Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows power plan settings explorer utility
Old
  (#1)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default Windows power plan settings explorer utility - 08-02-2017, 23:15 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

I got sick of fidgeting either in registry or in command line to unhide this or that power plan setting to edit its value in Windows`dialog with advanced power settings. So I wrote this little utility to explore all power plan settings and to unhide needed ones (and hide others).

Utility is built with .Net 4.5 and uses only power management functions from Win API to enumerate settings` (friendly) names along with descriptions and possible values/ranges.
You can use column "hidden" to control the visibility of settings in the dialog with advanced power settings.

I did not notice any difference launching utility as Administrator or as current user, so probably elevated privileges are not needed.

And no reboot required, just re-open the dialog with advanced power settings.

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-02-2017 at 23:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-03-2017, 06:05 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Added the launch of the dialog with advanced power settings by double click in the grid with options (any column).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
godknowswhy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: All sorts
Processor: All sorts
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: All sorts
Default 08-03-2017, 08:25 | posts: 118

Cool. Thanks for this and everything else you do around here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-07-2017, 13:27 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

I don`t know whether I should offer the editing of settings values. I overcame my laziness and managed to find easy (but slightly ugly) way of presenting the editing, but do any of you need the editing from this utility? I for example don`t like the way of editing in Windows` own dialog because we don`t see values for all power plan schemes in one place, so here we can do that.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-09-2017, 21:17 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

Change log:
- Units for the range settings is added to description.
- Panel with grid is added for editing of the AC and DC (for notebooks) values for the current (in main grid) setting. So you can edit values without the need to unhide and to launch OS`dialog. Any number of settings can be changed before clicking "Apply" button to save changes.

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-09-2017 at 21:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-09-2017, 23:31 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
I don`t know whether I should offer the editing of settings values. I overcame my laziness and managed to find easy (but slightly ugly) way of presenting the editing, but do any of you need the editing from this utility? I for example don`t like the way of editing in Windows` own dialog because we don`t see values for all power plan schemes in one place, so here we can do that.
Hi nice work.

Not trying to give you work, just idea, feedback.
Maybe add key# values on left(The reg key name).

The problem i find with windows power plan advanced window is you can't expand/enlarge it so you end up panning/scrolling to see whats there. Thats big down part of the advanced window.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-10-2017, 08:16 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
Hi nice work.

Not trying to give you work, just idea, feedback.
Maybe add key# values on left(The reg key name).
You mean Guids? It is easy because program has them all. But I smell a geek though - why do you need them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
The problem i find with windows power plan advanced window is you can't expand/enlarge it so you end up panning/scrolling to see whats there. Thats big down part of the advanced window.
Yeah, that`s stupid design.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-10-2017, 12:02 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
You mean Guids? It is easy because program has them all. But I smell a geek though - why do you need them?



Yeah, that`s stupid design.
I meant Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlS et\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\06cadf0e-64ed-448a-8927-ce7bf90eb35d
Its not big deal, only would come in handy if MS added new ones, so it be easy to compare with reg, thats all, no biggy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-10-2017, 14:00 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
I meant Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlS et\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\06cadf0e-64ed-448a-8927-ce7bf90eb35d
Its not big deal, only would come in handy if MS added new ones, so it be easy to compare with reg, thats all, no biggy.
Program can show subgroup` guid and setting` guid (under the name).

I will look also into showing descriptions of values (showed in combobox cells).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-11-2017, 20:20 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

Change log:
- Double click on the main grid with settings opens regedit and navigates it to the key for that setting in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contr ol\Power\PowerSettings\SubGroupGuid" - but you need to launch utility as Administrator for that.
- Double click on second grid (with values) on the column with schemes brings the dialog with advances settings with this scheme selected.
- Guid of the setting, units, ranges and possible values were moved to second grid: toolstrip at the very bottom and comboboxes with possible values with their descriptions.

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-11-2017 at 20:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-11-2017, 23:50 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

Change log:
- Double click on the main grid with settings opens regedit and navigates it to the key for that setting in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contr ol\Power\PowerSettings\SubGroupGuid" - but you need to launch utility as Administrator for that.
- Double click on second grid (with values) on the column with schemes brings the dialog with advances settings with this scheme selected.
- Guid of the setting, units, ranges and possible values were moved to second grid: toolstrip at the very bottom and comboboxes with possible values with their descriptions.
Nice improvement with settings and links to adavnced setting window and reg key values.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080GX @ 2k/11k
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 08-12-2017, 00:25 | posts: 2,340 | Location: TX

Nice utility here! It has WAY more stuff to mess with than I was expecting. I only dared to change the SSD no sleep stuff for the high performance plan so far, but I'm also eyeing some of the core parking stuff. Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Thumbs up 08-12-2017, 00:56 | posts: 2,358 | Location: Canada

@mbk1969
  1. Nice.
  2. Some of these settings, I have neither seen or heard of before.
  3. Seeing them all grouped together like this, I had no idea that there were so many settings.
  4. What the heck have you done now?

I'll tell you what you've done. You've opened the door to the discussion on which settings are best for, you guessed it - Gaming.

Quickly looking over my settings, I noted that I had a number a values deactivated. I'm sure that is from tweaking the Power settings already.

Ideas for future releases
  • Import and Export configuration settings.
  • Indicate default values for each setting ex Active or not active and default values for each key / value.
  • Profiles for different computer uses. ex Gaming, Server, Home computer and so on.

I think you have opened quite the bag of worms.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-13-2017, 20:44 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
@mbk1969

I'll tell you what you've done. You've opened the door to the discussion on which settings are best for, you guessed it - Gaming.

Quickly looking over my settings, I noted that I had a number a values deactivated. I'm sure that is from tweaking the Power settings already.

Ideas for future releases
  • Import and Export configuration settings.
  • Indicate default values for each setting ex Active or not active and default values for each key / value.
  • Profiles for different computer uses. ex Gaming, Server, Home computer and so on.

I think you have opened quite the bag of worms.

Blimey...
Export and import can be done easily, ofc. And profile is kinda file with saved values. But who will specify the values for all those roles - gaming, server, home computer - we need experts for that.

But I don`t get what do you call "activated/deactivated" setting. If you mean checkbox in the column "hidden" then it is namely hidden in the OS`dialog box with advanced settings.

Btw, I see some settings which never appear in the dialog box with advanced settings regardless of their hidden state.

PS And possible features are:
- reset the scheme to default values (which ofc can be done in the dialog box with advanced settings);
- creating of new additional power plans (schemes);
- use raw key input to switch power plans (schemes) by specified hotkey.

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-14-2017 at 00:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-13-2017, 23:17 | posts: 1,350

Yeh, I think some maybe misunderstand, even the hidden power plans are in use, just not seen or available to change.
Some power values are HW specific too, like new Skylake SpeedStep stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-14-2017, 02:57 | posts: 2,358 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Blimey...
Export and import can be done easily, ofc. And profile is kinda file with saved values. But who will specify the values for all those roles - gaming, server, home computer - we need experts for that.

But I don`t get what do you call "activated/deactivated" setting. If you mean checkbox in the column "hidden" then it is namely hidden in the OS`dialog box with advanced settings.

Btw, I see some settings which never appear in the dialog box with advanced settings regardless of their hidden state.

PS And possible features are:
- reset the scheme to default values (which ofc can be done in the dialog box with advanced settings);
- creating of new additional power plans (schemes);
- use raw key input to switch power plans (schemes) by specified hotkey.
Well, it looks like I took the Hidden Column and in my mind made it "activated/deactivated". That would be my mistake.

I was surprised to see a number of them Hidden ( Meaning box unchecked in the Hidden Column )? That was interesting to say the least.

I like the above ideas you have expressed.

I'll be busy for a while checking those hidden boxes that I unchecked

Let me know if you need a Beta tester.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-14-2017, 10:21 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
Well, it looks like I took the Hidden Column and in my mind made it "activated/deactivated". That would be my mistake.

I was surprised to see a number of them Hidden ( Meaning box unchecked in the Hidden Column )? That was interesting to say the least.
No, when setting is checked in column "hidden" then it is hidden in the dialog box with advanced settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-14-2017, 13:39 | posts: 2,358 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
No, when setting is checked in column "hidden" then it is hidden in the dialog box with advanced settings.
Well, again my brain is getting in the way of what my eyes are reading.

My brain saw that the majority of the power options were checked when I first ran the program. In my mind, this would indicate the these items are selected to view in the power option screen.

Apparently not. When I went to the Windows power option location, I noted that there were no options available to look at. Unchecked all boxes in the Hidden column and all option have returned.

Thank you for the correction once again.

Last edited by Watcher; 08-17-2017 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-17-2017, 02:15 | posts: 2,358 | Location: Canada

@mbk1969

There are three settings under the " Energy Saving settings " location:
  1. Display brightness weight
  2. Energy Saver Policy
  3. Charge level

in which I have unchecked the Hidden column and verified that the " Attributes " value have changed from " 1 " to " 0 ". When I run " Power Settings Explorer " again, the check marks return to the Hidden column for these three settings but the " Attributes " value remains at " 0 "

Would you verify this behaviour on your computer(s). Do you know what might be causing this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-17-2017, 08:55 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
@mbk1969

There are three settings under the " Energy Saving settings " location:
  1. Display brightness weight
  2. Energy Saver Policy
  3. Charge level

in which I have unchecked the Hidden column and verified that the " Attributes " value have changed from " 1 " to " 0 ". When I run " Power Settings Explorer " again, the check marks return to the Hidden column for these three settings but the " Attributes " value remains at " 0 "

Would you verify this behaviour on your computer(s). Do you know what might be causing this?
You can check the same value Attributes at "Energy Saving settings" subgroup registry key. As I take it subgroup itself can be hidden too. And utility doesn`t use registry, it uses only API functions. I will look into this.

Update: I can confirm that whole subgroup has that Attributes = 1 in registry, so I should add unhiding of whole subgroup to the code.


Meanwhile import/export are on the way...

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-17-2017 at 20:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-17-2017, 23:38 | posts: 3,535 | Location: Moscow, Russia

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

Change log:
- Export and Import of settings through buttons at the bottom (need to be tested more thoroughly by beta-testers);
- New subgroup of settings with name "fea3413e-7e05-4911-9a71-700331f1c294" is placed at the beginning - these are settings without actual subgroup (in dialog with advanced settings these settings are gathered under the first root node with the name of current power plan);
- Unhiding the setting when subgroup is hidden itself is now trying to remove hidden status from subgroup too.
- Reading of the settings at the start of utility is made multithreaded to be more smooth (you can compare with previous version - whether it became smoother).


Next easy feature to implement can be new column in the grid with values which shows which power plan is currently active and lets change it.

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-17-2017 at 23:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-18-2017, 03:51 | posts: 2,358 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sb...gsExplorer.zip

Change log:
- Export and Import of settings through buttons at the bottom (need to be tested more thoroughly by beta-testers);
- New subgroup of settings with name "fea3413e-7e05-4911-9a71-700331f1c294" is placed at the beginning - these are settings without actual subgroup (in dialog with advanced settings these settings are gathered under the first root node with the name of current power plan);
- Unhiding the setting when subgroup is hidden itself is now trying to remove hidden status from subgroup too.
- Reading of the settings at the start of utility is made multithreaded to be more smooth (you can compare with previous version - whether it became smoother).


Next easy feature to implement can be new column in the grid with values which shows which power plan is currently active and lets change it.
The " Energy Saving settings " issue reported above has been corrected by this release.
Will test Export / Import feature and report back.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.