use for that. You can also use one card for one purpose and one for another...etc.
If you remember a few of us awhile back developed the Velbac application so we could have EAX 1,2,3,4,5 and OpenAL hardware accelerated and have the sound quality of the X-Meridian 7.1. That was really the first Preludes in a way but we used dual cards. Now you can pick up cheap X-Music for about $40 and use them as a hardware DSP for better sounding cards like the X-Meridian 7.1.

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 03-28-2008 at 19:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 03-28-2008, 19:11 | posts: 3,616 | Location: Germany

They don't conflict with each other? If that's possible, I could search for my plug-in onboard solution to get a "louder" microphone...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.