Best Z97 motherboard, various issues with certain brands.

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by guppysb, Apr 27, 2015.

1. guppysb

guppysb Active Member

GPU:
    2x 290x, Qnix 2710 100hz
    Hey Guys,

I need your help, but I'd like to point out that I always do bios updates, make sure the CPU is seated firmly, no socket pins are bent and general checks before posting on forums or trying to get help. I have a Bachelor's in Computer Engineering so I don't think I am the dumbest person when it comes to computers (I think, who knows).

However, I have been having a ton of issues recently and I have started banging my head against the wall. All related to the individual motherboards tested.

Here's the basic hardware (and software) list, excluding the motherboard:
    Intel i7 4770k CPU
    EVGA 1000G2 PSU
    Sapphire R9 290x Tri-X OC GPU
    Creative Titanium HD PCI Express x1
    16GB (4x4GB) G-Skill Trident-X 2400mhz DDR3
    2x Sandisk 256GB SSD Drive (SATA6GB/s)
    1x WD Caviar Black 500GB drive (SATA6GB/s)

The Problem:
    I bought a MSI z87 GD-65 motherboard roughly 2 years ago and recently it started giving me a ton of bsods (networking and memory related). I tried bios updates, only installing the Killer NIC inf drivers without the whole software suite. Still, no go. Also, the motherboard could never use the XMP profile of the memory but I still kept it. I ran the memory at 1800mhz with manual latency settings. In hindsight, I should have returned it. Turns out, I am not the only one. Tons of people can't use G-Skill memory on the MSI boards properly:
    https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=178019.0