Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 Ti GAMING 6G
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 10-01-2013, 00:50 | posts: 7,480 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
I always though SweetFX was about having choice to make things look how you wanted in a game if the designers choices weren't to your own taste.

I gave up looking at most SweetFX shots as too many people turned good looking games into a noise ridden/black crushed mess, but if they were happy with it then not for me to say they shouldn't use those settings.

I won't be using CA myself, as it looks very much like playing a game with an astigmatism, but i'm a big fan of other "flaws" like lens flare and film grain, so CA seems like a good addition for those who like it.
There are lots of ways to contrast with SweetFX without crushing.
   
 
Old
  (#52)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-01-2013, 00:54 | posts: 17,644 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
There are lots of ways to contrast with SweetFX without crushing.
I know, my point was just that many people clearly prefer that look.
   
Old
  (#53)
K-putt
Master Guru
 
K-putt's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780Ti
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: SeaSonic G-550w (PCGH)
Default 10-01-2013, 01:04 | posts: 472 | Location: Germany

Maybe because they don't know it better? Who knows.
Make some good presets and share it with the people and maybe they will use your presets
   
Old
  (#54)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 10-01-2013, 02:06 | posts: 686 | Location: Denmark

I've updated SweetFX to version 1.5.1

Changes :
  • LumaSharpen in 1.5 still had some experimental code activated when it should not have. Fixed that.
  • Changed some code and settings to workaround a bug in SweetFX Configurator. The configurator should now work fine with SweetFX 1.5.1
  • The Custom shader now have some more interesting example code that inverts the luma of the image, and it now has an example setting.

Also I have put together an archive with SweetFX configurator with the new SweetFX 1.5.1 files since Terrasque never seems to get around to updating it.
   
 
Old
  (#55)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-01-2013, 02:22 | posts: 17,644 | Location: Glasgow

Fantastic, and i was thinking that myself.

Thanks again for the hard work, it's stuff like this that makes me stick with PC's rather than going the easy route of console.
   
Old
  (#56)
007.SirBond
Master Guru
 
007.SirBond's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX Titan 6GB
Processor: Intel i7-3770k
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16G DDR3 Kingston
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC 363D 7.1
PSU: 850 Watts
Default 10-01-2013, 04:46 | posts: 295

I made a new topic on ENB vs SweetFX, CeeJay can you clarify what is the difference between them?

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4666010
   
Old
  (#57)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x4GB G.Skill 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 10-01-2013, 05:01 | posts: 381

Thanks CeeJay.
   
Old
  (#58)
sidspyker
Master Guru
 
sidspyker's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic M12IIEVO 720W
Default 10-01-2013, 11:35 | posts: 409

Hurray! Thanks CJ.
   
Old
  (#59)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 10-01-2013, 11:41 | posts: 686 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007.SirBond View Post
I made a new topic on ENB vs SweetFX, CeeJay can you clarify what is the difference between them?

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4666010
I wrote a small comparison at that that thread, but I'll quickly post the summary here :

ENB strives to implement the most advanced and impressive effects for a few select games.

SweetFX strives to be super fast, compatible, and easy to use for as many games as possible.
   
Old
  (#60)
sidspyker
Master Guru
 
sidspyker's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic M12IIEVO 720W
Default 10-01-2013, 11:46 | posts: 409

Btw CeeJay, you mentioned once before that there was some SMAA performance impact in 1.4 and that 1.5 would possibly have an alternate method not requiring SMAA to be the 'base' when injected.

So far as you had suggested, I have been using this:
Quote:
#define SMAA_THRESHOLD 1.00
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 0
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 0
#define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 100
#define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1
#define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0
Should I continue using this?
   
Old
  (#61)
CeeJay.dk
Master Guru
 
CeeJay.dk's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6870
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 10-01-2013, 12:03 | posts: 686 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidspyker View Post
Btw CeeJay, you mentioned once before that there was some SMAA performance impact in 1.4 and that 1.5 would possibly have an alternate method not requiring SMAA to be the 'base' when injected.

So far as you had suggested, I have been using this:


Should I continue using this?
That should now be unnecessary.

I figured out the problem and fixed it in 1.5

It required creating a new technique (that's a section of the code that tells DirectX "here is a vertex and pixel shader pair") for DX10/11

I could not get this to work originally. I'd code a correct technique and figured it would work, but it wouldn't. I tried many variations and still it wouldn't work - it was very infuriating

Then some weeks ago I was talking with Crosire - discussing who made the original InjectSMAA codebase? .. how much was [SomeDude]s work and how much was MrHaandis? , when it hit me that what was true for the dx9 injector was not necessary true for the dx10/11 injector.

So I tried again and after a short while I figured out the problem.

The DX9 injector works just fine when you name the technique whatever you like - the DX10/11 however will not run any technique that doesn't have the name of one of the SMAA techniques.

The fix was simple .. rename the technique.

It now has the same name as the edge detection technique in SMAA and this fools the injector to run it.

Last edited by CeeJay.dk; 10-01-2013 at 13:44.
   
Old
  (#62)
sidspyker
Master Guru
 
sidspyker's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic M12IIEVO 720W
Default 10-01-2013, 12:04 | posts: 409

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJay.dk View Post
That should now be unnecessary.
So just SMAA=0?

Lovely.
   
Old
  (#63)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX980Ti
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 10-01-2013, 16:20 | posts: 280 | Location: New York, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K-putt View Post
Here is Boulotaur2024's Injector with CeeJay's new and updated Shaders.
I also added the Chromatic Aberration shader i found somewhere on the internet. And i still don't know who made it.
This Injector doesn't have all the updates that CeeJay made to his injector.

Lets hope everything works with this version. If not, let me know.
I only added the new shaders so everything should work actually.
Says file deleted.. also 2 questions:

1) will this work in win8.1 (im considering downloading it)
2) will this work in Final Fantasy 14? (main game i am playing, lol)
3) I love you guys
   
Old
  (#64)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 Ti GAMING 6G
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 10-01-2013, 16:30 | posts: 7,480 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sajittarius View Post
Says file deleted.. also 2 questions:

1) will this work in win8.1 (im considering downloading it)
2) will this work in Final Fantasy 14? (main game i am playing, lol)
3) I love you guys
It was working for me in FF14, but not any of the new effects (CA, explosion, levels). So I went back to old Boulotaur release.

I miss the guy's work... where is he?
   
Old
  (#65)
007.SirBond
Master Guru
 
007.SirBond's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX Titan 6GB
Processor: Intel i7-3770k
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16G DDR3 Kingston
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC 363D 7.1
PSU: 850 Watts
Default 10-01-2013, 16:48 | posts: 295

I think he took the download down because it had a older version, 1.5.1 came out after that one, maybe he is updating his version as well.
   
Old
  (#66)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX980Ti
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 10-01-2013, 16:59 | posts: 280 | Location: New York, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
It was working for me in FF14, but not any of the new effects (CA, explosion, levels). So I went back to old Boulotaur release.

I miss the guy's work... where is he?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007.SirBond View Post
I think he took the download down because it had a older version, 1.5.1 came out after that one, maybe he is updating his version as well.
Good to know, thanks!
   
Old
  (#67)
007.SirBond
Master Guru
 
007.SirBond's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX Titan 6GB
Processor: Intel i7-3770k
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16G DDR3 Kingston
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC 363D 7.1
PSU: 850 Watts
Default 10-01-2013, 17:16 | posts: 295

Hmm did you fix the luma sharpen so it doesn't sharpen the aliasing edges as well?
   
Old
  (#68)
DarthNorther
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 550 ti
Processor: i7-3820
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 820
Default 10-01-2013, 19:06 | posts: 2

CeeJay.dk, first of all thanks a lot for this new version, Ive been looking forward to it.

This may be a tricky question, but does this new version have better performance than bolotaurs one?

Im positive Bolotaurs version was faster overall than 1.4 version, I notice it cause my computer is not that great, and gpu is quite old.
   
Old
  (#69)
TCPIP
Member Guru
 
TCPIP's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 290
Processor: AMD FX-8120
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: ToughPower 1500W
Default 10-01-2013, 21:31 | posts: 67

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJay.dk View Post
Clipping is when you push some details to full black or full white. When you do this the details disappear because there must be difference to the surrounding pixels for a detail to exist - when everything is full white or full black .. and thus the same color then the details are lost.

I saturate the output of Lumasharpen, but don't saturate Levels because after Levels comes other color modifing effect and they might pull the details back into the 0 - 1 range between black and white so the details are visible again.

The details are only really lost once they are clamped away with saturate or they are written to the buffer.
With Levels i didn't have such a problem, unless you go insanely high with black level. Even if you say "(I) don't saturate Levels because after Levels come other color modifying effects and they might pull the details back into the 0 - 1 range between black and white so the details are visible again" it doesn't mean people won't have settings for other effects that only increase those negative or >1 values , so to saturate the result would be like fixing a flaw in the algorithm. Of course there is always a way of changing the formula itself to fix that.
   
Old
  (#70)
TCPIP
Member Guru
 
TCPIP's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 290
Processor: AMD FX-8120
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: ToughPower 1500W
Default 10-01-2013, 21:33 | posts: 67

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPulowski View Post
I also ported some shaders for MPC-HC use and updated some others.
Levels:
Code:
   /*-----------------------------------------------------------.   
  /                          Levels                             /
  '------------------------------------------------------------/

by Christian Cann Schuldt Jensen ~ CeeJay.dk

Allows you to set a new black and a white level.
This increases contrast, but clips any colors outside the new range to either black or white
and so some details in the shadows or highlights can be lost.

The shader is very useful for expanding the 16-235 TV range to 0-255 PC range.
You might need it if you're playing a game meant to display on a TV with an emulator that does not do this.
But it's also a quick and easy way to uniformly increase the contrast of an image.

*/

#define Levels_black_point 16    //[0 to 255] The black point is the new black - literally. Everything darker than this will become completely black. Default is 16.0
#define Levels_white_point 235   //[0 to 255] The new white point. Everything brighter than this becomes completely white. Default is 235.0
//Colors between the two points will stretched, which increases contrast, but details above and below the points are lost (this is called clipping).

sampler s0 : register(s0);

#define black_point_float ( Levels_black_point / 255.0 )
#define white_point_float ( 255.0 / (Levels_white_point - Levels_black_point))

float4 LevelsPass( float4 colorInput )
{
  colorInput.rgb = colorInput.rgb * white_point_float - (black_point_float *  white_point_float);
  return colorInput;
}

float4 main(float2 tex : TEXCOORD0) : COLOR {
	float4 FinalColor = tex2D(s0, tex);
	FinalColor = LevelsPass(FinalColor);
	return FinalColor;
}
Levels are already in the MPC-HC, it's called 16-235 -> 0-255 [SD][HD]
   
Old
  (#71)
r3dfield
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX980 OC@1541Mhz/4001Mhz
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Power
Default 10-01-2013, 21:42 | posts: 57

Is there a way to get SweetFX working with BF4 Beta?
   
Old
  (#72)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866 C9 T1
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 10-01-2013, 22:03 | posts: 112 | Location: Italy

In 1.5 i have a darken image if i disable SMAA, i don't know in 1.5.1 again.
   
Old
  (#73)
Zomgerd
Master Guru
 
Zomgerd's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus R9 280X DC2T
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Fatality
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ ZT 650w
Default 10-01-2013, 23:24 | posts: 304 | Location: The Internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sajittarius View Post
Says file deleted.. also 2 questions:

1) will this work in win8.1 (im considering downloading it)
Read the FAQ, some games still work in dx10/11 on win 8.1 but not all.

Quote:
Q: I keep getting an error when using DX11 on Win 8.1 RTM?
A: The dxgi.dll needs to be updated to support some DXGI changes that Win8.1 introduced. Future versions of the injector should have Win8.1 support. You can still use DX9 games with SweetFX under Win8.1, and some DX10/11 still work on Win8.1. RadeonPro also works.

He did not changed the code of the dxgi dll, he only added the new and changed effects to the the corresponding shader files and main.h file.
   
Old
  (#74)
PandaSushi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Audioengine D1 USB DAC
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 10-01-2013, 23:45 | posts: 39 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by r3dfield View Post
Is there a way to get SweetFX working with BF4 Beta?
Radeonpro works in windows 8.1 preview with BF4.
   
Old
  (#75)
Martigen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080Ti SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3970X @ 4.5
Mainboard: Rampage IV Formula
Memory: 16GB Dominator Plat
Soundcard: Auzentech X-FI HTHD
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000
Default 10-02-2013, 00:02 | posts: 159 | Location: Australia

Congratulations on the new release Ceejay!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007.SirBond View Post
Hmm did you fix the luma sharpen so it doesn't sharpen the aliasing edges as well?
This is a function of Bolotaur's injector by moving SMAA to the end of the chain. SMAA works and looks considerably better this way too. However I don't think the sequence has changed in 1.5 as it's still using the MrHaandi injector.

And so speaking of which Ceejay: what's the state of injectors at the moment? Is this correct:
  • Default, MrHaandi -- No 64 bit support. SMAA at start of chain.
  • Bolotaur -- 64-bit support, SMAA at end of chain.
  • Crosire -- super secret sauce no release yet?
Is Bolotaur still working on his injector? It's been great for most games but there are a handful where Bolotaur won't work at all where the MrHaandi injector does, so it still needs refining.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.