Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
is RAM timing 11-11-11-30 bad? or good?
Old
  (#1)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default is RAM timing 11-11-11-30 bad? or good? - 11-30-2011, 21:35 | posts: 740 | Location: Manchester, UK

Hi peeps,

I have an overclocked system (cpu only) running at a high ram timing.

11-11-11-30

is that bad or good? there's a nice overclock on my 2x2gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 but i'm wondering if tightening the ram timing will make any difference to my 3D gaming. your thoughts please.

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 11-30-2011, 21:52 | posts: 2,943 | Location: Canada

DGlee posted this,

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346758

Other then the Sandra bandwidth test which shows a roughly 10% difference, the other more real world tests show it is a negligible difference.

As to making a difference in 3D gaming I would say no.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default 11-30-2011, 22:15 | posts: 740 | Location: Manchester, UK

thanks for the fast response. I just read DGlee's post (good info) and I did not think tightening the timing would provide an fps increase. And I cannot O/C the cpu any higher with an air cooler. Time for a GPU upgrade though. After getting some good advice i'll wait for the 7xxx cards.

Last edited by pogostickio; 11-30-2011 at 22:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 11-30-2011, 22:44 | posts: 16,426 | Location: US East Coast

If you want to upgrade, wait until at least March or so if you plan to stick with ATI, that way you get a better idea as to which card will fit your needs best. Some of the HD7000 series cards are expected to launch in Dec, with the HD7900 series expected in Q1 2012.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 11-30-2011, 22:52 | posts: 6,543 | Location: 127.0.0.1

What is the exact RAM model ?

11-11-11-30 seems pretty loose for 1600mhz, I am @ 1800Mhz on 2133Mhz RAM @ 9-9-9-24

When this RAM is running at 2133Mhz, then it loosens the timings to 9-11-9-28

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default 12-01-2011, 00:19 | posts: 740 | Location: Manchester, UK

cpu-z

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-01-2011, 00:23 | posts: 16,426 | Location: US East Coast

You're using DDR3-1066????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tr4l1975
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: sapphire 7970HD 3GB OC
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7
Memory: DDR3 1600MHZ 32GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Ultra LSP 650wpro 38A 12v
Default 12-01-2011, 00:28 | posts: 2,054 | Location: in my own world,they like me here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pogostickio View Post
cpu-z

take a screnshot of the spd tab please.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default 12-01-2011, 00:29 | posts: 740 | Location: Manchester, UK

well almost to the day I bought this bundle 2 years ago. as far as i am aware it's 1600 ram.



spd tab



i'll pick this up tomorrow. thanks for the assist fellow gurus. I need to hit the hay. I'm trying to build up the flexi time as at the start of the week i was 5 hours down.

Last edited by pogostickio; 12-01-2011 at 00:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tr4l1975
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: sapphire 7970HD 3GB OC
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7
Memory: DDR3 1600MHZ 32GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Ultra LSP 650wpro 38A 12v
Default 12-01-2011, 00:33 | posts: 2,054 | Location: in my own world,they like me here.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=85043

https://www.google.com/search?q=CM3X...ient=firefox-a

Last edited by tr4l1975; 12-01-2011 at 00:39.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default 12-01-2011, 00:36 | posts: 740 | Location: Manchester, UK

i can take a pic of the bios with my mobile phone if it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tr4l1975
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: sapphire 7970HD 3GB OC
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7
Memory: DDR3 1600MHZ 32GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Ultra LSP 650wpro 38A 12v
Default 12-01-2011, 00:41 | posts: 2,054 | Location: in my own world,they like me here.

Check the links I posted above, I'm not familar with your mobo or Amd overclocking any more.

here's a link describing your issue http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=78580

Last edited by tr4l1975; 12-01-2011 at 00:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.