Can my System run these games at 4x SGSSAA?

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by SergeTroy, Mar 11, 2017.

1. SergeTroy

SergeTroy Guest

GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070 8G
    Hello to the community, and thanks upfront to anyone able to lend me some advice. I'm a pretty terrible noob when it comes to these cards, and my recently purchased GTX 1070 is the first one of the family I can say I'll have used. I'll include my full system specs at the end to give the most information, but let me start with what I'm trying to figure out.

Firstly, the games that I'm looking at running are all relatively old games: Mass Effect 1 - 3, Dragon Age: Origins, Half-Life 2 and it's episodes plus some expanded content, and Wasteland 2 the Director's Cut. The graphics card I have specifically is MSI's GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G. Which is nice, but my CPU is the i5-3570K @ 3.40GHz (3.8 Turbo (currently OC'd to 4.2)) and I have 16 GB of RAM. Again, full system specs below. So, it's a fairly old system with the majority of parts from 2012, and some newer parts switched in since. I'm looking at a few sources in regards getting the settings just right for the games, but I'm also trying to cut down on too much time spent experimenting with settings. I've looked to this post/guide on gnd-tech ("How To: Use NVIDIA Inspector to Greatly Improve Image Quality in Pre-DX10 Games") as something of a blueprint, but obviously the author has a superior graphics card and CPU (the 1080 and an i7-6700k @ 4.6 GHz) to my own.

I'm only running this on a 1920x1200 24" monitor at max 59 - 60 Hertz in refresh rate (variations of V-sync enabled), but I'm curious if I can get away with 4x SGSSAA and still hold on to somewhere between 50 fps and above or not. Much thanks in advance to anyone that can give me some idea or suggest other settings to try if I'm overreaching for the best quality possible while still retaining performance. :)

Full System Specs – homebuilt