Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum
Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum This forum is intended for generic questions and discussion of the RivaTuner Utility. In this section the users help each other out with answers.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-06-2007, 20:52 | posts: 13,017 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

I bet that typing AutoFanSpeedControl in search field will allow you to get your question answered in just a few seconds.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Wyphy
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA e-GeForce 8800GTX
Processor: Athlon64 X2 6000
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-M59SLI-S5
Memory: 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750
Default 11-06-2007, 23:16 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
I bet that typing AutoFanSpeedControl in search field will allow you to get your question answered in just a few seconds.
Sorry, I'm usually better about searching, but I found this thread when I found RivaTuner, and haven't had much time to investigate, and I guess I figured that since there was no answer here, and no other 'search autofanspeedcontrol' post, there wasn't one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 11-06-2007, 23:57 | posts: 1,879 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyphy View Post
Sorry, I'm usually better about searching, but I found this thread when I found RivaTuner, and haven't had much time to investigate, and I guess I figured that since there was no answer here, and no other 'search autofanspeedcontrol' post, there wasn't one.
Huh? I search that and found this in 3 sec.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....anspeedcontrol

And the answer is
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
dvrocc
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 7800GS 256mb AGP
Processor: P4 2.8ghz 800fsb HT!
Mainboard: Asus P4P8X
Memory: CorsairXMS D/C 1024mb DDR400
Soundcard: SoundMAX 4.0 Digital Audio
PSU: Thermaltake Silentpower 480 Watt
Default 11-17-2007, 15:21 | posts: 23 | Location: Modesto CA

I came across this RT guide a few days ago maybe some members can use this one if they wish http://www.vaguesoft.com/users/dwood...ls/rivatuner2/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
duchess
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 2600PRO
Processor: AMD Athlon 64
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ...
Default 12-12-2007, 03:50 | posts: 8

Hi,

I have a 7900GS PCI-E card by Nvidia, and my OS is Windows XP SP2, I have an HP Pavillion a1330n computer. Which one of those guides would be best for me to use for setting up fans?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 12-12-2007, 22:20 | posts: 1,879 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by duchess View Post
Hi,

I have a 7900GS PCI-E card by Nvidia, and my OS is Windows XP SP2, I have an HP Pavillion a1330n computer. Which one of those guides would be best for me to use for setting up fans?

Thanks
Only you should be able to decide which is best.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Mattholland
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800gt/ XFX / 512mb
Processor: AMD Athlon 64
Mainboard:
Memory: 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-03-2008, 17:51 | posts: 1

Hello I have been looking for rivatuner guides to add custom resolutions and refresh rates to my setup but have not been able to find any. my monitor can handle 1366x768 but cannot get that from the basic or advanced changes that nvidia or vista use does anyone know how i can do that through rivatuner

Thanks

Matt
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Fyre
Newbie
 
Fyre's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 280
Processor: Intel QX9650 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA 780i
Memory: 2GB Corsair Dominator 106
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Xtr
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1KW
Default 03-04-2008, 02:49 | posts: 18 | Location: United States

I've posted a new RivaTuner v2.07 Guide on my site.

This tutorial includes the new features of RivaTuner, including: Configuring RivaTuner, Creating Fan Profiles, Creating Launcher Items, Creating Scheduler Tasks, Additional Scheduler Tasks, Using Hardware Monitoring Tool, Setting up the G15 Display, Advanced Automatic Fan Control, Creating Overclocking Profiles, and Adding Plugins.

The fan profile section uses the driver-level method to support SLI and has been tested. Also, it includes the advanced AutomaticFanSpeedControl method.

The Configuring RivaTuner section has not yet been completed, but all the other sections are for the most part done. The tutorial was written by me and can be distributed freely. I just ask that you mention my name.

Please send any comments to: dwood [at] vaguesoft [dot] com

RivaTuner v2.07 Tutorial
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-04-2008, 06:59 | posts: 13,017 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Good job, Derek!


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Need help?
Old
  (#60)
El Bastardo
Newbie
 
El Bastardo's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA e-GeForce 9800 GX2
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus Formula
Memory: 4 x 2 GB Corsair XMS2 (DDR2-1066)
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty & Teufel 7.1
PSU: Enermax MODU82+ 625W ATX 2.2
Exclamation Need help? - 03-04-2008, 12:29 | posts: 16 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyre View Post
I've posted a new RivaTuner v2.07 Guide on my site.
Really good job indeed. Nothing new for me but really informative and compact.
What I can offer you for your guide is additional explanation for the difficult part of the "automated fan control".

I for myself also were in the situation of finding the "best" settings for my graphics card and used various information from the forums here and wrote this excel spreadsheet for myself to help determining good settings for the automated fan control. If you wish you can use it or information from it for your guide.

What your guide lacks in this passage is mainly more information about how to disable dynamic Trange control, some more nice formulas and examples.
You can also add the information that the new 8800 GTS 512 MB has an offset of 8 C.

I would also like to see more information about the more difficult parts of this great piece of software like the StatisticsServer and for example how to use the screen capture feature right (something I do not know well enough yet).



So here's a link to the spreadsheet.
I locked all cells except the ones in gold (B2-B4 & B6) color where you should enter values:

http://www.filesend.net/download.php? f=f4519c791b02d73d320fcccfcb550c66

Additional explanation for usage:
The document has my current values saved as default.
Think for yourself about your desired duty cycle min and max and your desired temperature min and max and fill them in and the exact best T range will be calculated.

But you can not just choose this exact value, you can only use the values listed in the table on the bottom left ("T range of your choice"). So choose the value which is closest to the calculated one.

To disable the "dynamic T min control" you have to alter the three values given in the table section. Use the three values noted there (151, 0, 151) but in general it's important to use values so high that your card will never reach such temperatures. I found the information that 191 is the absolute maximum the DLL-plugin can handle so these values are appropriate.

Column C and D will give you information about your fan with the chosen T Range (B5). Which speed at which temperature.
I capped the temperature column to "realistic" values (why making it too long and unclear with temperature values from 1 to 100).

At least cell E4 and F5 are (more or less) just for fun *cough* I mean information ^_^
I had some formulas left and wanted to use them anyway so these cells take into consideration your chosen values from the gold colored cells and calculate the mathematically best and exactest values for T min and max.
Sure you can not choose decimal places but these two values would be the calculated optimum (that's why I named the columns "optimum".

-----------------------------------------

So all this "theory" summarized with this example using my own card and settings:

Think about your desired values. For my 8800 GTS 512 it was easy. I just chose the default cycles of 36% minimum and a logically "full speed" at max (100%) and temperatures that "fit" my chip and I think are healthy so up to 60 C everything is OK with the chip and the fan can run at 36% but no more than 70 C please. So I chose a T range of 10.

With this my card runs at the following real temperatures:

Idle and underclocked for 2D at 395/990/470 MHz: 43-45 C
Idle and overclocked at 700/1835/990 MHz: 48 C
In Crysis and extreme overclocked at 810/1890/1152 MHz: not more than 64 C


Feel free to ask about everything unknown and if desired use the spreadsheet for your calculation!!

Last edited by El Bastardo; 03-10-2008 at 13:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980TI ACX 2
Processor: I7 6700k @ 4.2GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Z170 - A
Memory: 16GB Crucial LPX @3000MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 03-09-2008, 16:59 | posts: 1,934 | Location: Dominican Republic

could somebody tell me how to bypass this x64 signed drivers issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
EarlZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1 Sniper M5
Memory: 16Gb Dom Plat. 1866Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 03-15-2008, 22:06 | posts: 217

How do you make an overclocking profile that switches to stock and overclocked speeds when the hardware acceleration switch is on ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
AlexTech
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 8800GTS G92 512MB - 780/2000/2100
Processor: C2D E6550 @ 3.0
Mainboard: MSI P7N Sli Platinum
Memory: 2x1GB OCZ @ 950 5-4-4-15-20-2T
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy 4
PSU: Solytech 600W SL-8600EPS
Default 04-15-2008, 23:27 | posts: 111 | Location: Argentina

Thx this is great!
a question about it

is there any change to break the card with those hard clock values?

with the nVidia monitor and more than 750 core, the monitor shows the core in yellow colour, wich could be a problem.

i tried more and video gets stuck. less than 65 with %80 fan speed, wich is good

my main is to know if there's any reason to break up or burn the card.

thx!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
eRa`
Maha Guru
 
eRa`'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce GTX 570
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 6GB G.Skill DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: be quiet! 850W
Default 06-19-2008, 22:28 | posts: 1,824 | Location: Germany

How to create screenshots with RivaTuner.

Add a new launcher item, select 'Associated Application', click 'Browse', under 'RivaTunerStatisticsServer' select 'Screen capture'.
Bind a key to this function and voila, you are done. You may change the folder where the screenshots are saved by altering the command line.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=246016
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
winchester
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 7800GTX Factory OC
Processor: 4000+
Mainboard: ASUS A8N SLi
Memory: Corsair XMS 2Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 400w
Default 06-21-2008, 13:40 | posts: 1 | Location: UK

I cannot see or access 'threshold settings' on the core temperature monitoring data source setup window that can be seen in the tutorial / guide. Please help...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
kibub
Newbie
 
kibub's Avatar
 
Videocard: bfg/8800gts/512mb
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard: asus maximus
Memory: balistix trecer 1066mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: enermax liberty 500W
Default 06-21-2008, 16:25 | posts: 1 | Location: canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by winchester View Post
I cannot see or access 'threshold settings' on the core temperature monitoring data source setup window that can be seen in the tutorial / guide. Please help...
i have same problem with riva tune 2.09
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Fam Money
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG 6800GT OC
Processor: AthlonXP-M 2600+ (OC'ed to 2.5GHz)
Mainboard: Abit NF7-S Rev.2
Memory: 1GB Kingston HyperX 3000 @ 3200
Soundcard: nVidia SoundStorm
PSU:
Default 07-03-2008, 05:49 | posts: 6 | Location: Harrisburg, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kibub View Post
i have same problem with riva tune 2.09
http://www.vaguetech.com/index.php?pageid=rt207#sched

Had the same problem, found the link for the info in Fyre's post earlier in this thread.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=58
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Jmac
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX GeForce 8800 GTS 640 MB
Processor: Intel Xeon E3110
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Memory: 2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum XTC PC2-6400
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech Z3
PSU: ABS Tagan BZ-900 900W
Default 07-03-2008, 19:49 | posts: 99 | Location: Canada

Bah ... I wish I had seen that before; would've saved me a bunch of time ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
claypidgon1502
Newbie
 
claypidgon1502's Avatar
 
Videocard: NV 8800ULTRA-768
Processor: Intel Core2-X6800@3.37
Mainboard: EVGA NFORCE 680I
Memory: DDR2 OCZ2N1066SR2GK 2 x 2
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: OCZ Gamer extreme PS 1010
Talking 07-27-2008, 02:36 | posts: 14 | Location: CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman View Post
Added 8800 guide by Bobas007 here. http://home.comcast.net/~boogieman1954/
This link does not work for me,is there any way to get this guide?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Misterxxt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 8600M GT 256DDR3
Processor: Intel Dual Core 2 2GHz
Mainboard:
Memory: 2GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-28-2008, 18:08 | posts: 46 | Location: Belgium

hi guys,

I've read the thread, but my rivatuner 2.09 doesn't have the fan control tab under low-level-system-setting.

Got a XPS M1530 with 8600M MGT 256 DDR3; Is this because I've got a laptop?

Another program isn't able to detect my fan? Like rivatuner doesn't allow me to see it?

Problem with fan or normal with this laptop?

greetz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
BaneComes
Banned
 
Videocard: 580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC
Processor: i7-990X 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Big Bang-XPower II
Memory: Patriot Extreme 16GB
Soundcard: Ausus Xonar 7.1
PSU: COOLER MASTER 850 Watt
Angry 09-02-2008, 14:17 | posts: 461 | Location: Earth

Ok,downloaded rivatuner2.10 can't access the over clocking feature i'm using 177.92 and the Phys x driver it doesn't seem to be recognizing my card i goto customize and i don't see the icon for the card to the left and the .last icon is gone to it all so says no additional information available i have a 8400GS 512MB pci card it doesn't seem to be detecting the card, it does say Nvidia Geforce 8400GS/Compaq blah blah montitor but, under it says no additional information available i'm using windows xp pro SP 3 does this mean i can't over clock this card? i did using nvidia system tools with np. any info wouldbe greatly appreciated
   
Reply With Quote
FYI: Not a lot of good, this thread is
Old
  (#72)
dir
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gforce 7600
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 x2 3500+
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: generic
Default FYI: Not a lot of good, this thread is - 02-01-2009, 12:30 | posts: 1

FYI to forum regulars/author of rivatuner.

Installed Vista 32bit. need something like rivatuner. Downloaded it/installed it.

There's no real help system included. The "manual" is a tome written by the author as a marketing tool. there are no instructions in it. For new users, this starts the frustration and it grows from there.

If there is actually help file included, it might not be visible in Vista without winhlp32.exe, which you can get from Microsoft (this link worked as of Jan 2009: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en , otherwise search for winhlp32.exe and vista).

The forums warn new users to search the forums for help. Not great advice.

This thread "Find Rivatuner guides here" is outdated. The link in the first post takes you to a website that's got a zillion things on it, and nowhere is there any mention of "Rivatuner guide". I did manage to find one here:

http://www.vaguetech.com/index.php?p...rt207#rivaconf

But I haven't yet read it so I don't know if it's current.

Long story short: This utility isn't going to attract new users because of the above. I've found powerstrip and will use it. I'm putting this entry here in the hopes that someone might take notice and change things. I won't be back but neither you nor I care about that, so dont feel the need for smart retorts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 02-01-2009, 14:46 | posts: 1,879 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by dir View Post
FYI to forum regulars/author of rivatuner.

Installed Vista 32bit. need something like rivatuner. Downloaded it/installed it.

There's no real help system included. The "manual" is a tome written by the author as a marketing tool. there are no instructions in it. For new users, this starts the frustration and it grows from there.

If there is actually help file included, it might not be visible in Vista without winhlp32.exe, which you can get from Microsoft (this link worked as of Jan 2009: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en , otherwise search for winhlp32.exe and vista).

The forums warn new users to search the forums for help. Not great advice.

This thread "Find Rivatuner guides here" is outdated. The link in the first post takes you to a website that's got a zillion things on it, and nowhere is there any mention of "Rivatuner guide". I did manage to find one here:

http://www.vaguetech.com/index.php?p...rt207#rivaconf

But I haven't yet read it so I don't know if it's current.

Long story short: This utility isn't going to attract new users because of the above. I've found powerstrip and will use it. I'm putting this entry here in the hopes that someone might take notice and change things. I won't be back but neither you nor I care about that, so dont feel the need for smart retorts.
http://letmegooglethatforyou.com/?q=rivatuner+guide
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 02-18-2009, 04:26 | posts: 586 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman View Post
ROFLMAO!!! I wish I knew about that site before. I could have used it sooooo many times.

Is there a "http://letmeconfigurethatforyou.com" site?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-18-2009, 06:47 | posts: 13,017 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by dir View Post
FYI to forum regulars/author of rivatuner.
...
Long story short: This utility isn't going to attract new users because of the above.
Unfortunatley the utility is already attracting up to 15.000 new users every day. And unfortunately, many of attracted users are not as experienced and knowledgable as target RivaTuner user base. Thanks for live example.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.