Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#176)
JaxMacFL
Maha Guru
 
JaxMacFL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (pascal)
Processor: i9 7900X Kraken X62
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
Memory: 16GB(4x4)Quad GSKILL 3200
Soundcard: SB ZxR with Logi 5.1 Z906
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 08-10-2017, 21:30 | posts: 1,042 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Enough said, AA01 nailed it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#177)
VF1Snarf
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 970 4gb
Processor: i5 4460
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750w OCZ
Default 08-10-2017, 23:22 | posts: 7

anyone on windows 7? any improvements?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#178)
Poor Tom
Member Guru
 
Poor Tom's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti SLI Hybrid modded
Processor: 1800X @3.925
Mainboard: MSI X370 Krait Gaming
Memory: GSkill 16g @3200
Soundcard: Denon USB DAC & DT990 pro
PSU: Seasonic 1250W
Default 08-11-2017, 00:35 | posts: 50 | Location: USA

I'd like to thank those of you having the whole G-sync, V-sync, & frame limiter discussion because I've not been doing it right and had tearing or lag. Will read articles and other discussions linked here and try again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#179)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 08-11-2017, 12:20 | posts: 4,879 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mineria View Post
You can't just say 2 fps, it's more like 5-10% below max refresh rate, monitor fps and adjust until hitting the sweet spot, what you want to avoid is getting any fps spikes beyond the set refresh rate.
You can do that without syncing at all, and when all set you can enable g-sync and v-sync.
As example, if your running 60Hz you want to get as close to 60fps as possible without ever going above.
Dependent on game engine this can be a fps limit up to 10% below set refresh rate, some engines manage to spike more beyond the set limit than others.

There is a discussion around the topic here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=415020&page=4
Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
This is correct.

If you have like 144/165hz you may try 3fps below refresh rate just in case.

Wonky game engine FPS limiters that are not stable could possible hit vsync ceiling.
It's another topic but I still wonder why some games don't give a rat's ass about forced Vsync through NVCPL. Must be something in their specific engine I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#180)
Weesni
Master Guru
 
Weesni's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 GAMING
Memory: 16 GB DDR3 gskill 1333
Soundcard: Onbrd Realtek HD + SHD555
PSU: Corsair 650TX V2
Default 08-11-2017, 18:24 | posts: 437 | Location: Germany

Just in this driver where is the nv_cache folder?
Dont found it anywhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#181)
archie123
Maha Guru
 
archie123's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aorus 1080ti Extreme
Processor: I7-5930k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Asus X99-S
Memory: 16GB Hyper X Fury
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 850w RM Series
Default 08-11-2017, 18:39 | posts: 2,391 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Nobody missed your point.
The point is that your statement is incorrect.

You will still get tearing even in gsync range.
That's why you enable vsync and set a fps limiter together.

You should read that article so you can clearly understand how gsync works.

You should reread this main point here.

G-SYNC module compensates for frametime variances output by the system (which prevents tearing at all times. G-SYNC + V-SYNC “Off” disables this behavior; see G-SYNC 101: Range
So i remember when i first went gsync , in driver settings (after new driver install) vsync was set to ON by default when you enabled gsync. In later drivers this was no longer the case it is now use 3d application settings. If its true we need vsync with gsync to prevent tearing (even withing the gsync fps range) why would nvidia change this setting? If tearing is caused by frames being rendered between refreshes and gsync prevents this happening why would it tear? I notice no tearing ingame without vsync

Last edited by archie123; 08-11-2017 at 18:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#182)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti/980TiSC PhysX
Processor: i7 6850K 4.5 Ghz 1.34 v
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTWK
Memory: Corsair 3200mhz LPX 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 08-11-2017, 18:52 | posts: 5,251 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weesni View Post
Just in this driver where is the nv_cache folder?
Dont found it anywhere.
C:\Windows\Temp\NVIDIA Corporation\NV_Cache
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#183)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 08-11-2017, 18:56 | posts: 9,610 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by archie123 View Post
So i remember when i first went gsync , in driver settings (after new driver install) vsync was set to ON by default when you enabled gsync. In later drivers this was no longer the case it is now use 3d application settings. If its true we need vsync with gsync to prevent tearing (even withing the gsync fps range) why would nvidia change this setting? If tearing is caused by frames being rendered between refreshes and gsync prevents this happening why would it tear? I notice no tearing ingame without vsync
Because when gsync was released people were complaining about their FPS being capped to refresh rate hence the option was changed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#184)
Fumz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
Processor: 7700k@4.9GHz Noctua NHD15
Mainboard: Asus Prime Z270 AR
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200MHz cl14
Soundcard: Recon3D/Logitech Z5500
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 08-13-2017, 02:18 | posts: 93 | Location: California

Just installed, hit reddit (firefox), got a black screen.

edit

Battlefield 1 is a lot smoother. With 384.xx I would always get these dips in fps that are really hard to explain? I cap at 150, and for the most part, fps stays at 150, but a "dip" down to 120 fps would feel like a dip down to 30 fps. It was very strange. Just ran through a few maps and no dips... or at least nothing happened that made the game feel as if it were 30 fps... so yeah, keeping these for a while.

Last edited by Fumz; 08-13-2017 at 04:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#185)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 08-13-2017, 05:26 | posts: 2,374 | Location: Qatar

soooo i did DPC latency test and i got good results


this is with Chrome window open




this is with chrome minimized to taskbar
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#186)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 08-13-2017, 05:41 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fumz View Post
Just installed, hit reddit (firefox), got a black screen.

edit

Battlefield 1 is a lot smoother. With 384.xx I would always get these dips in fps that are really hard to explain? I cap at 150, and for the most part, fps stays at 150, but a "dip" down to 120 fps would feel like a dip down to 30 fps. It was very strange. Just ran through a few maps and no dips... or at least nothing happened that made the game feel as if it were 30 fps... so yeah, keeping these for a while.
Report to Mozilla & try the latest Mozilla Firefox 55.0.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#187)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080GX @ 2k/11k
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 08-13-2017, 05:56 | posts: 2,338 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by kx11 View Post
soooo i did DPC latency test and i got good results


this is with Chrome window open
 Click to show spoiler





this is with chrome minimized to taskbar
 Click to show spoiler
That looks fine, but I am fairly sure that program doesn't work with Windows 10. You would need to use something like LatencyMon to get a real idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Report to Mozilla & try the latest Mozilla Firefox 55.0.1.
I'm getting really tired of the blackscreen stuff that I've had with any and all 382.xx, 384.xx and this 385.12 driver. Was waiting for FF 55 to come through but they pulled it for some reason. I'll have to try 55.0.1 soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#188)
Klementh
Master Guru
 
Klementh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 660Ti DCU II
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: GA-AB350-GAMING 3
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GVK
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220
PSU: Antec HCG 520
Default 08-13-2017, 06:05 | posts: 473 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Report to Mozilla & try the latest Mozilla Firefox 55.0.1.
Nope, there is a fix but for version 56. You can use the beta or disable hardware accelleration.

See: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1163440
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#189)
khanmein
Maha Guru
 
khanmein's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4460
Mainboard: ASRock H97 Pro4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston CL11
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: Seasonic X-750 (KM3)
Default 08-13-2017, 06:41 | posts: 1,273 | Location: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klementh View Post
Nope, there is a fix but for version 56. You can use the beta or disable hardware accelleration.

See: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1163440
I don't like Mozilla. I'm sticking with my Google Chrome very stable no issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#190)
tensai28
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 1080TI aorus xtreme
Processor: I5 6600k 4.5ghz
Mainboard: asus z170-A
Memory: 16gb ddr4 2400mhz(2x8gb)
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic S12G 650W
Default 08-13-2017, 08:14 | posts: 253 | Location: Taiwan

I just gave these a go and performance is pretty smooth like the last drivers I was using (384.80). Benchmark scores are lower but game performance seems the same. I don't know why but visual quality seems better for some reason. Maybe placebo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#191)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 08-13-2017, 09:03 | posts: 777 | Location: Heaven

My machine locked up after installing these and I had some fps dips I usually don't. I suspect these issues are related. Anyways, back to older driver, shame these were really nice otherwise.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#192)
archie123
Maha Guru
 
archie123's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aorus 1080ti Extreme
Processor: I7-5930k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Asus X99-S
Memory: 16GB Hyper X Fury
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 850w RM Series
Default 08-13-2017, 09:21 | posts: 2,391 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Because when gsync was released people were complaining about their FPS being capped to refresh rate hence the option was changed.
I think i misunderstood this ........

Quote:
G-SYNC module compensates for frametime variances output by the system (which prevents tearing at all times. G-SYNC + V-SYNC “Off” disables this behavior; see G-SYNC 101: Range
reading it as gsync ON vsync OFF

Last edited by archie123; 08-13-2017 at 09:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#193)
reeven
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX GTX280 750/1450/3000
Processor: Q6600 @4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 Platinum
Memory: 4GB 800 A-data Extreme
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio PCIe
PSU: Corsair TX 650W
Default 08-13-2017, 11:18 | posts: 162 | Location: Bucharest, Romania

do not use DPC LATENCY, its not for win10.
use LatencyMon......common guys....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#194)
evgenim
Master Guru
 
evgenim's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX770 WF OC
Processor: Core i5-2500k 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LE Plus
Memory: Samsung DDR3-2133 12Gb
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: CM GX 650W Bronze
Default 08-13-2017, 13:11 | posts: 161

Quote:
Originally Posted by kx11 View Post
soooo i did DPC latency test and i got good results
DPC Latency shows incorrect graph since Win8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#195)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill Trid.Z 3000 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 08-13-2017, 13:26 | posts: 3,562 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
So far the best driver out of all r384, stability wise, etc.. they're a little faster by dx api tests too.. gonna keep these for a while.
Thanks for sharing, that's all I need to know

Still on 382.05 which is solid but had an Access violation crash in Hellblade so thought I'd try an up-to-date driver (.05 doesn't recognize Hellblade yet).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#196)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 08-13-2017, 15:00 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Proxima \/82

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
Thanks for sharing, that's all I need to know

Still on 382.05 which is solid but had an Access violation crash in Hellblade so thought I'd try an up-to-date driver (.05 doesn't recognize Hellblade yet).
Yeah, i usually don't praise it unless its also stable with my max cpu Oc, and so far these are the best. All others had some sort of stability issue e.g. game freeze and later had to hard reset.. (by very demanding cpu games: gta5, divison, cod bo3, ffxiv bloodborn?, natural selection2, rift, daying light, killing floor2, batman arkham knight, etc)

No black screen in firefox either.

Last edited by -Tj-; 08-13-2017 at 15:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#197)
angelgraves13
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Processor: i7 5960X 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS X99-E WS
Memory: Corsair 64GB 2400 XMP
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Antec HCP 1200
Default 08-14-2017, 07:13 | posts: 564 | Location: Los Angeles

I fully expect Nvidia to release a "Vega Killer" driver tomorrow to unlock some more performance for the 10 series Geforce cards, and then pretend like they pulled it out of thin air, all the while expecting us to give them some mad props.

Competition is great....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#198)
peppercute
Master Guru
 
peppercute's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI 1080 Gaming X
Processor: i9 7900x @ 4.7GHz HT
Mainboard: MSi x299 Gaming Pro carbo
Memory: 32 Gb @3733
Soundcard: Creative zx (s530d)
PSU: Corsair ax1200
Default 08-14-2017, 08:20 | posts: 362 | Location: Russia

dell

Last edited by peppercute; 08-14-2017 at 08:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#199)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-14-2017, 12:05 | posts: 1,350

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelgraves13 View Post
I fully expect Nvidia to release a "Vega Killer" driver tomorrow to unlock some more performance for the 10 series Geforce cards, and then pretend like they pulled it out of thin air, all the while expecting us to give them some mad props.

Competition is great....
I doubt that will happen, and I doubt anything will change as Nvidia doesn't have to do anything (according to rumors Vege56=1070 ref and Vega64=1080FE).
This is a yr after release, there probably planning next release, but there is an easy option they left on the table for 1070 and that would be to release with DDR5x memory, I know org they didn't do this cause it would be to close probably in many apps/games to a 1080.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#200)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 08-14-2017, 12:34 | posts: 1,746

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelgraves13 View Post
I fully expect Nvidia to release a "Vega Killer" driver tomorrow to unlock some more performance for the 10 series Geforce cards, and then pretend like they pulled it out of thin air, all the while expecting us to give them some mad props.

Competition is great....
Vega killer was released 14 months ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.