Corrupt BIOS

Discussion in 'Laptops & Notebooks' started by Tom56, Apr 9, 2015.

1. Tom56

Tom56 Guest

GPU:
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 3850
    I have an issue I have been fighting for several months. I have an HP Pavilion dv5 1008ca, AMD AthalonX2 processor ATI Graphics running Vista. One day just didn't boot up and displayed a black screen and the CAPS LOCK and NUM LOCK lights flash 3 times pause and repeat which according to HP is a corrupt BIOS. One would think if they tell you what the problem is they might give a solution to the problem however no. I purchased a replacement motherboard for the laptop, it is a Foxconn, fits perfectly and is compatible with the unit. Reinstalled all the components and started it up, the message CMOS error and two options to repair or continue; neither appeared to work. Powered off and restarted again and the Press ESC message in the lower left-hand side; pressed that and got to a system test screen. Tried going through the various options and one provided details of the system, OS, BIOS version, etc. Did a hard drive test etc and all checked out fine. Tried to F10 and nothing. Restarted again and got the message that there was something wrong with the BootMGR. To make a long story short; I was unable to gain access to the BIOS via F10. When I started it again we were back to the black screen and flashing lights. I tried booting straight from CD drive and that did not work however one time I tried a Ubuntu disc and it loaded up and ran off the CD for perhaps 4 hours going to sleep and waking again and stayed running until I shut it down. Tried again and got the black screen and flashing lights so it doesn't always bot from CD. I have been researching how to access BIOS using a USB stick however I'm missing something to get it to work. Any suggestions, workarounds would be appreciated. Sorry for the lengthy story.

2. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    I will say it bluntly.